Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vista Magnet Middle School Of Technology, Science, And Math

Public | 6-8 | 600 students

STEM and International baccalaureate middle years programme
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

Wonderful school, teachers are there for your child and willing to help your child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Being a former student, I LOVED this school! It's been such a great help, the material in each subject are at a standard high school level. The programs they gave us to do our projects are much more better to use while giving presentations. As well as the teachers, they do an excellent job at helping the students to keep up the best they can as well as teach them in the best methods. Wish all schools had the wonderful staff that VMMS has. Not to mention the way how this all helps you later, having some background knowledge does really help you, especially in high school. For me, VMMS was the best choice that both my parents and I have made. Their clubs are also a great way to distract yourself from school. Not to mention the way they help prepare you at a high school level with methods to complete things such as homework, projects, notes and so much more. I just loved going there and I hope it stays that way for the future students that will have an amazing and outgoing set of 3 years. Also, having some other things that most schools don't have, VMMS is truly a school to must go when you have a chance. I actually wishing as still in 8th grade. Wish you luck VMMS!


Posted December 24, 2012

Well, I'm a 6th grader in VMMS and it has been great!!!The environment is friendly and the teachers are really helpful! There are many clubs in this school such as math,engineering,art,yearbook and more!My teachers help me a lot!Like last time I was in a conflict with another student and our vice principal helped us solve it in a civilized way.Well I have many friends and good grades!I wish this review helps you choose a middle school wisely!;)


Posted April 26, 2012

This school is amazing! the science department has a lot more supplies than most schools. Amazing teachers. Excellent math departments. One thing is that students do get more projects but because they are being prepared for high school and to get them ready for the California Standards Test (CST).This school also has a swimming unit for Physical Education (PE) which is something that most schools don't have. In conclusion I would recommend this school for any student who is willing to work hard for a good education.


Posted November 25, 2011

This school is what you make of it. If you decide not to be a disciplined student, you won't be rewarded, as the program is demanding. If you get caught up in its flaws (not much choice for electives, "lack of individual expression"), you won't be able to properly appreciate the wonderful staff and advanced math courses. As an alumni, I have total appreciation for my experience there, having made great friends and received a wonderful education. If you want a curriculum surrounding the arts, go to VAPA. This is a science and mathematics-oriented school. The bottom line is that you will receive the best middle school education in VUSD here - if you are willing to work for it.


Posted August 5, 2011

Vista Magnet is not for everyone. My son and his friends were happy to leave after three years at this school. The principal is very demanding and strict, the teachers are overworked and underpaid, and the support staff is stressed. The students don't have any choices for elective classes because all students take art and spanish classes for three consecutive years (boring!) This school doesn't even have a music program so students are not able to explore other options or be creative. One good thing about this school is their math department which prepares most students for advanced math classes. Unfortunately many math teachers leave this school every year. If your child likes math and science then this is the right school for him/her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

I just promoted after being here for the full 3 years and let me just say that I am glad to be leaving. More then glad. The office staff was more then mean, they were down right rude and distasteful. While most of the teachers were friendly and helpful, some were stress inducing and strict. Because of the stress of the end of the year required project called the capstone, I had about 3 emotional breakdowns the time period of a month. While I do admit that they prepared me better then other middle schools would have for high school and even college, I did not enjoy my time there. It's a technology school, yet they cut the digital arts program this year to put us through an art class. I was quite excited for the art class until I actually got there. They limit you, restrict your self expression and everyone's work looked the same. You had a week to do projects and only class time which meant you had to choose between good quality work and getting it in on time. The only reason I change was because I had made such good friends and didn't want to leave them and start over. If your into science, go here. If you like art, music and self expression, go somewhere. I suggest Madison.


Posted December 25, 2010

This is a great school for gifted kids, I love it here. It has great courses and I feel more challenged than I was in other schools. The Math program is great, it gives 7th graders a chance to take algebra 1 and 8th can have geometry or honors geotrig. The teachers are supportive and push you to your best. Students will like it here.


Posted February 17, 2010

this school is different from any other middle school. The teachers really motivates us students to try our hardest on everything. The tutoring gives you more help that makes you understand the concept. This school is the best and I will never regret going there
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

VMMS is the best school I have ever attended. It is very academically challenging and the other schools I have attended do not even compete in the slightest. The teachers inspire you to do your very best work because they accept nothing less. They use the very best school books so you will have the finest education. All in all it is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

I love this school! We students are supported by our teachers and the number one goal for all of them is that we learn. Though we practice for our tests and learn strategies for how to show what we have learned, our teachers truly focus on helping us grow as individual people. Being a GATE student, I find myself regularly challenged at this school and in every one of its programs. However, the main reason I can't see myself at any other school is because of the advanced math course that allows seventh (and even select sixth) graders explore Algebra 1, a high school course. All the teachers are wonderful and the student body is unique and kind! I have nothing but positive things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

Great teachers! Not a lot of respect from other kids, a lot of bulling. I was disappointed about the lack of hands on projects as well. Not all that great of a school. Teachers on the other hand, were awesome! Only sent my kid there for one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

This is a good school. My only complaint is that only a handful of the teachers use the blackboard and parent portal. We heard a lot about them during the campus tour and orientation and it is a disappointment that they are not used more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I am sooooo thrilled with this school. My son is already super smart, and it's great to know that his mind is constantly being challenged. The staff, teachers and principal are phenom! I still cant get over how wonderful it is that the principal calls the parents every single day !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

I have been very pleased with all areas of this school. The teachers are amazing. The students are far more respectful that at other middle schools I have been to. There are a few challenging kids, but on the whole the staff and student body make the school outstanding. From what I have seen the staff truely has a vested interest in the success of each and every student. The projects have been exciting, varied and cross-curricular.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

897

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

897

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females71%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state18%

Math

All Students72%
Females72%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females79%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students68%
Females61%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability58%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate70%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students72%
Females73%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate81%
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females77%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state39%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students96%
Females100%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students58%
Females59%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate52%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state29%

Science

All Students83%
Females80%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 59%
White 31%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
English language learners 14%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 16%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • IBMYP Authorized (2012)
  • Sally Ride Washington D.C. National Game Winner (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Margaret Jacobsen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (760) 945-4273

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • This year, we will be celebrating a theme of connectedness, and here at VMMS all of our staff members are passionately committed to keeping your child connected and engaged in a positive manner. An important part of our culture here comes from our International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (IBMYP) curriculum. This year, we will continue to deepen our sense of ourselves as members of a global community. Our Community and Service program will once again extend our efforts beyond the classroom to include several international projects in additional to local events.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
200
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
300
Students typically come from these schools
Casita Elementary (magnet sister school)
ALL VUSD elementary schools
Out of District schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Vista High
Rancho Buena Vista High
Mission Vista High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

151 Civic Center Drive
Vista, CA 92084
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 726-5766

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT