Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vejar Elementary School 4

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school. The only downfall in my child's First Grade class this school year was that the "End of the Year" awards were handed out to students whose parents volunteer the most. It is not fair. Why penalize a student who has worked hard all year just because their parents can't afford to take time off from work to volunteer on a weekly basis. Awards should be given based on test scores & performance and not teacher's preference/parent incentive.

Vejar Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
We were considering enrolling our kids in private school but decided to enroll them at Vejar. Vejar Elementary has great teachers, staff, and principal. The pta here which is the Vejar Community Club works very hard fundraising for the school. They plan fun events such as the harvest festival and other fundraisers at supermarkets and fast food restaurants. Parents are very involved in this school. They volunteer in class and at the schools events. Another thing I love about this school is that they have a great reading program for the children and also an updated computer lab. Overall very happy with moving our kids to this school.


Vejar Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a community member
This school is awesome! I've been at Vejar since Kindergarten! I am going to Suzanne this year and I will come back to Vejar to visit! I just Love this school so much!

Vejar Elementary School 2

Posted December 19, 2010
- a parent
We just finish the first half of 3rd grade and we were very disappointed. There is NO project, NO oral presentation at all, very little writing either at school or home. They do have a lot of homework worksheets but mostly fill out the blanks and math practices. And we CAN'T believe the spelling list that test each week. Week 4: so, both... Week 11: into, today, maybe.. And this is for 3rd Grade?! They push the lower level one to be proficient, but doesn't care about the ones who already in proficient+ level. I deal with the ladies in front office 4 times, they're cold, question you first or blame others, other than simply help out. My teacher is strict on tiny details but missing the whole point of rasing a happy learning kid. The slogan of Vejar is "Home of Future Leaders". But from what I see is they managing students to be no brainers and followers. The parents participation of this school is very low. Only 5 parents shows up for the so-called "Community Meeting"... Communication in this school is poor, since no email system established. Talk to both teacher and principal couple times but nothing changed.

Vejar Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
I was thinking of private school but thougth give a try of Vejar because fo the convenience. Vejar did not disappointed me. Their reading program for 1st grade is very comprehensive and have a program to fit different need. They should do the same with math as well. Many kids are very advanced. This is a very good school. I am sure to have my kid stay for the rest of the elementry.


Vejar Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent

Vejar Elementary School 4

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
My son is in his last grade in the school, having started in kindergarden. Overall, it is a pretty good school. The school is more oriented on student personal development than achieving extra high test scores. The teachers vary year-to-year. My son is very fortunate this year with a bright new teacher putting her heart and hard work into her class. Overall, a great school, not a bad school district. May be need more challenge and more attention to teachers. My kid will be ready for his Middle School for sure.

Vejar Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2007
- a parent
I am very happy with Vejar. My daughter just finished kinder, and I am very happy with her academic progress. Kudos to the principal and the staff, the campus is clean and safe. Thank you!


Vejar Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2006
- a parent
Wonderful school! I went there when I was a child and now my children attend. The teachers are very devoted and caring! They have excellent programs that range from the more academically advanced the children that require special help. Love it!

Vejar Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2005
- a teacher
I think Vejar Elementary has a good staff and a principal who is working to make the school one where students enjoy coming to school eager to learn. The students come to school with a variety of backgrounds and it is difficult to meet all their needs, however the school has many support groups and academic interventions to provide structure for those who are in need of such programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vejar Elementary School
20222 Vejar Road, Walnut, CA  91789-2334
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (909) 594-1434
Last modified Vejar Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top