Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-6
Public charter
Walnut Creek, CA
Students enrolled: 217
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school and awesome teachers. Our daughter looks forward to going to school all the time. We love EPMS!!!

Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
HOW FORTUNATE THAT MY GRANDCHILDREN ARE IN THIS CHARTER SCHOOL. INDIVIDUAL NEEDS AND INTERESTS ARE ADDRESSED AS THEY EXPAND THEIR MINDS AND LEARN TO BE PART OF A COMMUNITY.


Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Eagle Peak is the main reason that our family still lives in Contra Costa County! It is the very best place for our children to attend school. The education is superb, the teachers caring and attentive to the individual needs and learning styles of each student. One size does NOT fit all, and EPMS certainly understands this. Both of my boys would have been labelled as "behind" in traditional public school, but at EPMS they were able to go at their own pace and develop a true love of learning. Isn't developing a passion for learning what it's all about? They are now thriving, and the oldest well above grade level now. The community spirit is phenomenal, and the principal is passionate about her job and love of the school, children, and community. We are so grateful to be a part of EPMS. It's the essence of what a charter school should be.

Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children at Eagle Peak and am so grateful that this amazing school exists and that my children get to spend each day there. The principal puts her whole heart and soul into each child, as do the teachers. Every child is truly honored for who they are. Not to forget about the academics. I am always amazed to see all the things my children are learning and how much they love going to school! Thanks Eagle Peak!!!

Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
This is a fantastic school! The Montessori philosophy of this school is right in line with our philosophy at home. We wanted a school that would encourage independence, self initiative and self confidence. Not to mention the support system amongst all the teachers, staff and parents is tremendous and wonderful. We are so thrilled to have found this school.


Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
EPMS is a wonderful school with amazing teacher involvement, outstanding parent support, children who love their community and work to improve all aspects of their lives. EPMS combines the best of the Montessori Philosophy in the framework of the PUBLIC school system. Remember, this is an anomaly, a charter school dedicated to a specific philosophy of community, learning and life skills in the bureaucracy of a State school system. Now the Montessori Philosophy and paths may not be for everyone. Those seeking a "pure" Montessori elementary school will not find it, as EPMS works in the frame work of public school. Those searching for an alternative to traditional Public Schools may not be happy, as success in Montessori does require a unique mindset from both the child and parents. The teachers of EMPS are dedicated to their field and students. The Principle, Ms. Hammons, speaks at the American Montessori Conference in S.F. every year. The entire school takes one day off, so the teachers may attend up to 3 days of workshops & seminars, then bring new knowledge and insight back to EPMS. How many other Public schools have such an investment from their teachers?

Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
To The previous comment, I disagree my daughter has a learning disablity and the school has been working with her to meet her needs and she is in fourth grade allready. They are all great @ Eagle Peak.

Eagle Peak Montessori School 1

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
Principal has her own agenda. If your child has a learning disability they just want to get rid of him/her. The public schools in the area are way better.


Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted January 27, 2011
- a parent
Have our 2nd son at EP and we love the school. The important factor for deciding on attending EP is whether your child is capable of self direction. Some children need to be told what to do next. At EP the children are given the overall picture and they are left to work at their own speed.

Eagle Peak Montessori School 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
We have been at Eagle Peak for 3 years and currently have two children at this school. While Montessori is not perfectly suited to every child and learning style, most parents feel privileged to have their children here. The staff is respectful of the students and one another; most of the parents are eager to help; and the school is well-run. If you like to be involved and you want your child to learn independence and personal and environmental responsibility as well as academics, this may be the school for you.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Peak Montessori School
800 Hutchinson Road, Walnut Creek, CA  94598
(925) 946-0994
Last modified Eagle Peak Montessori School is a Charter school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eagle Peak Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top