Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Merced Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Our family has had a great experience at Merced Elementary. All teachers that my children have had have been very engaging with the students. The office staff are pleasant and professional. The principal is very active and interacts with the children on a daily basis. The school offers great after school programs that provide encouragement and support to keep the kids engaged and excited about school.

Merced Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
Merced school is a great school. My daughter has learned and experianced many things there. They have so many after school activities and clubs. Like student council, chess, debate, track and field, choir and many more. The teachers are awsome and would always challenge my daughter to do her best. I highly recommend Merced School.


Merced Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2010
- a parent
So far the School has been great. My daughter who is in Kinder loves going to school everyday. She actually gets depressed when the weekend comes. She loves her teacher...thinks the world of her. Though, my daughter did have some pre-k schooling...I've noticed that she started to begin to read and write words out. I think it's a great improvement. Very happy with the school and it's teachers. Only thing that I would complain about is the parking...it's pretty difficult to find parking without really disturbing residences.

Merced Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
I feel that as parents it is our responsibility to take an active roll in our children's education. Before enrolling my son in any school I did my research. I looked at the overall test scores and the student teacher ratio. I actually visited a few schools in my district and got a feel for the school, office personnel and teachers. Without a doubt Merced Elementary was terrific! The office personnel was including the principal were readily available to address my questions and concerns. My son loves going to school!!! His kindergarten teacher is on track to insure he is ready for 1st grade. I love Merced Elementary!!!

Merced Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
I have become very dissapointed with this school and principal. Principal is ok as long as you do not challenge or question anything he says. I had to take my complaint to the district in order to get any results. The principal makes up his own rules and parents are unaware of punishments that are given to children, and not for behaving badly. A lot of class time is wasted in having assemblies to remind students that you cannot be absent or you will be sent to the district attorney. We read enough about that bologna in all the threatening letters we receive at home. The district has got to be more involved in monitoring the school principles and teachers. Parents have got to unite and provide a serious wake up call to the school and district. Parent input should be considered before promoting anyone to another year.


Merced Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2007
- a parent
Quality of academic programs--programs are fair, the student/teacher ratio is poor. Parent involvement is null. There is a pta, with very minimal action for plans mapped out. Many plans sans action. Teachers are not very involved with students.

Merced Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2004
- a parent
Merced School is a great school. I myself attended this same school. My son is currently in his 4th year as a student at Merced and want to let you know that we have been very pleased with the schools overall curriculum and especially with the awesome teachers my son has been fortunate to have. The teachers take a personal interest in each child and are genuinely concerned about my childs education. I highly recommend Merced School and rank it very high as a top school in the WCUSD.

Merced Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2003
- a parent
This will be my son's second year at Merced School. I have been very pleased with school structure and curriculum. We were hesitant to put our kids' in public school, however it has all proven it's self. This is a great school and staff. Parent need to do more homework on school back ground check. This will help parents understand the target goals and who has accomplished them. Thank you to the teaching staff at Merced. You really are making a difference and building a new and strong foundation for our kids.

Nearby schools

Merced Elementary School
1545 East Merced Avenue, West Covina, CA  91791-3555
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (626) 931-1700
Last modified Merced Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top