Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


California Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
2/21/13 I went waited for my son(autistic) and the teacher and helpers didn't know where he was. They brought me his backpack and searched for him, then finaling walking( not running with concern) to the playground to find him there. I waited ten minutes but adding the time he wasn't in class. I've contacted the principal and district in anger and disappointment that this would happen in a special needs school.

California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
Hands down the best preschool ever! The teachers are AMAZING!! I was a little skeptical of the neighborhood and parking is hard to come by, but once your in, Cal Ave is the BEST!!! We were blessed to have found this school for our two older kids and our youngest will be starting this year =)


California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
The BEST staff and programs I could possibly imagine for my preschooler. I am always amazed at the knowledge and experience of the special ed staff. The office staff are always friendly and helpful!

California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
Love this school. The teachers care so much for my son. They really are wonderful!!

California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
My son loves this school and so do I. The teachers are wonderful and only wished my daughter could go here as well!


California Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school for preschool/ Kindergarten children! It is without a doubt the best kept secret in North County. This school is designed to serve children with various special needs, but integrates typical (or non disabled) children with the children who have special needs. The teachers, including the assistants, are highly trained to work with children and it shows. This has been a great 1st school experience for my 3 year old. I drive 13 miles from Oceanside, 3x a week so my daughter can attend this program. If you have a preschooler in the North County San Diego Area, check it out! Excellent leadership. Thanks Cal Ave!

California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2009
- a parent
I love the staff at Califonia Ave. My son attended Pre-school as well as Kindergarten and has shown so much improvement....I hate to see him leave for 1st grade

California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
What a positive and well balanced learning environment for my son. He has progressed so much in the past 2 years at Calif. Ave School. We are so impressed with the teachers and staff!


California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
What a great place for my kids to attend school. The staff was just great. They had alot of fun stuff going on all the time. The PE program was the best. I can't wait until August so my child can return. I highly recommend this school

California Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2005
- a parent
This school integrates typical children with special needs children. As a parent of a typical child, I highly recommend this preschool due to the fact that the staff is so caring, attentive and knowledgable. Within the first month, my son was counting to 30, knew all his colors & shapes and had incredible language. Where else can you send your child to preschool and use a swimming pool? My child made friends with kids his own age that were in wheelchairs and he fed the helper dog carrots. He has become so sociable with other children due to this school and its incredible staff. Although the school may look a little worn down, they are the best little secret in town. Do not judge a book by its cover because you could miss out on an amazing school for your child. From one mom to another, check this school out.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

California Avenue Elementary School
215 West California Avenue, Vista, CA  92083-3622
(760) 630-4870
Last modified California Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8
California Avenue Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top