Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Foothill Oak Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 660 students

Wonderful Teachers and Caring Adults

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2012

Foothill Oak has changed dramatically in the last year. The new leadership is wonderful and has worked very hard transforming our school into a welcoming, wonderful place for children and their families. The office staff is now friendly and helpful. The teachers feel respected and apreciated and the students are getting to enjoy more subjects than just English Language Arts and Math. The community is welcome and many activities and events have been planned throughout the school year to get parents involved. Foothill Oak is really turning around and becoming a place every student and family would want to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 17, 2012

I am so proud of what our school has become this year. Under the fantastic leadership of our new principal, the culture and overall atmosphere of the school has dramatically improved! Parents are once again welcomed and encouraged to be involved with their child's education. The focus is back on the child. The individual needs of children are being met by recognizing their different learning styles. Many of Foothill Oak s teachers work very late hours developing plans for the students. The hard work of the staff is acknowledged.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2012

School climate is family friendly at Footill! The new school leadership brings a sense of unity- everyone working together with compassion toward goals of excellence for all. I rove from school to school in my job and have seen the staff in the office become more respectful helpful, and caring to students and parents. Excellent teachers share their love of learning.


Posted December 2, 2012

I am the proud literacy coach at Foothill Oak. This is my 2nd year at this site, and I have to say I have never before seen such a positive staff and such hard working teachers! Everyone goes way above and beyond the call of duty to make sure all families are welcome and feel safe and cared for. We have some great programs for families, after school tutoring for students that need extra help, and an awesome afterschool program with the Boys and Girls Club. Our new principal is working hard every day to involve the whole community in making Foothill an exxceptional and beautiful learning environment. Our focus this year is on assuring all students are literate and productive members of our community and are ready for the challenges of college and career readiness! We are moving forward to be on the edge of innovation as we progress toward implementing a 21st century learning environment for all our students. Our staff has high expectations for all and are willing to do what is needed for our students and families. Come check us out!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 14, 2012

Foothill oak is turning around, This year with new leadership the school is more positive and upbeat. the staff goes above and beyond to help every student. with new programs and extra curricular activities foothill oak is on its way to become a california distingushed school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2012

I am a founding staff member of Foothill Oak Elementary and have taught in Vista Unified School District since 1995, 10 years of that time at Lake Elementary. I am so excited this year to see our wonderful school revitalized with dynamic, child and family focused leadership and a terrific teaching staff. The welcoming environment to the community helps foster involvement of our families in their children's education and the positive support of our teachers encourages new ideas, new programs and hard work. A few of our new programs include Saturday tutoring, art and homework tutoring through the Boys and Girl's Club, Love on a Leash reading to dogs, state pre-school, transition kindergarten class, school beautification Saturdays, running club before school, a student reading lounge for before and after school, and a school-wide pen-pal and science program with scientists in the Amazon rain forest, just to name a few.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2012

I would like to say... that this school has some great teachers! But, the staff in the from office are really, really, RUDE! They need to hire different secretaries. They treat the kids with no respect. They also chose NOT to help us the parents when we have questions. I've had a hard time with them. The school also put my son in ELD classes (my son speaks NO SPANISH!!!) just because of his last name. I heard they do this on purpose to get better testing scores!!! Either way this school is by far the worse schools in Vista Unified District! I give it a -0 out of 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

What is happening at this school? Long time teachers are leaving mid-year to go to other schools in the district. The principal seems to replace them with brand new inexperienced teachers- which is not what this school needs. Our students deserve the best, most skilled teachers who have proven themselves. The principal seems to have driven away the strongest and best teachers over the last several years. Could this be the reason the test scores are dropping?


Posted July 18, 2011

The teachers that I have dealt with have been wonderful over the years at Foothill. But almost all of the other staff at Foothill is extremely rude and definitely not trained to interact with adults or kids. They would be better off herding cattle. It seems to me that the budget cuts are hurting the staff and teachers so much that it affects how they feel and act. The over all vibe at the school is depressing and frustrating. The kids feel it and respond to it. I thought school was suppose to be fun and for the kids. A lot of the kids just seem sad and going threw the motions there is no excitement in their eyes. This school is about test scores, politics, drama, and being prejudice if you re not Hispanic. Then the kids might fit into the program. Thank god there are some teachers that still have the heart to make a difference in a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

This school is HORRIBLE! The staff is really rude to the parents and Ive witness they are very mean and rude the the kids that attend this school!!! The principal has tried to kick my son out twice! I have no choice but to keep my son in this school because his daycare is right around the corner. The test scores are low. Parents... if you are considering this school, please choose something else! I would not recomend this school!!! You would not believe what goes on! Its too much to type. But the things I see and what my son tells me. I just wish I would quit my job just so I can take my son to a different school. By the way, the staff in the office are really, really, rude too.


Posted May 3, 2011

Foothill Oak is a great school! The school has improved steadily over the last two years my son has been going there. The new principal has really focused on academics, student responsibility, and getting more parents involved. My son's teacher is wonderful and I have noticed his improved wits and manners at home. There are a lot of native Spanish speaking kids at this school, but I think my son has benefited from it. I think the people who are complaining about any assistance for kids learning English are just ignorant that instruction in California is done in English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Foothill Oak consists of many wonderful teachers, however, dealing with the staff in the office is very frustrating. I feel that one secretary has ebarrassed my son, and that they are far too "busy" to answer parent questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

Foothill Oak is an excellent school with many qualified and caring teachers. State data shows that Foothill Oak has made steady progress each year and although it has not met its most recent goal, staff are working diligently with all students to reach proficiency. Character education, free preschool, before and after school tutorials, Kids College classes, the Boys and Girls Club, music programs, and many more opportunities exist at this school contrary to what other reviews have stated. Teachers are highly skilled in engaging students in learning through the use of interactive strategies to motivate students to use higher order thinking skills. The principal wants nothing but the best for the students and staff. Students are recognized for their accomplishments and teachers take pride in all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 26, 2010

This is school spends too much time with 2nd language students. I get a letter every year on how poorly the school is doing. My kids constantly get bullied and the staff does not care. My sister was rudely treated by the staff for mentioning her kids were being bullied. Some of the teachers are good just as in every school. There are no after school programs or advance placement programs available for children. I would not recommend this school for your kids, it should be shut down, honestly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

My child was bullied at this school and i had to go through multiple measures to have something done. the staff is very rude. this school should be investigated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

All I have to say is that the staff in the front office is very unprofessional!!! Very rude!!!!! I do not like the way they treat the parents. They talk to us like if we were 3yr olds! I will place my son in a different school next year for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

this is the worst school my son has ever gone too!!!! I will never recomend this school. Very unprofessional staff members. My son now goes to empressa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

This school offers no education for the 'English' speaking children. If Spanish is your primary language than this school is great for you. It really upsets me that as an 'English' speaking parent, my taxes are being spent to teach the non-english speaking children in a forgein language. The needs of the children who speak english are completely over looked at this school. They are not challenged in anyway. Just look at the schools test scores the the ethnic ratio chart you can see how terrible of a school it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I have had children at Foothill Oak since the first year it opened. My children have been very happy here and so have I. It is a friendly atmosphere and teachers care very much about their students. This school has high expectations and there are many ways for me to be involved. This year there is a new principal and everything is running smoothly. Some parents had a hard time adjusting to the change but are now happy with the changes the new principal has brought. We get many phone messages from the school letting us know about school activities and the new principal's focus on safety and strong academics is refreshing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

Foothill Oak has had a complete turn around. In the past year this school has gone from not meeting state standards to moving its kids forward by leaps and bounds. The majority of the school is English language students and that is reflective of the local area in Vista. New programs to connect to parents by the school's new principal began rough but have turned positive as people can see the principals vision and desire for student success. The teachers are wonderful and supportive of kids and this school has a bright future. I am glad I have my 2 daughters enrolled here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

720

Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

720

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-22

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Females31%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state19%

Math

All Students35%
Females31%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Females19%
Males22%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability22%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state20%

Math

All Students35%
Females23%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females38%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students58%
Females58%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females58%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%

Math

All Students35%
Females25%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state27%

Science

All Students39%
Females35%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 89% 52%
White 5% 26%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 11%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 1:20 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Erin English
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (760) 631-3464

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • San Marcos University
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Madison Middle School
Vista Magnet Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1370 Oak Drive
Vista, CA 92084
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 631-3458

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT