Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
385 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ventura Missionary Christian
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
very clicky it is obvious which students get special treatment kids are very nice though

Ventura Missionary Christian 3

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
not bad not great - probably going back to mound next year. nice church though


Ventura Missionary Christian
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
some teachers a great and some are really bad if you get lucky you get a good one

Ventura Missionary Christian
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I am a child therapist and can tell you that the homework was beyond excessive. We had at least five hours of homework a night. It was insane.

Ventura Missionary Christian
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
No the tactic the school uses is heavy pressure and negative reinforcement. My child felt broken and she has above average intelligence. The school made her feel inadequate and dumb.


Ventura Missionary Christian
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
All this school taught my daughter was to hate school. She was not shown compassion or encouragement.

Ventura Missionary Christian
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
The teacher did not understand and was quite cruel to my daughter when she was was struggling with all of the homework. She even resorted to name calling.

Ventura Missionary Christian 2

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
I've been a long time parent at VMS. Unfortunately, I have to agree with the general consensus that things have really gone downhill in the last year. The treatment lately is just as bad as being at a public school. I am not sure what has happened to cause this, but it seems like management philosophy has completely changed this year. This has caused a school that was once very special to become below average. I hope that they can fix it before the school is lost for good. Unfortunately, no one besides the parents seems to care about what is going on. ~TS


Ventura Missionary Christian 2

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My boys have been at Missionary for several years and I loved it the whole time The teachers are great and the other kids are great. Thats the good. Unfortunately the leadership just changed and the school is really starting to suffer because of it. Its getting so bad I am looking at other schools for next year. Everyone is so sad to see this happen.

Ventura Missionary Christian 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I've had 3 children attend VMS. I value the academics at both the elementary and middle school level. The teachers have instilled in my kids a hard work ethic and curiosity for learning. VMS has a unique school culture where the students truely love eachother like family. I love that my children go to a school where they learn about Jesus and how to love like he does!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ventura Missionary Christian
500 High Point Drive, Ventura, CA  93003
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (805) 644-9515
Last modified Ventura Missionary Christian is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top