Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hollencrest Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

This school is okay. But i do agree that they only accept students with good grade.


Posted December 13, 2012

the only reason I put 1 star is because I have to. This has to be one of the worst schools in California. You parents should really think before you enroll them here. My kids would be better off being homeschooled. I mean I could seriously teach them more then these people do. I decided to take them out of this horrible school district. Now my kids actually have a chance of going to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

Hollencrest is a great school. the teachers are always helpful an they are more than willing to give a student extra help if they ask for it. The only thing that wasn't so great was the fact that the principal wasn't always helpful or kind to the students. But, to make up for this, the counselors, assisant principal, staff, and faculty are truly above average. The students are truly one of a kind also.


Posted June 8, 2010

The principal and staff only care about the achievers at this school and nothing more...they will drop a student who is an under achiever in a heart beat to save thier precious rating...parent beware: school only wants over achievers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I love my sons school because they have some really great teachers that really care about their students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Once my daughter started 6th grade at Hollencrest middle school she was always upset . I could not figure what was going on with her so I decided to spend the day at Hollencrest . I will never forget this day. I sat on a chair right next to her and could not believe the lack of respect these students had for the teachers as well as other students that were there to lean. In class, there were children eating candies, children were throwing potatoes chips across the room, children were walking out of class disrupting other classes and teasing other children. It was a mad house. In class, I counted 34 children per class. TOO many children to teach all at once. It was to my daughter best interest to take her out of Hollencrest. She is now more happy and not worried about being teased in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

I really like this school, but recently the lunches are becoming less enjoyable. For example, instead of putting teriyaki in the teriyaki bowls, they put popcorn chicken. However, they are also starting to give out a fruit with every lunch and everyone seems to be enjoying them. The teachers are great. They are always willing to help you. The dances keep becoming worse and worse each year. There are not as much decorations this year. There is nothing to do anymore! Our school has been raising a ton of money for Haiti and for patients with luchimia. We have many school programs such as track, soccer, cheer, basketball, softball, football, volleyball, band, ASB, jazz band and theatre. Overall I think Hollencrest is an alright school. 8/10.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I think this will be a better year for the entire school. As far as communication, ask your kid what they were given at school, if they're like my boy, I have to check his backpack or call the school if I want to know about a certain event. As for the 8th graders, they are given a 'contract' you and they have to sign regarding the 8th gr. activities coming up. If you signed it, the information/dates were on there. Luckily, this year, there's a new marquee sign.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

Since Hollencrest has new principal in 2008 school year, the communication to the parents got much less. Previous years when Mrs. Granger was principal, my child brought home school activity table monthly plus flyers often to keep parents aware what s going on at school. It is all disappeared with new principal. Even the 8th grade graduation ceremony, no notice was brought to home. I don t know when it starts. Schools always emphasize parent s involvement, but we can t participate much when we don t know what is happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I am extremely disapointed with the Assistant Principal and Principal of this school. May daughter was a 6th grader last year. I had several concerns all which I discussed with both principals to no avail. What a waste of our tax dollars and students future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

This is my daughters 3rd and last year in this or any west covina school I have raised 3 kids in this school and I must say the last 2 years have been the worst I took my daughter out of so. hills academy knowing there would be a change but wow! I am a highly involved parent yet feel that the principal simply goes through the motions when I bring up my concerns When I spoke to the councilor about it she told me sir I have 700 other kids to be concerned with Even as a parent of an honor roll child I do not feel that the school has the best interest of my child at heart I am very disappointed with the level of classes that are offered at Hollencrest too many kids allowed from out of the area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

School academics and attention to parental concerns seem to have gone down under the leadership of the new principal. Politics seem to have become more important than what is best for our children. Even as a parent of an honor roll child, I do not feel that the school has the best interest of my child at heart. I must say that I am disappointed with the level of classes that are offered at Hollencrest. I understand that Geometry is not even offered to those students that have a high aptitude in math; students must take this class at a local high school. I am a highly involved parent, yet feel that the principal simply goes through the motions when I bring up my concerns regarding the negative changes I have seen take place at Hollencrest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2003

This was my sons first year in a public scholl. Although he did fail 1-class, it was most because he was taking advantage and not making a full effort, I do feel that the school has a good structure. I look forward to a good school year 2003.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

852

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

852

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females75%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state93%

Math

All Students56%
Females55%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asian71%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females95%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate100%
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females63%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipino80%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students49%
Females41%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
Females63%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females66%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students70%
Females70%
Males70%
African American58%
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state71%

Science

All Students78%
Females77%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability77%
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 76%
Asian 9%
White 6%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 East Merced Avenue
West Covina, CA 91791
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 931-1760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

South Hills Academy
West Covina, CA



Dove Day School
West Covina, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT