Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vista High School 5

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Please don't judge this school by the greatschool.org rating. this is misleading. greatschool rating is bias toward test scores. which does not mean much in a diverse multicultural environment. I have seen schools with higher ratings that turn out horrible people. Vista High just received the 2015 California Gold Ribbon award (replaces California Distinguished school award ) http://www.cde.ca.gov/nr/ne/yr15/yr15rel37.asp This school has excellent : 1 Athletics 2 International Baccalaureate diploma 3 Honors 4 Tech career 5 long term experienced GREAT teachers I am proud of Vista high

Vista High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
There's not much this overcrowded school can do for kids. Much of it is because most students aren't interested in academics.


Vista High School 2

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
I had a very difficult time at VHS. Drugs and alcohol were rampant. Gangs were everywhere. The disabled were forced to pick up trash in the quad after lunch. Immature teachers' aides threw their weight around and sent kids to detention at a whim. Most of the teachers just didn't seem to care. It was basically day care for teenagers. Unless your kid is very mature and driven, I would avoid this school.

Vista High School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a student
Just like every other school in our district, the teacher do what they can with the tools given. So many of the teachers are so willing to spend extra time with the students and it's awesome! Parents are definitely a lot of help on campus along with the students in all clubs, especially Character Leaders and ASB. There weren't any gang fights when I attended, and I don't believe there is that problem. The school is extremely safe and is making improvements every single year.

Vista High School 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
My son has nothing but great things to say about your school. It is a great program and we are happy to be a part of it.


Vista High School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a student
I go to Vista and I LOVE it! This school is great I feel safe when I go to school and its a real convient and by my house. All my teachers are outstanding

Vista High School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
I had attended this school last year. I had transferred in from Lehman High School (Bx,NY). Ms.Greene the math teacher had always gave me a problem . From day one I stepped into her class she had it in for me. She use to try and cut me off everytine i asked a question. always had something to say to me , like you dont have other studenrs to worry about ? your too busy picking on me to continue your class .My brother had also attended this school years ago and the teachers and students acted the same way with him. It's like they got something against people from NY. I'm happy to say I no longer attend VHS. Back home in the Bronx. Happy to be here.

Vista High School 4

Posted August 10, 2012
- a student
This school is not that bad I really enjoyed going to Vista high school. The best part of the school Is David Hanlon the character leaders teacher. He has worked to make the school more friendly and open to everyone. I felt safe and happy at Vista and I hope your kids do too. I really loved my teachers. The only complaint is the nasty bathrooms! Gross! Fashion club and show choir was so much fun.


Vista High School 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
My son has just completed his second year at Vista High. He loves his school, and takes great pride in being a Panther. The old reputation is slowly changing, as Vista proves itself to have strong leadership, inclusive policies, for honors, athletes,band, drama, as well as English learners, teen moms, and the otherwise socio-economically challenged. I am glad my son sees this wide view culture, and tolerance. Yes, there are troublemakers, yes there is inappropriate activity, and yes, they do have security on campus. It is still, in main, a friendly, open, safe environment, with something for everyone.

Vista High School 4

Posted June 03, 2011
- a student
I enjoyed vista high. As a teen mom they really helped me with the teen parent program and graduating on time. the teachers were great, despite the few that are not, and the administration is good too. the principal and vice principals care about the students and my counselor did everything in her power to help me succeed. I know many have a misconception about gangs but honestly they are no trouble once you take any problem to security, the on campus officer, or administration. I am glad I was at VHS and had the help I needed.

Nearby schools

Vista High School
1 Panther Drive, Vista, CA  92084-3101
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (760) 726-5611
Last modified Vista High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top