Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morgan/Kincaid Preparatory School of Integrated Studies

Public | K-6 | 727 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

The teachers here are polarizing just like everywhere else. Some are great some are not. Their RSP and GATE programs are really good Mr. Willis has helped my son tremendously!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Excellent teachers!!!! My son did so well on his report card. He had all 4's and all O's. He made me so PROUD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

My two children attend Morgan Kinkaid. My son was awarded by Ms. French at the awards assembly and also got to eat lunch with her. Both their teachers are wonderful and very concerned about their education. They keep in contact with me on how they are performing and where they need to work more on there weaknesses. The office staff is excellent and they deserve alot of credit for all the hard work they do each and every day. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I love Morgan KIncaid because my son's teachers are very involved in the course of his education and they show how much they care every day!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

The 2010-11 will be two son's second year at Morgan Kincaid and they love going to school there. Mrs. French is always willing to give information and answer questions at the monthly coffee with the princible meetings. This year we are no longer booster, we have started the PTSA and expect a great year of fundraising for the children. With the state budget cuts of 20% and no title 1 monies this year will be challenging for the teachers and staff. The community needs to come together and support our school, but most of all our children! As for the comments made about office staff, I have to agree, last year the ladies in the front were not professional and at times rude, I see new faces at the front office so this year may be different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

The 2009-2010 school year was the first for my kindergardener. I can tell you that my son is high functioning autistic but when he walked in in August of 2009 his vocabulary and language was very much delayed compared to others. I communicated with Ms. French and the teachers about his needs and they worked with us to ensure our son's progress and needs were met. I can't say things were perfect but we learned how to communicate what we needed to ensure my son's success. I consider the fact that my son can now hold a conversation, understand and reply to someone a success. Mr. Dante, Mrs. Garcia and Mrs. French all worked to make this happen for my son and as a parent of an autistic child this is something I can't begin to thank them enough for. It is a good school and they all work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Excellent booster club, SOME really good teachers, poor administration, and extremely rude office staff. Luckily my children do not look soley to the school fit examples of behavior because many of the adults simply should not work with children and thir behaviors exhibit just that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

My daughter went to MK Preparatory from 3rd through 6th grade. During her stay, I was constantly dealing with rude staff and and unavailable principal. At the beginning, I was floored when she was not at award assemblies, or many other special events, but I just came to expect it. She has gotten a little better, but as a principal, you set the tone for other employees. The front office is rude beyond belief. Many complaints have been made to the district, but nothing has been done. The curriculum is okay, but it does not support critical thinking. It is very test targeted teaching, which works well for scores, but does nothing to enrich the growing minds of the students. I was happy when I saw high test scores, and that would be great if that was all you looked for in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

This school only tells you how to pass a test and this is not a school with great staff.The staff are rude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2009

Prospective parents.. Please read. If you are looking for extracurricular activities,quality principal leadership and friendly office staff, this is not the school for your children. The principl and vice are never available, the office staff is constantly rude and what is offered to the children is not worth mentioning. New leadership is truly necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

This is the worse schoolave ever attended by my children. The principle shows favortism, bullying is tolerated, teachers speak rudely to the children, drill and kill is the way of teaching, spacial children have no chance here, enrichment learning does not exist. The childre are not taught how to take information and use it, they are merely taught to memorize information on the tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

I think that Morgan Kincaid has helped me through my school years and i am proud of my school. I think that kids my age should have a chance to learn inside a healthy environment and Morgan Kincaid is the place that students should attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2008

Well,well I think the school is great the teachers are the best. But I really don't think that I could say the same about the principal and some of the staff in the office. I hope this year they work more with the parents and they have more activities for the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I am thrilled that our son is attending M/K Prep. I also feel it is an honor to say I have had my children attending M/K Prep from the first day it opened, 6 years ago. 4 years ago, Ms French come to M/K Prep and is by far the best!!! I was stunned by the comment a parent made about Ms French stating 'Ms French has her head so 'high in the air it's almost as if she is doing us a favor by working at the school.' It's obvious this parent has some personal issues against our principal. My children too have been the recipients of nunerous awards and certificates; each given to them by Ms French at the award assemblies. Ms French is extremely friendly, outgoing, and remarkable. With her guideance, our school has achieved high tests scores and State recognition. Most of the parents will agree!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I am the school secetary at M/K Prep. We have the best principal and staff in the high desert! Ms French has brought professional insight, talent and quality experience to our school. Her leadership capabilities and strengths have been proven efffective with our high test scores. M/K Prep has a focus on Math and Language Arts, but Ms French has also introduced Dance, Science, and Arts to our curriculum. Even after thousands of dollars were embazzled by the President of our Booster Club, Ms French still made sure the students continued to enjoy field trips, activities, and end of year festivities. Because of her committment to our school and volunteers, Ms French personally sponsered an appreciation, 'thank you' brunch. We certainly can't please everyone all the time, but the overwhelming majority of our families adore our school, principal, and staff. Most feel Ms French is doing an incredible job, including me!


Posted February 11, 2008

Is a safe place where children go into a class with their own level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2006

M/K Prep has a terrific booster club! I would like to see additional extracurricular activities added, along with an expanded science dept. The teachers are very easy to contact and available for any parent concerns. The principal is rarely available or involved with any school events; however, the V.P. seems to be very actively involved. The school has added portable classrooms to keep up with the expanding population. The skill-based classes for reading and math ensure that students are learning at their 'best' level and being challenged appropriately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

I feel M/K Prep is the #1 school in the District. The teachers work hard to get their students to bring out their best in their students. I really want to recognize and Thank the unselfish parents of Booster Club. They devote all their time and energy over and over again to raise money for our children's education and by bringing the community closer by holding social events. Thanks! My only complaint would be wanting to see the Principal more involved with the staff, students, meetings, functions and also being their on campus more than a couple days a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This school is quiet good in comparisson to some other elementary schools in the high desert. My children attended this school last year and will be attending it again this year. They have one of the best test results in the high desert and the highest of all elementary schools for the Adelanto school district. However evn though they have a great staff they don't have a lot of extracurricular activities for the students. The before school tutoring started late in the year. But my child did improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2005

M/K has instructional performance groups (IPGs) which allow students to work at their levels in language arts & math. I have been extremely happy with the quality of my child's education. The teachers and staff have been wonderful to him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

785

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

785

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females45%
Males44%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females50%
Males50%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females48%
Males31%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females64%
Males61%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females62%
Males46%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females74%
Males64%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females49%
Males63%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females58%
Males68%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students35%
Females34%
Males37%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females60%
Males45%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students26%
Females23%
Males30%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)21%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability29%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented58%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate15%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)34%
Parent education - college graduate31%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 51%
Black 15% 7%
White 14% 27%
Asian 6% 11%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 1:55 pm
School Leader's name
  • Debra French
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (760) 956-2734

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are encouraged to become involved in many ways; a few examples are as follows: volunteering in the classroom, elac, school site council, ptsa, gate parent committee
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mesa Linda Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13257 Mesa Linda Avenue
Victorville, CA 92392
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 956-9006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eagle Ranch School
Adelanto, CA


Aspen Christian School
Victorville, CA


Performance Academy
Victorville, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT