Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Tree East Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 629 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2013

This school deserve no stars. My son went to this school for a couple of months. He was bullied and beat up on the bus. The teacher he had was nice at first ans then became a dictator. My son was struggling and they just kept calling him a discipline problem. I only talked on the phone with the principal because she was too busy to speak in person. She told me I needed to teach my son how to play better with children. Well instead of referring my son to the school psychologist she brushed us off and told me to put my son some where else. I thankfully did that and found out my son needed rsp and has learning disabilities. Don't ever go to this school they do not care about there students. Staff was always rude and principal has no time to speak to its parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

I thought of this school one because it is so close, and two I knew other students that have gone there. I thought it would be a great opportunity for my 5 year old son. IT WAS NOT! He was placed in a kindergarten class with a teacher that I absoloutely loved, then because of over crowding, he was placed in a combination class. Everything went from ok, to bad!I attempted to speak with the principal and just inquire how my son's education would change if any, and she let me know that because he was ahead of the curve he would do fine in a combo class. He did fine, but he was doing no kindergarten work, it was all first grade work. The principal rushed the conversation, and she took no time to actually speak to me. My son had homework every day which I loved, his teacher communicated as best she could. He had fun in the class sometimes, but he also told me that his teacher would yell at times. I get frustration but does my child really need to hear frustrated yelling from his teacher daily? I don't think so! At the end of the day I would quit my job before I would send my son back to that school. The principal was awful and un-reachable. You had to go through hoops to speak to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

My child went for 1st grade in this school(2011-2012). He had a wounderfull teacher named Mrs. Palacios a great teacher. The staff there is so nice and understanding. The pricipal Mrs. Benites will fix any problems you have. I loved this school. I would recomended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

I've been to this school since I was in kindergarten. In second grade I asked my mom if I could go to a different school cause I wanted to try another school, being perfectly happy. I immediately begged my mom to go back to Green Tree and of course she said yes. In 5th grade my mom told me I would be going to Sitting Bull and I hated it so again I begged my mom to go back to Green Tree for 6th grade and she said okay. My last year at Green Tree was one I'll NEVER forget! The teachers are super funny and caring. The staff is nice to everyone and the principal will help you with all your problems. They not only helped me grow with my academics, but also as a person so I'll be prepared for middle school. Thank you Green Tree teachers and staff!


Posted October 6, 2008

My four children have attended this school. I entered them into an academy last year and they were not happy at all. I have nothing but good to say about this school. The teachers are willing to go overboard in helping the children. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else. Great job guys !! God Bless you and thank you for your patience with my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I love this school, my daughter is getting good grades and she's been here since first grade. I have never had a problem with their teaching. The teachers are always very nice to us. I would recommend this school. Parents need to get more involve to actually see how the school works. My daughter loves it!! two thumbs up....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

They did not have back to school night, they rather have you come to the school during the week to have a 5 minute visit with the teacher. Most teachers seem to be good, although I feel that my son excelled on his own. There is little to no home work, and low expectations of the children at this school! They also have a PTA that seemed to struggle to get anyone involved. I am taking my son to Lomitas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

Excellent school with hard working dedicated teachers who have helped my child progress from below grade level to proficient levels. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

Hats off to the staff at Green Tree East. In my opinion, the office staff as well as the teachers is honestly dedicated to the children and families they serve. The teachers are very focused on empowering students' academic growth. The staff is courteous and professional.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2006

Green Tree is working hard to meet the NCLB goals. The staff works collaboratively and they get the parents informed.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 5, 2006

This school was incredibly bad! I have had my children there for a couple of months and noticed so many problem areas. The administrators, office staff, and teachers are not as freindly or inviting as most schools. There is a lot of unprofessionalism among all staff. The administrator who was in to help with the parent group became a dictator who put her needs and wants ahead of the students. I cannot warn people enough to stay far away from this school. I am leaving the district just to get away from these people. The teachers are not doing there job properly either. You have to worry if your children will be doing as well at another school once they have been taught so poorly here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

This school has great teachers! The problem lies with the administrators. This is obvious by the constant turnover in principals. A school will never achieve if the leaders as well as some of the staff refer to their students in demeaning and derogatory terms. #1 In an effort to save money, students are often denied extra support and services that they need. #2 School scores and status will never change significantly until its leader(s) align themselves with their district goals. #3 Many socially-disadvantaged schools achieve success because the leaders believe in their students. The current princpal doesn't. I would never send my children here.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 27, 2004

I am very disappointed in the Victor Elementary School District. Our children do not have any liberal arts in their curriculum. No art, pe, science, or music. Apparently it is implemented in their basic curriculum. The schools also have the privilege of making their own schedules, not district wide; so this school has opted to have minimum days every friday without the input of the parents for the upcoming school year. I would love to see the class room size dropped down to maximum of 20 students. Currently there are 30-40 students per class. Esl for preschool and kindergarden is also a big problem. The students should be separated for instruction. It is a shame that the ca public school system does not hold candle to dod school systems. I feel my children are being cheated out of a good education having come to california.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2003

My child attended this school for almost a whole year. My child hated it and I kept telling my self it was just because it was a new school and my child will soon learn to love it. I was wrong, I ended up disliking the school as well. I like a school that has good leadership and this one was obviously not one of them. Teachers seemed overwhelmed or just not caring enough. The teacher which my child had seemed unable to handle all the students in the classroom, 'too many disciplinary problems the teacher had told me'. My childs teacher was sending tons of homework each night, making my child spend four and five hours each night completing them. Many times my child missed soccer practice or just being a kid. I felt like I was doing the teaching here at home while the teacher was just making the copies for the students to take home for the parents to teach the material at home. After months of this I gave up on this school and took my child else where where we are both very happy with the school, staff, and all the parents that love going there to help assist the staff in every way possible. I can see a big difference in the faces of the people that work at this school compared to the faces of the teachers at Green Tree East. I hope someone is able to take the lead and overturn this school for the better, because from the outside it looks like a beautiful school till you step in through the doors! I must add that I did witness some staff that are there because they truly enjoy the children and want to make a difference, too bad there were so few, and that I never learned their names!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

719

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

719

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Females26%
Males37%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only33%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate19%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females48%
Males52%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students23%
Females30%
Males18%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability23%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only20%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)20%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students42%
Females58%
Males29%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females43%
Males30%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students44%
Females43%
Males45%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females47%
Males40%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students35%
Females33%
Males37%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students48%
Females44%
Males51%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Females43%
Males29%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students24%
Females33%
Males13%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate10%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 53%
Black 27%
White 14%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
English language learners 19%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brenda Davison
Fax number
  • (760) 955-7550

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17246 Gibralter Drive
Victorville, CA 92395
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 955-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Victor Valley Sda
Victorville, CA



Mojave River Academy
Victorville, CA



Galileo Academy 101
Victorville, CA


Oxford Preparatory School
Apple Valley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT