Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Park Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 671 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

Their are great teachers at VPE, and a few I think stink. I think the homework they send home with the kids in all grade levels is ridiculous and I think they should spend more time on core subjects then on all this ridiculous projects that have no meaning academically. They should teach math, reading, writing, history and science repetitively not jumping around teaching to whatever test they think is important to help the schools test scores. I also don't care for the detentions and demerit program, I feel this tears our children down not help them, especially when your child has learning problems and is not put into proper resources to get the help because of budget cuts. Then your child is stripped of all of the end of the year activities do to falling in the cracks and not getting the help they needed all along. The school needs to teach and not be a boot camp to our children. We are not teachers, we are parents. Keep the curriculum at school and teach it. First it's Star test, now Common Core, let's just teach common sense and normal curriculum to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

very great school, but student of month award is not great always same students recive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

This is a great, safe school with a great group of parents and teachers. This is my seventh year here and am pleased overall. The teachers and parents work well together with many parents helping out on campus each day. There is a dad's club which helps with events and also raises thousand of dollars. However, there are a few areas of concern: 1. The amount of homework is borderline ridiculous. 3-5 pages every night and even assigning homework over Spring Break - really? This starts in 1st grade. 2. The content of the curriculum is pretty bad. Now this may not be the fault of the school, but rather the district. I once brought my child's homework to his teacher and asked her to solve the math problem, to which she responded "I know! It doesn't make sense, but they make us teach it anyways." 3. Lastly, the principal is far too concerned about MONEY. She spends little time with the kids, sets rules that are a joke (dropping off and picking up) and leaves several messages every night to which 95% of them have to do with raising funds. I do however like the fact that she does make the kids dress appropriately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

VPE is a great school with very involved parents and teachers. Every school has its challenges, both financial and academic, but VPE strives to get past the challenges by coming up with creative solutions. The teachers are a tight knit group that seems to enjoy working together despite differences in age, personality and experience. There are a group of parents that seem to be at every event, fundraiser, fieldtrip and classroom party, sleeves rolled up and ready to work. There are other parents who contribute financially to fundraisers and sponsorship opportunities. And then there is the other 70% of the school... Reaching out to these parents to get involved in any small way is neccesary and vital to the success of our children. This school needs many physical improvements to the buildings and grounds, but it's slowly getting there due to a diligent group of parents. Overall, VPE is a small neighborhood school with a lot of spirit and loyalty and pride. Tradition is important here. Many parents were students here, themselves. This school is a wonderful school and we are proud Bobcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

My kids have been attending this school for 2 years now and I couldn't be more pleased. The principle, Debra Larson, is warm, friendly and accessible. The teachers are wonderful and I love that they radiate how much they enjoy what their doing and the tremendous impact they have on the kids. This school - teachers and principle - is off the charts fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

I am not sure what principal the reviewer from 3/7/10 is talking about but the principal at Villa Park Elementary never walks the playground, never greets the kids and the only time she comes out of her office is to yell at parents through a bullhorn who pause a little too long to pick up their kids after waiting in a 300 yard long line that creates traffic hazards on Katella Ave. We have been at this school through 4 principals and this is by far the worst I have ever seen this school. So sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

Villa Park Elementary is a great school. It is a safe environment where learning is a priority. The principal is involved and is accessible to students and parents. The office staff is friendly and helpful. The teachers care about the students and do an excellent job in spite of the growing size of their class due to budget cuts. There is a lot of parent participation and the after school programs are fabulous. We love it at VPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

VIllas Park is a good school. My daughter is in the Kindergarden and her teacher is excellent. she is Mrs. Sonksen, my daughter is lucky to have her , she is subtitude for Mrs. Reagan, but she is so wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

VPE has great, concerned teachers, dedicated staff and supportive families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I give the school 5 stars. With the current slate of teachers, I feel my last of 3 children will receive a quality education. The school has a diverse student population and a high level of engaged parents. The environment is welcoming and my kids have all enjoyed going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am very pleased with how teachers interact with students especially because the class size is small and they can provide more attention to all students. I am very grateful that my children are attending VPE and I am very happy with their achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

All three of my kids have gone through VPE. It has been a great experience. All of the teachers have been outstanding and care. Excellent parent involvement and the staff really cares about the students learning. I would give it a 10
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Villa Park Elementary is a quaint little school with a whole lot of character. My son has attended since kindergarten and is now in first grade. He is in a class that has two teachers who split up the week. This has proven to be quite beneficial. Each teacher brings a different approach while promoting the same curriculum. We love VPE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

V.P.E. has been a great school for both of my children. The expectations there are high and my children strive to reach those expectations. The teachers have been very good and there is heavy parental involvement. It's all good!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

I am appalled at how much needless (time consuming) repetition there is in the masses of homework that is sent home for my kids daily. When they see the quantity of work that is ahead of them it seems to overwhelm them before they even get started, which only creates unnecessary stress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

My son is a kindergartener and so far the experience has been great! My son loves to go to school everyday because he loves his teacher. He has learned so much in the short time he has been at Villa Park Elementary. For the past 5 months he has attended Villa park, he has learned how to write, recognize numbers up to 100 and just how to behave in a classroom while he is being tought! The parent participation is so great in that school. It is encouraged that every parent participates, which is good because being apart of your childs education is so important. I am looking forward to the upcoming years with Villa Park Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My girls were at VPE for the last 9 years. I really miss the comfort of knowing they were up the street and in great hands. It's not as small and personal as it was in the beginning but for a school its size it's incredible. The teachers we had were wonderful and Ms. Marshal is in control. And the parents are so involved - because involvement is welcomed. We loved it. It's a Great School and I'm very thankful that we were there and a part of it for all the years. We (all of family) made wonderful friends there that will be with us for our lifetime! Can't say enough good things about Villa Park Elementary. Anyone would be so lucky to enroll there! We moved here for the schools but had no idea what a great thing we were really getting into!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I have two children currently enrolled in VPE I am so happy with their teachers and the principal. I have been happy with the communication from school to home I am especially happy with the new phone communication the principal has implemented. Many thanks to the teachers for doing such a wonderful job with my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

I have one child who just left VPE and one who is in 1st grade. I have had nothing but positives to say about VPE. From the principal to the teachers and the office staff. My daughter started there in Kindergarten and there was one teacher in 7 years that I did not care for. She has many wonderful memories of VPE that she will share with her children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

I am very please with our principle and all the hard work she has put in to make our school the best it can be. She truly wants to hear from everyone on all comments. My children have attended VPE for the last 6 years and have had an awsome experience. We had several teachers complete their Masters Degree last year alone. One child of mine has greatly improved with the Push In Program and after school tutoring that was availible. The push for strong academics has been a life saver for my child who is now brought up to grade level. I am so happy my children attend a school that truly cares for each student.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

992

Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

992

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+12

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females97%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females97%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Females98%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Females96%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females96%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students88%
Females89%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate93%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females100%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only99%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 58%
Hispanic 24%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 2%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/AN/A
English language learners 8%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Larson
Fax number
  • (714) 532-5895

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10551 Center Drive
Villa Park, CA 92861
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 997-6281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT