Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valle Verde Elementary School 3

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
We have been disappointed with our experience at Valle Verde. Given the price point of the homes that are in the attendance zone, one would hope to have high expectations of this school. Classrooms are terribly overcrowded. Even the most experienced teachers have a hard time managing the diverse needs of 30 kids at once. There is little to no chance of true differentiation in such huge classes. There are severe behavioral problems with a seemingly disproportionate number of students. The overworked teachers' time is diverted to the problem kids and the under performing students. Bright, well-behaved children will waste a lot of time waiting. There are well-planned, fun activities for the students and families, including the Fall Carnival, movie nights, and the Spring Fling. Many dedicated parents devote hundreds of hours in the classrooms and on event planning boards. However, this is not enough to make up for the average-at-best education the kids receive each day. Isn't a great education what we should expect?

Valle Verde Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
My youngest son just started at this school this past year. He is in an Autism specific classroom with excellent teachers and staff. There are not enough positive things that I can say about this class and this school. The teacher and her aides are very knowledgeable, patient, and just overall great people!


Valle Verde Elementary School 3

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
Classrooms are overcrowded. Student to teacher ratio is about 30/1 conservatively. Nice neighborhood school with views of Mt. Diablo.

Valle Verde Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
We just finished our second year at Valle Verde - we have two children enrolled here. Prior to this we were at a different elementary in the same district, and in comparing the two experiences, we are so glad we were able to join this school community. The principal is new but has made an admirable effort to get to know the children and their parents, and was visible at all the school events I attended. Our kids' teachers for Kindergarten, 2nd and 3rd grades were all enthusiastic and got to know their students and their strengths/needs. Parent volunteers are more than welcomed - it tends to be the same parents over and over again, but I believe that is reflective more on who is available vs any sort of clique. Any time I have signed up to help, the response has been positive and welcoming - our district does have a lot of budget issues, so the extra help from families is both needed and appreciated by the school. Overall, the community feel at Valle Verde is what we like the best. People support the school (they even have parents volunteer over the summer to come water the plants) and they get to know each other. We're very happy there!

Valle Verde Elementary School 2

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
Classrooms are very overcrowded and the classrooms smell like mold and mildew. Some great teachers and some not so great (very bad kindergarten teachers). The teachers need paid assistants in the classrooms. The parents basically run the school because of lack of funding.


Valle Verde Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
My son has been a student here for two years and it has been a positive experience. I'm not sure where a previous poster said that kids are bused in from out of district. The only kids that are bused in are for the autism immersion program that the school is famous for and all those kids are IN district. I appreciate the lottery program the school has because of the the lack of diversity of the school is not reflective of the community in a 3 mile radius. While class sizes are large , classroom aids and parent volunteers help bridge the gap. Surprisingly there is homework in 1st and 2nd grades. There is a clique to the volunteer helpers but it doesnt affect your child negatively.

Valle Verde Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a community member
Amazing, I went there, great kids, great teachers, I just love it! Although the food is not the best, I enjoy the whole school and the community

Valle Verde Elementary School 1

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is beyond terrible especially if your child is going into 3rd grade! The 3rd grade teachers need to retire. They are lazy and don't care about their students at all. It is a known fact with all the parents that 3rd grade is basically taking the year off for your child. 3rd grade is considered a vacation. They don't teach much, watch tons of videos & homework is non existent! If your child is struggling its even worse as the teachers don't want to put the time and effort into helping their students succeed. What kind of teacher yells at a class telling them its her birthday and all of them are ruining it? What kind of teacher singles out and embarrasses a strugling child in front if the whole class by stating they have "special needs"? They don't respond to emails or letters & just avoid parents at all costs. There is absolutely no communication what so ever which leaves parents in the dark. Basically it's a joke! The principal is new so she's just getting her feet wet & needs to learn about the staff more. I guess I'd give the school 1 star for parent volunteers however its extremely cliquey so don't expect to be welcomed with open arms when volunteering.


Valle Verde Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is in her first year at VVEE, and we are very happy with the experience so far. The teachers are great, and the parents are very involved with the school both in terms of money and time. Two suggestions that would make the school district the best in the area: A) Break away from Mt. Diablo (all 5 schools in Walnut Creek/Northgate district) B) Stop lottery system and busing in students from outside the district, it is overcrowded as it is and they don't pay to live here. That aside, overall an outstanding school.

Valle Verde Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2011
- a parent
My son is very happy and he has being learning so much in this school. I agree that parents are in a big part responsible for that because they volunteer a lot of their time in the school in order that the kids complete their assignments on time. I really appreciate the teachers work; however I would like to see more commitment from the principal.

Nearby schools

Valle Verde Elementary School
3275 Peachwillow Lane, Walnut Creek, CA  94598-1711
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (925) 939-5700
Last modified Valle Verde Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top