Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Contra Costa Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 210 students

 
 

Living in Walnut Creek

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $370,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 22 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Contra Costa Christian School is not only focused on providing a quality, hands on education but also on developing a child's character. A focus on treating others with respect, providing service to the immediate community and the world and honoring God in all we do is reinforced in a very relevant way for the students. Being at Contra Costa Christian School you immediately become part of a community dedicated to holistic learning and growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

My child has exelled in academics. Her learning level is over and above the standard for her grade level. Because of the music program, we have seen a gift develop and blossom. However, beyond academics, CCCS teachers and administrators truly love their students. This is a family community where the staff engages with the parents for a relationship through learning and life. Together they want to be a part of raising our children to be the best they can be. They are preparing our young one's to face adulthood through success. I wouldn't have our child enrolled ANYWHERE else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

My son attends the pre-kindergarten program at CCCS. Words can not express my appreciation and admiration for the preschool director and pre-k teachr, Mrs. Porto. Mrs. Porto's energy, enthusiasm and creativity for the children in her class, goes well beyond that of your typical teacher. She cares deeply and personally about each child learning, interaction and their developing personalities. Each of the teachers she's brings to assist in her class bring unique backgrounds, experience and contributions.. They have all clearly been chosen to serve at CCCS and I'm so grateful we have them. We look forward to sending our son to the elementary school next year. We've been extremely impressed by all the administrators and facility. The CCCS community feels so much like my childhood experience - a warm and welcoming community - staff and parents alike - who care about each others success and well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

My son has been at the school for 9 years since Kindergarten and loves every minute of it. Small class size, great teachers/staff members, christian based education, you can't find a better combination!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

All four of our children attended this school. Two of our children are currently in college and have said that this school did a great job of preparing them for the challenges of college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

My three children have attended CCC over the past 7 years. From upper grade school to high school, I am pleased by the family atmosphere and loyalty of the teachers. If you are looking at a committed group of teachers to help improve the academic standards of your children, this is your one stop place for everything. Academics, testing, sports, drama, and the music is out of this world. Your child(ten) will no doubt be a big fish in a little pond, challenged to shine and do things they'd not have a chance at doing in a larger school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

This is a small private Christian school offering pre-school through high school. I like the school because it offers my children (starting at age 3) to learn about Christ. The room sizes are small (8-13 kids per class) so my kids get a lot of hands on involvement. Because it's a small school you learn to know most people within the school fairly quickly. Everyone seems to have the same objective which is to sacrifice the finanacial burden but reap the long term benefits of having their children have a Christian education. The school requires parent involvement with volunteering which is fine to offset benefits of allowing the kids to go to this school. Truly wonderful leadership, Christ based and no other agendas. The school also has after school programs and sports which is nice so you don't have to shuttle the kids all over the place. They have before and after school day care as early as 7am - 6pm for those that have long work days. It's nice to see classes, teachers and staff praying before events and throughout the day. You won't find this in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2013

I see a couple of comments from disgruntled parents. First off they don't appear to be very humble & have a Christian attitude in their comments which is concerning. I have 3 children at this school & I have not seen any of these things that these other parents are commenting on happen. The school education is fine with a good balance. The children learn not only the basic classes (math, english, science, etc) but also have what other public schools don't offer (music, band, sports, Bible class) along with daily prayer & Christ in their lives. The Dean recently came on and is making changes to advance the school with Apple products. This is great. The kids, parents & staff all embrace the changes. School testing & reviews for grades, classwork, etc are emailed weekly (attendance, homework completion, testing, etc) so for this other parent to say that they didn't get grades until it was too late is absurd. I get emails the same day if my kid didnt complete his homework! The school does have foreign exchange students but why does that matter to this parent? Are they judgmental against foreigners who speak english? Great school, don't be swayed by these other comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Contra Costa Christian High School is the best! Great location, education, Christian morals, outstanding young kids. Great environment for growing up and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Most of the families I referred as we attended this school left quickly due to many negative factors, including us after several years, even with a change of leadership this past year. I would tell you to not waste your time with this school especially for the price.Teachers are great and some are out of the box thinkers when teaching, which is wonderful but there are many other private schools in the area who provide a similar staff and have more current curriculum, including ipads or computers in the classroom. The closest public school to our home has assessment testing in the elementary level where you know where your child is at in math and reading skills weekly. We found our child was behind when we received our annual testing in the summer after school is out, although report cards were always A's and B's. A little late in assessments, then find out that they cannot help and we need to hire a tutor. Also, don't let the new apple laptops one-on-one campaign fool you. Not only do you have to pay for tuition at a high rate for your 8th-10th grader but must also purchase a $1300-$2000 laptop. Glad we did not stay until 8th grade. Do your homework and research other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I have watched this school deteriorate more and more over the last 6 years. Every family I invite never stays more than 1-2 years. It's embarassing! The school seems to be more interested in bringing in foreign exchange students than maintaining their American population. At this point, there are more Asian exchange students in the high school than American! Most of the good teachers have left. The new principal is milk toast and has no real mind of his own. The money from a couple of the families guides all of his decision-making. Very sad. Glad we only have one more year here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

My children have attended CCCS for the past 17 years (the second child is now a Junior). They attended from Pre-K through HS. Both are turning out to be truly wonderful and decent human beings who know GOD. As a parent, it does not get better than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

We have two children who have attended CCCS from preschool through 4th grade. We started there as it was one of the few schools which offered full time preschool and kindergarten as well as a quality after school program. We appreciate that our children learn in an environment where they receive quality instruction and individual attention. Each year, we have witnessed the building blocks of education on a strong foundation which is supported by love and encouragement from classmates, their families and the CCCS staff. As the parents, we are the authoritative figure in our children's lives; but we have seen those same expectations replicated in the classrooms at CCCS. We appreciate the direction of the school; and in particular, the efforts toward offering a well rounded program with after school activities and wonderful athletic opportunities in which everyone has an opportunity to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

I have had 4 children (now 3) who attend CCCS. We moved to CA 5 years ago and 2 of my children went to a very expensive highly-reputed Christian private school there. When they started at CCCS, they were behind where the rest of the class was. I'm amazed that, for a small school, all that the elementary school has to offer, while the public schools are cutting back - music & band, Spanish, library, PE, Bible, book clubs, and more... The average test scores are well above national average. Yet, the focus in school is NOT preparing for the standardized tests. My children have thrived at CCCS. Because of the small size, the children get a lot of attention and more opportunities than a kid would have in a bigger, more competitive, environment. For example, my daughter, who loves drama and is in middle school, has received such amazing parts in the Middle School musicals. Also, CCC just hired a new Headmaster who has amazing vision and is putting CCC on the Apple platform next year. All kids, 7th grade and up, will have to have MacBooks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

My twin girls started at CCCS last year in the Pre-K program and have continued into kindergarten. All of their teachers have been personally invested in their education and have demonstrated caring and devotion time and time again. My girls love it at CCCS and I love watching their enthusiasm as they learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

My grand daughter started at Contra Costa Christian School in Walnut Creek over a year ago. I have volunteered in the classroom, on field trips and other activities. I have attended the Grandparen'ts Days and thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas Pageants. My grand daughter loves school and hates to miss even a single day. I especially like that CCCS offers music, PE, bi-lingual, arts and other services that so many of the public schools can no longer afford to offer.


Posted February 6, 2013

Our son has ben at CCC for 2 years now. We wanted him to learn in a loving environment where he would learn Christian values. The teachers truly care about the children. The education he is getting in Kindergarten is great! It is amazing to hear him recite Bible verses, and learn about the world around him (last week it was naming all of the planets!) We highly recommend Contra Costa Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Our daughter has been attending Contra Costa Christian for the last year and a half and we couldn't be happier!!! The class sizes are more than reasonable. The values and education are excellent. We love the curriculum. The administration, faculty, and staff are readily available for conferences. The music program is dynamic, The Christian based education is inspiring not only to our daughter but to our entire family. We highly recommend Contra Costa Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Our daughter started at CCCS in first grade. We were drawn to the faith based quality education and small class sizes. We know we made the right decision. The teaching staff is incredible and provides a varitey of additional courses including music, arts, foreign language, and technology even at the lower grade levels. This was also very important to us. Our daughter is thriving and we welcome any and all new families to join our CCCS family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2013

My child is currently in Kindergarten at CCCS. She started in the preschool at three years old and has grown and blossomed over the past 2 years. The teachers truly love their roles and take care and pride in teaching the children. Our family has felt truly embraced by the tight-knit community and our daughter is thriving. We value the Christian based education and small class sizes. The school put together several community fundraisers that are very fun and quite successful. The new head of school that started in 2012 is making positive changes to improve the grounds and grow the school. I would strongly recommend anyone considering private school and valuing a Christian education come to CCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 52%
Two or more races 26% 3%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 11%
Black 9% 6%
White 7% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Darren Price
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (925) 934-4966

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Homeschooling Support
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2721 Larkey Lane
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 934-4964

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




S.T.A.R.S. School
Walnut Creek, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT