Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Class sizes are being reduced per district policy over the next few years. My daughter has 28 in her kindergarten class (and has an overlapping schedule- early slip/late slip). My son has 24 in his first grade class which the teachers say is a welcome relief from the 31 they had last year. The principal, Dr. Dowd, is very passionate about what she does and has a great vision for making our kids 21st century students. Although there are some challenges, I feel very comfortable with the level of attention that my children are getting here.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy with our son's progress since starting in Kindergarten up through 2nd grade. All of his teachers have been outstanding, as have the parental helpers. We were concerned about the class sizes being as large as they are (about 30), but the teachers we've dealt with handle it well. The kids in this school are generally lacking in discipline problems with strong family bonds which goes a long way to creating a great atmosphere for learning. We moved to this neighborhood with this school in mind and are very happy we did


Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
As far as public schools go, especially in CA this is a top notch campus. Great teachers, wonderful and very involved principal. I transferred my child from private school and was so hesitant, but I couldn't be happier!

Walnut Acres Elementary School 4

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is overrated. The class sizes are around 31-34. Teachers are ok. Parent volunteers are great but its all the same 100 or so parents who keep it all going. Its a nice school but you can get the same across town and with a lot less homeownership cost.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 4

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Walnut Acres is an excellent school in a supportive and safe neighborhood. There is an enormous amount of parent involvement in the classrooms as well as on the Parent Faculty Club. The vocal music program supported by the PFC is outstanding. The Principal provides strong guidance and is always coming up with ways to improve the school academically and socially. The teachers are dedicated and genuinely enjoy teaching. I would give the school 5 stars if it were in a smaller district, ideally the 5 schools that are in Walnut Creek that are currently in the MDUSD.


Walnut Acres Elementary School 3

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
Class sizes are quite large (34 kids per class in the upper grades) and could go up to 40. The school district is struggling and sadly, it shows. GATE (gifted) funding has been averted to other areas as have funds for other programs. There are many furlough days throughout the year because of the districts financial issues. Test scores are high purely because of demographics. The parents and many teachers care, but they can't rectify the school districts problems and we are told there is no sign things will improve anytime soon.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2011
- a parent
This school could use more parent involvement and a better academic program as well as a better school district. This school/students are suffering from there school district which has no $$$ for great programs, teachers and extra activities.

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
The instruction is well rounded - parents are really involved. They still include music which is essential for a well rounded and conscious growing child. And...they rock!!


Walnut Acres Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
It's a wonderful neighborhood elementary school. Involved, generous parents, great PFC, and the teachers are dynamite!

Walnut Acres Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2009
- a parent
We have 2 sons going Walnut Acres. The teachers here are so awesome. They are dealing with the budget problems with a 'make lemonade out of lemons' mentality. For instance, the 3rd grade no has 10 more students per classroom. Well, this meant that there ended up being 2 classrooms empty. So, the school converted these to a special needs room and a dedicated science room. The parent involvement and student behavior are the best I've come across.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Acres Elementary School
180 Cerezo Drive, Walnut Creek, CA  94598-3799
(925) 939-1333
Last modified Walnut Acres Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Acres Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top