Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Vista, CA
Students enrolled: 1,063
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


97 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a teacher
I am so excited that Vista Academy once again offers weekly specialty classes in Art, Drama, Dance, and Music. Additionally, the staff collaborates with the specialists to provide arts integrated lessons regularly. This year, the entire teaching staff has begun rigorous training so that VAVPA will become an IB Primary Years Program School. I love this school! All three of my children attended VAVPA. Two are college grads and the youngest will graduate this year. I am proud to be a part of the VAVPA faculty and work with such wonderful students and families where the ARTS and Inquiry are the basis for learning.

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been attending VAPA for a few years and she LOVES it. The teachers truly do care about the students and their learning. The new principal, Mrs Hancock, has done wonders for the school and seems to be always thinking of ways to make the school better for all students. The teachers are good about using their email to communicate as well as notes home if necessary. Currently there is a massive amount of construction going on "next door" which can me for a "dusty campus" however the plan of action for after completion seems to be one that will benefit the school as a whole and for that, my family is very excited to see what the future holds. One improvement I would suggest is more parent involvement. Sadly I am not able to be as available for volunteering, but I help out when I can, I wish that those parents who can help out during the day because they don't have a job to report do on a daily basis would take the step to volunteer on campus more, just my 2 cents from conversations I've overheard during drop off and/or pick ups. I am very happy that my daughter goes to this school and to be involved in her education.


Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted May 09, 2012
- a community member
This is an excellent school and the way the teachers collaborate with one another to create specialized learning enviroments for all types of learns is what makes the school special. There is a diverse group of students which of course gives the teachers some challenges with english learning students. But research proves that these students also benefit from the arts integration programs and this school scores high with these students despite the budget cuts that have happened in the past. This school pulls many parents into the district due to its programs. If this magnet schools funding is cut there will be no reason to parents to keep their kids in this district.

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a community member
AMAZING AMAZING VAPA is like no other school in Vista. The teachers are wonderful and the ARTS are everywhere!

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
LOVE THIS SCHOOL Our daughter is just finishing her Kindergarten year at VAPA. The school has been amazing, this is not a cookie cutter school. No where else in the district will you find and Arts program like this school has.The teachers, staff, parents and students are top notch. I look forward to anther year at this school.


Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Amazing school, The API score doesn t fully reflect this school. Yes, there are English learners but this in no way effects the teaching. The school scores one of the highest score in the district (API 925). The arts are amazing, one day they are in dance class, the next art, than drama and computer lab. You don t get this at any other school in the district!

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
This school rocks, there is so much going on here all the time. The parents are very involved. My daughter is in kindergarten and there is a teacher helper 5 days a week in the class and she is amazing! I m so happy we chose to send her to this school. Many parents over look this school only to send their child to a school with a different ratio, I really don t get that. The teachers are amazing I can t say enough about them. There are book fairs, pep rallies, art shows, talent shows, musicals, drama/dance productions, fall festivals, Haunted house and more! My daughter is already reading, adding and subtracting all with comprehension.

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Love this school can t say enough good things about it. The students and teachers are the best I have ever seen. If you are thinking about sending your child here you won t be disappointed. The academics are spot on and the arts program is out of this world. It might not be the newest facility but that doesn t stop the teachers from doing an amazing job.


Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Arts Arts Arts This school has it all, excellent teachers and staff. An amazing involved and informative principal. The principal has monthly tea and coffee sit downs with the parents. She wants to hear what they have to say face to face and improve the school any way she can. With so many budget cuts and the arts and music being taken out of the schools this is one of the few gems left where that doesn t happen. I am so pleased with this school. The teaching is amazing and our son is excelling in all subjects.

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
LOVE THIS SCHOOL The reviews speak for themselves. If you are in the Vista district look at the other elementary school reviews on this site. VAPA has 90+ all other schools have around 20 or less. That tells you how involved the parents are and how much they love this school. It is truly an amazing school. I have heard so many people say they are sending their child to a school because the buildings are newer or the ratio is more even. That doesn t mean you are going to get a better education. The staff and teachers are the cream of the crop at this school. If you want a well round education than VAPA is a good choice.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts
600 North Santa Fe Avenue, Vista, CA  92083
(760) 941-0880
Last modified Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vista Academy Of Visual And Performing Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. Top