Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bancroft Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Schuler, Miss Parker (1st Grade 2014-2015), Mrs. Carbajal (2015-2016). They are the true example of love for teaching.

Bancroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
I have only words of praise and thank to Bancroft Elementary and it's Principal Mrs. Schuler We've moved from a different country, and they were incredibly welcoming and supportive. They helped our girl to catch up with the language and the level. And helped my family to connect also with other families and make friends. The community is awesome, the facilities are very nice, and the staff is very professional and caring. Mrs. Schuler is there every single day, she knows every kid, she is always on top of everything. She is really amazing. I've evaluated all WC schools before choosing a house (by the district), and I'm extremely happy on our choice.


Bancroft Elementary School 4

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Bancroft is a fantastic community school. The parents work hard, both to fundraise, as well as to support the teachers and the classrooms. The parents are down to earth and welcoming. And one of the things I am most struck by is how much the faculty LOVE teaching here and how devoted they are to the Principal. Yes, the classes are too big. But that is a district/state problem, not one of Bancroft's doing. Hopefully California will step funding back up to appropriate levels soon. And no, we don't manage to fundraise as much as some other local elementary schools. but we raise more than a lot of them too! and honestly i don't mind that. we are down to earth, hard working people. what more does an elementary school need?!

Bancroft Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
The best, Bancroft is what happens when everyone works hard. Parents fundraise and run many programs. Staff is ver personable and professional.

Bancroft Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
I feel the classes are over crowded, the office staff is unfriendly and rude, and my experiences with the teachers have not been pleasant. My children have been bullied by students and ignored by teachers. Its not a friendly environment nor is it a positive learning environment. We've not been happy since we started at this school.


Bancroft Elementary School 4

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
Bancroft used to be a great school, but each yaer it seems that class sizes get larger and larger which leaves no time to the teacher to give more attention to each student. There are great techers in this school, but it would be nice if they had more time to help kids who need it. There are also teachers who I persanally beleive need to go and study more of child psychology.

Bancroft Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
We moved here from Kansas City last summer and have had a wonderful experience at Bancroft. My daughter's teacher was new to the school this year as well and was sympathetic to what she might be going through. She really helped her meet new kids and make friends right away. She is very caring and you really get the feeling that she wants to see all of her kids do well - not by lowering her standards, but by having faith that they can rise to any occasion and excel if they try. The other wonderful thing about this school is the musical offered as an after school project for Grades 3-5. The music director, and a few other teachers and parents, volunteer countless hours of time and put on an amazing production that any child that is interested can participate in. It's been such a wonderful experience for us.

Bancroft Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2008
- a community member
Bancroft is an outstanding school with caring staff, invovled and supportive parents and respectful, wonderful children who come to learn and make friends in an atmosphere that is safe, positive and productive. Leadership is shared and can be found at every level of school life. During 2008 Bancroft was named a Californai Distinguish School. Bancroft student supports are a model for the district and state. This is a 'CAn-Do' school and it is refelcted in every detail. Monthly Life Skills Assemblies are a strong example of the care and time provided to the children asthey come together as a commuity to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments in their lives that make each of nusoutstanding citizens ready to take on the demands of the world today and inthe future.


Bancroft Elementary School 1

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
The environment in this school is not helpful to a child's education and only getting worse in time. The principle is more concerned about her image and runs the school in a rather despotic way. Even the teachers have no say in any of the decision making. My son did not learn anything from some of the programs here and the staff do not want to help with any questions or problems. The office staff are totally unfriendly. If someone wants to succeed this is not the place to start.

Bancroft Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
My kindergarten daughter loves her teacher and has fun at school. Classes are interactive and kids are rewarded for behavior (Bancroft Bests).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bancroft Elementary School
2200 Parish Drive, Walnut Creek, CA  94598-1524
(925) 933-3405
Last modified Bancroft Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bancroft Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top