Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hollingworth Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 738 students

We are best known for No Excuses University program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

As a whole, Hollingworth is an excellent school. While they factor in college education, they let them have fun and be kids. The "No Excuses University" logo is an excellent depiction, as they strive to make sure every child gets what they need in. I've never once had any office staff give me any attitude. They're always cordial to me, and help me with what I'm inquiring about. Whether I come in to the office or call early in the morning, they're always nice to me. I think one of the best things about this school is how they allow and support parents' participation in their children's education. Whether it be fundraisers so they can have more field trips/activities/ supplies/ etc. for the kids, or asking for volunteers to help out within the school hours. The principle is excellent. He is inviting to the parents, greeting us every time we see him, he's always cordial to us, I never just see him hanging out in his office. He's always outside helping with activities, and greeting parents and staff. The last time I was at the school for my son's Parent/Teacher Conference, I saw him coming back from helping with crossing guard duties.. If that's not commitment, I don't know what is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

my school is the greatest. i have my 2 sons here and i attended Hollingworth myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

My son is in Kindergarten at Hollingworth, and his cousin is a student there. I think that it is a good school academically. The teachers do a good job of both challenging and encouraging the children. The "No Excuses University" idea seems a bit vague, but the kids are excited about going to college. The principal is a good leader. A few negatives: The atmosphere is not welcoming to mothers who work outside the home. I would like to volunteer, but there seem to be no opportunities for those who can't come to school during the day. The school has many student activities during the day, and I miss out on a lot. The stay-at-home moms definitely have an "in" at the school. Also, for the school to have such a diverse population, it seems to be very "old fashioned". I was a bit uncomfortable with my son coming home with projects made for Columbus Day. I really don't see many books that celebrate the different ethnicities of the children who attend the school. And I know that all public schools are struggling, but can the school ease up on the fundraising? In sum, the school is good academically. But in certain aspects, it's more 1968 than 2011.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I too moved from the Charter Oak district and was afraid of how the schools were over here. He was supposed to go to villa corta which i did not approve of due to their location and state scores. District tried to tell me in a letter that it was a distinguished school?? How can that be when it has a score of 3 out of 10? So I did my research on greatschools.com and found Hollingworth. I couldn't be happier! Great school so far and my son loves it! Thanks Ms kim and to all the staff and teachers. Your doing a wonderful job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

We just move to West covina.My kids are coming from Whittier School District. I was afraid the reaction from my kids to a new school.Im pleased to say that my kids are very happy in Hollingworth. Principal, Mrs. Kim, is so involved and a Great leader . So far, my experience with the teachers has also been a pleasure. They are very involved with the children and seem to genuinely care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

this school is the best and it is so much fun . all the teachers are so freindly and so much fun to be around. hollingworth is amazing and super close. many kids have enjoyed and loved their teachers.teachers are so kind and they always think of new ways of learning and games that include the lesson. the teachers are so polite and thaty care so much about the children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

Hollingworth is a darling! We love everyone: Mrs Kim (Principal), Mr. Gus (VP), the front office staffs, the kindergarten teachers, and cafeteria lady--Ms Maria. My son attends K3 with Ms Vong. He had so many issues at the start of the school year, but Ms Vong has helped him outgrow his babyness, became a big kindergartner, and now a high achiever. He has excelled well in his class and has blended well with the rest of the kids. He was one of the honorees for the student of the month, and an accelerated reader as well. He has quickly made friends. There are a lot of parent involvement activities here. You can even volunteer your time to your child's classroom to help with the day's activities. We had so much fun with Hollingworth. Every time spent here is so precious. We definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Not happy with our experience with this school, it's been very unpleasant and leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

I had my kids attending Christian schools. Two were attending daycare and one was attending preschool. When my child was ready for kindergarden I called the Oswald and they told me my child was assigned to go to Hollingworth. I was outraged that I could live in Walnut but my child had to attend a Rowland school . Compared to the Walnut schools Hollingworth couldnt compete as far as appearances. I couldnt have been proven more wrong, the beauty is within. The heart and dedication that the staff, teachers, vice principle, and principle convey superceeded my expectations. Walnut schools I'm sure are competitive, but Hollingworth Elementary will always be my first choice. Keep up the great work Mrs. Kim (principle)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

This school is more than fantastic. The principal, Mrs. Kim, is one of the most involved and lead by example persons I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. She is respected and loved by all the children. So far, my experience with the teachers has also been a pleasure. They are very involved with the children and seem to genuinely care about their education as a whole, not just test scores. The school offers several programs and activities for the children, all of which they have great participation in. The PTO could use some greater parent participation, but they do a lot with the few parents that do attend. I may have to move soon, just because California is becoming so expensive, and my number one issue with moving is having to remove my child from such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

Hollingworth has a very good parent involvement program. Everyone makes you feel welcome. Great teachers and high expectations for all students. They have a beautiful library filled with on-line computers and a beautiful reading garden and a unbelievable computer lab. Foreign language is offered along with music,and sports. Teachers are willing to stay after school and help the students on their own time. I'm a parent who has 2 kids that already have gone through the school and 1 is still there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

My daughter attends Hollingworth Elementary, and I am more than satisfied with her education. Teachers are very involved in the students education, as well as us parents. The way parents and teachers work together is productive for the students. I am glad my daughter attends this school. Thank you, Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

After three children, all of whom will be Hollingworth products, I must say that this school has truly earned their claim of being one of the most outstanding schools in the district. I think this is all due to the fact that Hollingworth truly cares about their students and have always worked to give them the best possible environment for learning. I have good relations with all my kids' teachers, and they are always very accommodating. I especially like to commend their Saturday conferences. It gives busy parents, like us, the chance to meet teachers and see their classrooms. The curriculum is challenging and fun, as my kids can attest. They enjoy the activities, and they're learning at the same time. I am a busy parent , but I make it a priority to connect with this part of life. Hollingworth School makes it a lot easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

This school is definately not parent friendly and do not do enough to encourage parents to be involved. They do have a great after school reading program for those who need a little help but they offer nothing for the lower graders who need more challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Great Staff and faculty. They recently got a new principal and at first I was worried being that the previous principal did such a good job but after little time the new principal made some great changes and has made the transition as smooth as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

This is the best school in the Rowland Unified School District. Dr. Cathy Carter is the a great principal and hires only the best teachers. They truly become one of the Hollingworth family. It shows how much teachers respect each other, the partents and most importantly the students. I have been a parent at Hollingworth for 15 years. It has been a great experience for my entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

In my opinion Hollingworth is a very poorly run school. The principal is very much out only for herself. I know of many children having problems in the school, who are not getting any help. The teachers are good but they lack the support from the principal. It is such a disadvantage for the children because I know alot of them are so intelligent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

786

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

786

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females58%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate9%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students53%
Females58%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students20%
Females13%
Males26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Non-economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability20%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)9%
Parent education - college graduate29%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students45%
Females27%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females63%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino62%
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females59%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females62%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females74%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students60%
Females59%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females64%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females78%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 70%
Asian 6%
Black 6%
White 3%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Cantonese)
Korean
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Business Excellence Award (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Michael Hoon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (909) 468-9581

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Hollingworth is a Cotsen Foundation Fellowship school. The only school in the entire San Gabriel region to receive this distinction two terms in a row.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school
Middle school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Ybarra
Oswalt
Rincon
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3003 East Hollingworth Street
West Covina, CA 91792
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 598-3661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT