Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public charter
Victorville, CA
Students enrolled: 1,827
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Excelsior Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
again, they don't do corresponding school work,(packets) with what is taught in the classes, so while it does relate, your child will come home with nothing done out of the daily packet that needs to be done & whatever they picked up at school that day in class may not have been helpful to that assignment.... children are not given enough help on packet work,(questions they may have), so most students won't bother asking, become discouraged & then stop going into class because it isn't helpful to them and the teachers don't seem to have time to notice that most their students who need help are right outside their door... what would it take 5 extra minute to gather your students before class?

Excelsior Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
It's all done at home, they don't go over the work day that is marked for that day in the packets, so basically all the work is done at home because nothing correlates to that days work when they are in class.... what's the point, now the child is tired from school, gets home & has to begin school work...


Excelsior Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
It's the same as home schooling your child, and if the child makes it to their class it is minimal instruction, they may as well allow them to cheat from the packets. No structure, no true guidance & too many distractions for young children... it's basically a daycare for older children.

Excelsior Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
Respect? Hardly, the staff are cowards & phony, how can you respect adults who ignore children being taken advantage of? You can't

Excelsior Charter School 2

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
They need to be able to backup their allegations of plagiarism. Still have not provided the proof.
1 person found this helpful


Excelsior Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
When a teacher accuses a student of plagiarism they need to provide the proof when asked.

Excelsior Charter School 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a student
My school is so filled with life and care which other Public high schools in the area lack. Teachers are amazing and filled with personality, you have someone to help you every where around the school. Love it, can't wait to graduate!

Excelsior Charter School 5

Posted December 11, 2014
- a student
I love this school. It s so amazing i love all the sports and education if you dont like sports you should
1 person found this helpful


Excelsior Charter School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I had two children attending and was happy with the results. I homeschooled my children for 5 years and let them go to Excelsior because it offered independent study and classes. On average my children had 3 to 4 classes on campus. Both my children did very well and the teachers / facilitators were very helpful. I had a child struggling with math & history but ended up getting A's and B's and made honor roll! My other student got straight A's and was offered a college program that the school pays for. In order for your student to succeed at this school they need to take advantage of the tutoring offered to them and do their work!

Excelsior Charter School 4

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
There are very nice her but they are starting to be kind of strict with the dress code other than that they are very good

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Excelsior Charter School
18422 Bear Valley Road, Building 11, Victorville, CA  92395
(760) 245-4262
Last modified Excelsior Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Excelsior Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top