Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southlands Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 546 students

Our school is best known for our academic excellence.
 
 

 

Living in Walnut

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $510,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

We love this school!! My son been attending Southland since three years old. It's a God loving school with excellent principal and staff!! We love all the teachers and couldn't have asked for more supportive and loving environment. The school is an affordable institute with upholding high standards. I would recommend it to any parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Both of my children have been at Southlands from preschool. My daughter graduated from Southlands 5 years ago and my son is in high school now. Academically Southlands is very strong. My daughter went to UCI and got her bachelor degree in 3 years. Southlands had prepared her well academically. Low student to teacher ratio allows more quality learning time. Excellent drama (theatre) class and sports programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I have been attending southlands for a few years now, the quality of the school has gone done by a lot! Too many international students, local kids are the minority, no wonder they seem antisocial. Most people I know dislike the school. Some , well, a lot of students arent treated fairly. Many teachers (not all tho) are very disrespectful. The office does bad work, most don't do job well, some teachers are same, not equipped to teach. The Christian part of south lands is nonexistent, everyone Buddhist! Elementary is ok (my sibling) but middle and high school are very bad. If you wanted to be treated fairly and with respect, do not recommend. Most kids hate this school and are miserable.


Posted February 6, 2013

Students are so friendly. Some students never study at all. So the school expel at least 10 students each semester.


Posted February 3, 2013

*Too many INTERNATIONAL students (seems like you are in China) *Bad school environment *Local students are not friendly *Barely speak English


Posted January 20, 2013

There are too many international students, especially Chinese students in high school. Over 85% high school students are international. In 9th grade, only one girl is American. Most local students are not so willing to talk with international student. It's not a good choice for international students.


Posted June 26, 2012

Wonderful school! I recommend it highly...my kids love this school and their teachers. It's location and campus are very nice and easy access from the 57 and 60 freeways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

This is a wonderful school, the staff are loving, caring and my students love going to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

In response to "i would not recommend this school to anybody especially international students because of non refundable tuition policy." The policy is fully disclosed in the application process for international students only. Local students are not subject to this policy. The non-refundable policy exists because the school hires ELL teachers and staff based on the number of student that enroll at the beginning of the school year. It would not be fair to faculty to cut their salaries or lay them off because of students who want to leave school on a whim. The school provide an excellent school environment for our international students based on these types of policies.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2012

This is an excellent school that is committed to their community. They have many events benefiting Walnut, Rowland Heights, Hacienda Heights and Diamond Bar. Their e-Waste recycling events, Rowland Heights Food Truck Fiesta, Buckboard Days Parade float, Kiwanis Club of Hacienda Heights donation, Parent/Staff participation in Community outreach is an example of how they exist to make our community a better place through education and community involvement.


Posted October 11, 2011

i would not recommend this school to anybody especially international students because of non refundable tuition policy. Before i-20 is even issued tuition has to be paid so if at all you change your mind about the school...you lose you money. No way to run a business


Posted October 6, 2009

Christian Education is very well needed in the present decade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Great environment for Christian education in Walnut/Rowland Heights. Great teachers and great administrator in the best neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Southlands Christian Schools has the best teachers.


Posted October 3, 2009

I love Southlands because we have amazing teachers that actually care about the student overall. You get to know them personally and form great relationships with nice people:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Great education both academically and spiritually. My kid is in Kindergarten, but his acedemic performance is as good as a second grader in public school.(according to his SAT test)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

We have been part of the Southlands Christian Schools family since 2000. The school has lived up to its mission of educating students in excellence and integrity, with the administrator, principals, and teachers leading by example. Our children benefit from all-round education that encompasses outstanding academic curricular, impressive Christian-based moral values, and excellent sports activities. We are indeed proud of the school s achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Southlands Christian Schools puts God first. The teachers and staff help our kids grow and develop a healthy relationship with Christ Jesus, which inturn teaches our kids to be respectful faithful leaders as well as academic achievers. Southlands Christian High School offers our kids a high quality education in a caring community with a strong spiritual foundation. We have been truly blessed with Southlands!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

This week I attended a Parent Teacher Conference and my experience reinforced the many reasons why I decided to put my children at this school. The character of the leadership and quality of education came through with every teacher interaction, as we reviewed my daughters performance. The Principal was present, ready to answer any questions, and every student review started with a quick prayer. Parents were actively involved with their children's education as we all went from teacher to teacher. I saw many a hug, celebrating children's academic success, and parents seemed pretty happy to be there. The staff at Southlands has truly shown the meaning of 'servant leadership' through their dedication to my girls' studies, and the balance they bring with the extracurricular activities and sports involvement. As a mother I feel I have a true partner with Southlands Christian Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

Our family is so blessed to be a part of the Southlands Family! The leadership of our school has not only created a safe loving environment for our children, but they have also established clear priorities for the parents and families. Southlands has provided excellence in academics; even more important, there is a Godly desire to teach our children how to excel spiritually in a world whose moral compass is deteriorating every day. Simply put this is a real Christian school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 79% 11%
Hispanic 9% 52%
White 8% 26%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UC irvine
UC LA
UC Riverside
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
Korean
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Glenn Duncan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (909) 468-9943

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Continuation
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • IT support

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language club: Chinese
  • Game club
  • Math club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Christ Centered Education Character Development College Preparatory Academics 80% UC acceptance 100% Top US College Acceptance
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
110
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$8000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UC irvine
UC LA
UC Riverside
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1920 South Brea Canyon Cutoff Road
Walnut, CA 91789
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 598-9733

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fairway Education Center
Rowland Heights, CA



Ivy League School
Rowland Heights, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT