Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buena Vista Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2013

Our experience at Buena Vista has been stellar; my low expectations of the public school system have been blown away! Not only is my daughter receiving a caring and thorough education, but the administration has been amazingly receptive to discussions about accommodating my daughter's severe food allergies. I have gone from a skeptic seriously considering private school to a huge fan. I look forward to sending my second child here soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Our son is about to start his 2nd year at Buena Vista and so far, we really like this school. BV has wonderful teachers and families. There is a very active PTA with a lot of parental involvement. The after school daycare (Club) is run extremely well by young adults who truly care about the welfare of the children. I never worry when our son is in their care. We are proud to be part of BV and are very much looking forward to having another great school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

We moved to CA almost three years ago from Northern Virginia where our kids were in amazing schools. We have been so pleased with Buena Vista. The teachers and staff are so invested in my children's success. While we are appalled at the budget cuts to education in CA, we are amazed at what Buena Vista gets done! Art, music, science, library, and P.E. all have really talented teachers also. The community of parents is very welcoming also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

isn't a school supposed to help those in need? i think bv has the largest number of ELL in the district or one of the largest. the stats show that they aren't lacking academically. my son started in 1st grade and he has grown in amazing ways. he is one of the kids who needed reading help and any deficit he started with no longer exists. this was within 4 months! the parents are so cool and easy to talk to. the teacher always answers my emails timely. so the principal is taking classes. how could that not be good? she is accessible if you need her. why would one need to talk to the principal more than occasionally anyway?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Unbelievable emphasis, time and money is spent on the numerous number of children that cannot read, write or do math by third grade who have attended this school since Kindergarden. The few children that TEACHERS know will meet state standards are left to fend for the school year without challenges. All of this before the budget crisis and class size increase. The Principle is rarely on site due to taking classes herself (the last two years). If your child is below average academically, this is the school for you. If you want your child who is average or above to be challenged, you should find to a different school. As to parent involvement. Very "click-ish" and rumor-mongering. Parent of child who attended K-5 at BV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Buena Vista is graced with children from many different backgrounds, countries, and religions. The teachers are hard working and truly care about all children advancing. The mixture of diversity, caring, and shared goals make Buena Vista an excellent place to be educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

Because my children are spread out, we've attended 3 different schools in California. Buena Vista is, by far, the best school we've experienced. The staff show true care for our children, each other, and the families at the school. They go above and beyond to take care of our children's academic, social, and emotional needs. The Principal is actively involved in keeping the school organized and managing the school so that families are involved in decision making and building community. Student are learning and our school is distinguished in every way. We are lucky to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

We cannot imagine being a part of any other community! Buena Vista is such a wonderful school, with so much parental involvement, emphasis on the kids treating each other with respect, and just an all around great atmosphere for both my kids And myself. We love BV!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

Excellent school with lots of parent involvment. Although my son's K teacher only had two years experience, he is now (at the end of K) reading 2nd grade books fluently.Wow! She also really tried to understand each child's character & really tried to work with them individually to best motivate them. I loved the old principal (lots of energy) but there is a new principal this year, so I cannot speak to the principal leadership. The after school program (for working parents) is superb. The Buena Vista Club is a jewel in terms of after care programs. I cannot say enough good things about them. Go Buena Vista Club! Good science teacher, and Mr. Fong in Kindergarten is also very talented musically, bringing that into not only his, but other K classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

My grand daughter goes to Buena Vista Elementary School and I volunteer there each week. I am very impressed by the school and their teachers. They have wonderful programs there for children that may be a little behind their classmates. The principal and her staff are very attentive and know the children by name. Buena Vista is an outstanding elementary school and I am very happy that my grand daughter is attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2005

This school is top notch all the way around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

Excellent parent/teacher involvement results in a wonderful, diverse environment for the kids. My daughter loves BV, and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

Good School! Send your kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

I moved to Walnut Creek six months ago. I researched all of the public elementary schools and chose BV Elementary. I am glad I did
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

Buena Vista is a wonderful school! The school administrator is so organized and knows many students and parents by name. The teachers are very organized, caring and professional. There is great diversity. There is so much dedicated parent involvment and PTA and site counsel work hard to make improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

Buena Vista Elementary is a wonderful school! We have been a part of the BV community for the past 2 years. The teachers and staff are caring, dedicated and professional. My children love going to school because of the family atmosphere. We love the diversity and different ethnic backgrounds of the BV students. There are so many other positive aspects of BV such as the wonderful leadership of our Principal. The whole Walnut Creek School District is top rate and we wouldn't want to live any place else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

Buena Vista is adequate in most areas. However, the principal is fairly new to the school. Some of the primary-grade teachers are rather rigid and seem better fit for upper grades. Buena Vista has not satisfactorily met our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

Our experience at this school has been extremely dissappointing. Our child's first grade teacher is incredibly rigid for a primary grade teacher. Thankfully, the parent involvement and support is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

It was only after we left this school (moved out of state) that I realized how wonderful it truly was. A wonderful group of teachers with a warm and family atmosphere to the school. We were a part of Buena Vista for 3 years and two of my children attended. My children loved it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

886

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

886

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females78%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females81%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females49%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asian42%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)21%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females60%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females90%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females97%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females85%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females85%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students74%
Females72%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 18%
Asian 14%
Two or more races 11%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/AN/A
English language learners 16%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 13%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amy Espinoza
Fax number
  • (925) 934-8907

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2355 San Juan Avenue
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 944-6822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


S.T.A.R.S. School
Walnut Creek, CA





Seven Hills, The
Walnut Creek, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT