Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

California Avenue Elementary School

Public | K-8

 
 

Living in Vista

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,320.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

2/21/13 I went waited for my son(autistic) and the teacher and helpers didn't know where he was. They brought me his backpack and searched for him, then finaling walking( not running with concern) to the playground to find him there. I waited ten minutes but adding the time he wasn't in class. I've contacted the principal and district in anger and disappointment that this would happen in a special needs school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Hands down the best preschool ever! The teachers are AMAZING!! I was a little skeptical of the neighborhood and parking is hard to come by, but once your in, Cal Ave is the BEST!!! We were blessed to have found this school for our two older kids and our youngest will be starting this year =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

The BEST staff and programs I could possibly imagine for my preschooler. I am always amazed at the knowledge and experience of the special ed staff. The office staff are always friendly and helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Love this school. The teachers care so much for my son. They really are wonderful!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

My son loves this school and so do I. The teachers are wonderful and only wished my daughter could go here as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

This is a wonderful school for preschool/ Kindergarten children! It is without a doubt the best kept secret in North County. This school is designed to serve children with various special needs, but integrates typical (or non disabled) children with the children who have special needs. The teachers, including the assistants, are highly trained to work with children and it shows. This has been a great 1st school experience for my 3 year old. I drive 13 miles from Oceanside, 3x a week so my daughter can attend this program. If you have a preschooler in the North County San Diego Area, check it out! Excellent leadership. Thanks Cal Ave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I love the staff at Califonia Ave. My son attended Pre-school as well as Kindergarten and has shown so much improvement....I hate to see him leave for 1st grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

What a positive and well balanced learning environment for my son. He has progressed so much in the past 2 years at Calif. Ave School. We are so impressed with the teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

What a great place for my kids to attend school. The staff was just great. They had alot of fun stuff going on all the time. The PE program was the best. I can't wait until August so my child can return. I highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

This school integrates typical children with special needs children. As a parent of a typical child, I highly recommend this preschool due to the fact that the staff is so caring, attentive and knowledgable. Within the first month, my son was counting to 30, knew all his colors & shapes and had incredible language. Where else can you send your child to preschool and use a swimming pool? My child made friends with kids his own age that were in wheelchairs and he fed the helper dog carrots. He has become so sociable with other children due to this school and its incredible staff. Although the school may look a little worn down, they are the best little secret in town. Do not judge a book by its cover because you could miss out on an amazing school for your child. From one mom to another, check this school out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

I think the staff is extremely knowledgeable and provide a wonderful learning environment for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Not impressed with the quality/level of DTT training availble and other services for handicapped children. Low IEP goals, low budgets availble, school building is old and run down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My son is autistic and Ca Ave School was great in transitioning him from early start to pre-school. He is now very communicative and we hope he can be mainstreamed. The teachers and staff are all very nice and helpful and have a very good approach towards the necessary behavioral treatment. We are very happy with his improvement. I would recommend this school for preschoolers whether disabled or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

My daughter spent a year as a preschooler, due to significant delays in speech. Her teacher and speech teacher, aides, etc. were wonderful. She loved the school and received much individual attention. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

804

Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.

This school's
API score

804

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

N/A

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 52%
White 31% 26%
Black 16% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 11%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rachel Schmidt
Fax number
  • (760) 630-4591

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 West California Avenue
Vista, CA 92083
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 630-4870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Vista Christian
Vista, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT