Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Victor Valley Christian Elementary School

Private | K-12 | 133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Victorville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2008

The junior high and high school are decent schools. Everyone seems to be very professional and the principal/teachers/office staff are very friendly. I would highly recommend VVCS over Hesperia Christian due to the fact that they are really concerned with your child than how much you are giving to the school financially. The students actually know how to treat each other with respect and are very friendly to everyone. I would recommend this school over all the Christian Junior High School or High Schools around. You will not be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

As a parent I am very happy with this school. You can see that they are really working to improve the academics. The teachers really do care about their students. The communication between the home and the teachers is excellent. The Christian aspect is clear in all they do. I beleive this school is a blessing to my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

I sent my children there for serveral years. I first the school was good but has gone down hill every year until I couldn't stand it any more. I was paying for a class that had more kids in it then what the public school. My children was not happy. The favoritism with the children and staff was terrible. The accounting staff was terrible. They could never keep the books right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

When wemoved to Victorville, we looked all around to find a school for our daughter, where she would get a good education, be safe and learn about Christ. Victor Valley Christian School is that place. The techers are great, they have a friendly environment, very goog after school programs, discipline is fair, everyone is treated the same, no matter who you are or what you do for a living. Administration is pleasant, they are very professional. The principal is a very professional person, she's knowledgeable and has a caring heart. I am very happy with my daughter's progress. She is growing up to be a very good person, thanks to what she is taught. Thank You Victor Valley Christian School for making a difference in my daughter's life. Keep up the good work and I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

Victor Valley Christian school is a great school. I attended school there for 11 years and now my two children are attending there. The teachers are a big help. They are very friendly, inspiring and dedicated to there kids and learning. The Administration is very caring and knowledgeable. It is a great christian atmosphere. The children learn a lot of different subjects, not just the basics. This keeps them interested and wanting to learn. They have so many extras for the kids ie: hot lunch program, music, art, foreign language, P.E., G.A.T.E. etc. They also have several after school activities to keep the kids busy. I really enjoyed my time at VVCS and now my kids get to share in the great experience that I had as a child. I highly recommend VVCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

I would recommend that you look elsewhere for a good christian school. The principal here is unreasonable. The kids aren't allowed to be kids. After sending my granddaughter to this school for 3 years and returning to the school this year I find it has lost it's heart and humanity. Any attempt at allowing these kids a positive experience is replaced with pressure to perform.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

as a student returning for my fifth year at vvcs i think my time here has been a waste. the education is poor, even compared to public schools. they only offer spanish as a foreign language which presents nothing new for most of the hispanic students who have no other options. the discipline system is unfair. i agree that i have also become less of a christian since i first came. the only reason i still attend vvcs is because my parents still have the false idea that its a good, safe 'christian' environment. this supposed christian school still deals with the exact same craziness as public schools. the majority of students are far from christian.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2007

My overall rating of this school as a current student is poor. parents are given a false view of what really goes on here. i would say that after attending 6 years at this school that i am leaving less of a christian, than when i came. Education is poor, and let nobody tell you differant. Favoritism among between student and staff is a major problem, especially when it comes to discipline. students who know staff or have friends who have parents who are members of the staff get special privilidges. Ask any intellectual student who goes here what really goes on, and you will be astounded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

The teachers are great, but due to a recent curriculum change they have a hard time teaching it properly. The class sizes are larger than I like even though there are teacher aides present. Be prepared for school rules & dress code to change multiple times throughout the year. Administration is difficult to deal with and refuses to see that every issue may have several sides. Discipline is not fair. For this reason parental involvement is very low. On the plus side, the teachers offer a friendly environment for learning. The school also offer a complete hot lunch program which is very good. Students are exposed to weekly classes of music, computers, spanish, and physical ed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

The quality of Victor Valley Christian School is poor. The whole program was a disaster. My son could have received a better education in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Their academics seem to be very slow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We have had our daughter go to this school for 4 years and we are very pleased with her progress. She is a loving freindly person and has been taught about Jesus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 26%
Hispanic 24% 52%
Black 9% 6%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school St. Marys Catholic
Zion Lutheran
Silverado
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:15 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Deborah Clarkson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (760) 243-0654

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Booster club
More from this school
  • We are an excellent mix of a strong Spiritual school with a college-prep curriculum.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Marys Catholic
Zion Lutheran
Silverado

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
California Baptist
Cal State San Bernardino
Cal State Fullerton
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15260 Nisqualli Road
Victorville, CA 92395
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 241-8827

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT