Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
they hang out in groups and talk about each other like they were students and the admin is the leader of the "mean girls group"

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
it depends on the teacher some give a ridiculous amount while others give none admin needs t look into that


Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
its ok, really have no opinion about this they still have students that they dont like so i feel that they dont care about them

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
they do pick favorites, this school is favorited for children of employees of the district

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
I know the admin does not like some of the students they commented that in a parent meeting.


Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology 3

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Sorry I cannot give a higher rating this school is average. The principal is not very involved or very informed of things that are going on on campus.She comes to school 10 min before classes start and leaves shortly after classes are over. Teachers are not very unified as teachers they tend to stick together as "clicks" horrible example for the kids especially the middle school aged ones.Yes, they talk about each other. There has been a surge of discipline issues at this school. This school has recently become an IB school which means they just get that title, they do nothing to really reflect IB learning, thinking etc except say it at assemblies. And as far as Technology & Arts they should drop that part of the name, there is nothing techy about the school most, if not all, schools in the district have laptop & iPad carts too, they dumped Apple Laptop program too. No field trips as promised by the 7th gr teacher last year, so nothing for 8th. As for Arts school pays for meet the masters to come to the school,most kids don't like it and it is expensive, teachers don't always teach the lesson that was taught to them, another waste of money, there might be some after school stuff but you'll have to pay for it. There is a good, great number of high performing students, but if your kid needs extra help forget it they'll sink. There is a "study skills" class for 7th & 8th graders but they usually stick the discipline kids there with a teacher, easy class for him/her nice gig right? I feel the principal is too comfortable with her job there she is always sitting at her desk on the phone(personal call) or talking about her family or other school admin/employees she should really be reminded that she is in charge of the school and should start taking more pride in her position as a leader. Front office staff is always friendly and informed, always helpful.Overall this is an ok school there is nothing stimulating going on here, no one is going above and beyond.

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Principal and vice principal are very rude and obnoxious. Especially to new students. They do not consider aspects of new students and their needs. The vice principal is incompetent as well as some of their teachers. School is ok if you like slow growth of your childs educational progress. I regret removing my children from their old school because of financial difficulties. My children are still ok because i teach them that its not the school -that the student has to adapt. But this school needs to get fixed in every way from teachers to principals.

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology 5

Posted September 11, 2010
- a parent
My sons attend Ybarra and they truly enjoy school. They love reading, math, and learning. Thet get excited about the many school activities such as Pajama Day and Math Night. We also love the performance aspect of the curriculum. Each grade level performs once during the year for their parents. This prepares them for the presentation aspect of the education. The principal is extremely positive and supportive. The teachers are awesome and work extremely hard for the children. As a parent, I am highly pleased with Ybarra.


Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology 5

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. My was in the school few years before and now my daughter is a first grader. I like their academic performance. And their classroom size is only 20, fantastic. and stuff there are super!

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
no rating

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
My son started kinder in 2008, his teacher was extremely supportive. She comunicated with me almost daily, and was welcoming when I popped in unannounced. Thank you! She worked hard to get the kids on level. Hard work pays off. The administration is organized and professional.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology
1300 South Brea Canyon Cutoff Road, Walnut, CA  91789-3401
(909) 598-3744
Last modified Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ybarra Academy For The Arts And Technology Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top