Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vista

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

This school has an amazing, dedicated staff, that will give your kids a high quality education, and teach them how to be godly young adults. My daughter graduated from CCV in 2012, and my son just started his Junior year there. They have an amazing Baseball program, along with all the other sports available too. For our family, it was answered prayer for our kids to attend CCV, because the public schools around here are allowing such ungodly garbage to be taught to the kids, including ours at the time. If you want a high quality education in a Christian, Bible believing/teaching atmosphere, then CCV is the place for your kids. I highly recommend it. -Mason Martin 9/5/13
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

As the new Elementary Principal at CCS, I am excited for all that God has for us in the coming years. CCS has been a great school to teach at over the past two years. Our focus is on spiritual discipleship and a quality education that prepares students for the life that God calls them to. If you have any questions about the school or would like to spend a day on campus, please give us a call!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2012

CCS has been a wonderful place to send my children. I feel they have grown in so many areas. Academically I have seen great improvements in my children s SATs but most importantly, I have seen them grow spiritually! Our family is looking forward to the new changes that are taking place at CCS! Beautification of the campus and a new elementary Principal starts up in August! We can t wait to see what the Lord has for this fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

I have had the privilege of having 3 of my 5 children at this school for the past 5 years. I am continually impressed with the level of involvement, care and instruction that comes from all the teachers! The classroom student to teacher ratio is amazing! I am very happy with the level at which the "educational bar" is held, and am blessed when a teacher comes along side a student and their parents if they need extra help. It's a great environment for my kids to grow up in and we all love it! What that school provides for what their tuition is compared to other private schools is amazing. They are hands down the best value out there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

This is a great school! My children attended CCS from 5th thru 12th grade. They received a quality education as well as opportunities to develop their musical talents. They were well equipped for college. I also would like to add that they have an excellent ratio of student per teacher and even though we did not have playing fields on campus, we had access to pristine playing fields within the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

We Love Calvary Christian School in Vista. My two young children continue to thrive each year. I am looking forward to many more years of the Christ centered quality education that CCS provides. We feel so blessed and honored each day to be able to send our children to this school. I believe at the end of the day (year) the the high SAT scores speak for themselves. Not only do both of my children receive excellent grades, they also receive a great deal of biblical sound counsel and praise from the teachers and staff that are always on hand and willing to pray in every situation and special event that arises. This school is definitely a GODSEND.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

Our family loves CCS! We love the Christ-centered education they receive, as well as the whole-hearted love the teachers and staff give each student. The teachers have a heart for the students and with each passing year, my children discover they have a new "favorite" teacher. My two boys have been going to CCS for 7 years and counting and I am pleased that my daughter will be starting her school career at CCS this Fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

I have a child that is attending this school and is coming from a public school. This school has some wonderful qualities, however some of the elementary teachers are lacking in education(I mean no College Degree at all) and this is noticeable in their abiltity to teach. I have older children who have attended in years past, and at that time it was definitely a more Christ Centered school. I remember their goal was to raise a generation of Christian leaders for our future, and now It seems like they just want to be a competitive private school, get their name out there, and charge more for the tuition ( recent tuition increase @ 10.5%!!). It is better than being in a public school, but in some areas questionable. The office staff is amazing and always kind and helpful! I feel they need to go back to putting God first, and remember what this school was originally founded on, and why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

All of my children attended Calvary Christian School and I have nothing but great things to say about this school! An understanding and hands on Principal, Fantastic loving teachers! CCS is the place where your child will receive a great education, so much more. When looking at the SAT scores recently, I was impressed at each grade and how high they scored across the board. If I have my way, my grandbabies will be attending this school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

absolutely terrible school. uneducated teachers, and immature kids. public schools teach a better education by far compared to this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2012

As a former student of CCS, I highly recommend this school! The elementary grades are overseen by a wonderful staff of highly skilled teachers. The students at CCS are given an outstanding Christ centered education!


Posted March 20, 2012

We have 5 children, four of which are currently attending Calvary Christian School. Our oldest went from Kindergarten all the way though his senior year and is now studying at a four year university. We love the teachers and administration at CCS. If you are looking for a private christian school, come take a look at CCS, it comes highly recommended by our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

I am proud to say my three children graduated from this fantastic school! If you are looking for a great private school, look no further . CCS is the place to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

Calvary does an amazing job preparing their students to be ready for college and/or university. My son applied to many colleges and was accepted with many scholarship opportunities. He is doing great and is thriving acedemically today! We thank all the teachers and administration for creating a program that has made such an impact on our son and our entire family. We would strongly recommend the school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

I did not have a good experience at this school. The accreditation is not for the lower gredes and some teachers are not educated at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

I believe that the new principal that was hired about five years ago has greatly improved the school. The school is now not only accredited but has added AP and honors courses and this principal assures that they are on track. My daughter graduated this year and was accepted to every college that she applied to thanks to the great teachers at Calvary. She would not have wanted to go to school anywhere else. Great experience, and teachers who really have a servants heart and show the love of Christ to our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

High academic standards and a strong Christ-centered environment. The WASC accreditation has really raised the bar, as has the addition of AP courses for High School. CIF sports programs have been OK, but a great experience for my kids. My son has attended since kindergarten, and is on his way to college in the fall to pursue engineering. The best aspect is the individual attention and dedication of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

im a seventh grader there and its the best school ever not lying
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

My son was in public school for kindergarten and was way too ahead for it. Calvary offered more of a challenge in 1st grade. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

The teachers hold the students to very high standards - both spiritually and academically. Discipline and safety of the students is also very important. The biggest drawback of Calvary Chrisitian is their lack of sports facilities. I understand that this will soon be fixed as the school plans to build a new facility at Melrose and Oceanside Bl.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Asian 37%
Black 11%
Hispanic 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

885 East Vista Way
Vista, CA 92084
Phone: (760) 724-4590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT