Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy with our son's progress since starting in Kindergarten up through 2nd grade. All of his teachers have been outstanding, as have the parental helpers. We were concerned about the class sizes being as large as they are (about 30), but the teachers we've dealt with handle it well. The kids in this school are generally lacking in discipline problems with strong family bonds which goes a long way to creating a great atmosphere for learning. We moved to this neighborhood with this school in mind and are very happy we did

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
As far as public schools go, especially in CA this is a top notch campus. Great teachers, wonderful and very involved principal. I transferred my child from private school and was so hesitant, but I couldn't be happier!


Walnut Acres Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is overrated. The class sizes are around 31-34. Teachers are ok. Parent volunteers are great but its all the same 100 or so parents who keep it all going. Its a nice school but you can get the same across town and with a lot less homeownership cost.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 4

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Walnut Acres is an excellent school in a supportive and safe neighborhood. There is an enormous amount of parent involvement in the classrooms as well as on the Parent Faculty Club. The vocal music program supported by the PFC is outstanding. The Principal provides strong guidance and is always coming up with ways to improve the school academically and socially. The teachers are dedicated and genuinely enjoy teaching. I would give the school 5 stars if it were in a smaller district, ideally the 5 schools that are in Walnut Creek that are currently in the MDUSD.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 3

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
Class sizes are quite large (34 kids per class in the upper grades) and could go up to 40. The school district is struggling and sadly, it shows. GATE (gifted) funding has been averted to other areas as have funds for other programs. There are many furlough days throughout the year because of the districts financial issues. Test scores are high purely because of demographics. The parents and many teachers care, but they can't rectify the school districts problems and we are told there is no sign things will improve anytime soon.


Walnut Acres Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2011
- a parent
This school could use more parent involvement and a better academic program as well as a better school district. This school/students are suffering from there school district which has no $$$ for great programs, teachers and extra activities.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
The instruction is well rounded - parents are really involved. They still include music which is essential for a well rounded and conscious growing child. And...they rock!!

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Walnut Acres Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
It's a wonderful neighborhood elementary school. Involved, generous parents, great PFC, and the teachers are dynamite!

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2009
- a parent
We have 2 sons going Walnut Acres. The teachers here are so awesome. They are dealing with the budget problems with a 'make lemonade out of lemons' mentality. For instance, the 3rd grade no has 10 more students per classroom. Well, this meant that there ended up being 2 classrooms empty. So, the school converted these to a special needs room and a dedicated science room. The parent involvement and student behavior are the best I've come across.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Acres Elementary School
180 Cerezo Drive, Walnut Creek, CA  94598
(925) 939-1333
Last modified Walnut Acres Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Acres Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top