Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Welby Way Elementary Charter School

Charter | K-5

 
 

Living in West Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $440,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

144 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

This school is just overflowing with school spirit! Last week was a week long "fitness week" at the school. Kids were encouraged to eat healthy and exercise every day. Coaches went above and beyond organizing extra activities from karate studios, cross fit gyms and college athletes visited too. Too much to mention. Kids made class banners supporting their team and points were given for sportsmanship and participation. So thankful to be part of a school that realizes physical activity is important to our kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

I used to be a teacher and am honestly VERY impressed by what a great principal we have. She really demonstrates servant-leadership. She works tirelessly to help this school get all the funds to put towards what's best. She is very wise, kind, respectful, positive & genuinely caring. People who speak negatively about her probably just didn't get their way with something and are upset. Saying that she is all about test scores means you really don't know her or have gone to any meetings offered to be more informed to make such ignorant comments. She has the utmost respect from her staff which shows a lot. Very positive & kind school environment! There are many fab teachers and some not as fab but that's in EVERY school anywhere. You make the best of it. We have such a dedicated and awesome PTA to help fund so many of the awesome programs/workers this school offers. What makes a school great is the leadership, teachers, parent involvement & curriculum...this is a great school. So grateful to have my kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

My 15 year old daughter attended Welby Way and I now have twins in 1st grade. We have very much enjoyed our years at Welby and are looking forward to our last few years there. My kids have received the best possible education with caring teachers, strong principle leadership and a very high level of parental involvement. Our PTA (POWW) is second to non and provides our students with a wide range of extra programs through fundraising and a lot of hard work and commitment to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

My kids have been at welby for a few years and our experience so far has been awesome. The teachers provide a safe and welcoming learning space that really encourages each child to think above and beyond to exceed their potential. The teachers, parent board (all heart and extremely dedicated ) and Principal Yoo are incredibly impressive. It's easy to see that the principal cares passionately about the students and staff and bonus.. Is approachable! School has always been readily available to answer questions I've had. Lots of programs offered, great pe coaches, Library, sweet nurse.... My kids are thriving and love to learn! Thanks welby way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

I have been a parent at this school for 10 years. The quality of teachers and staff is excellent and the parental involvement is much greater than other schools. My children, all with different strengths and weaknesses, enjoyed their years at Welby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

What a great school! Principal is amazing - hard working and focused on the students. Couldn't be happier. This isn't our local school so we had to apply to get and and its the best decision we've made for our 2 boys. Lots of extra activities and events. Great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

AN AMAZING SCHOOL WITH SO MANY ACTIVITIES PUSHING KIDS TO AIM FOR EXCELLENCE NOT PERFECTION BUT YOUR BEST
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Having come from another school, I disagree with the comment about test scores being the main goal. At my other school, assemblies were held to call up the students who were advanced or got a perfect score on the state tests. Banners were up about the score and the principal met with children to set test score goals. Here my daughter said they blew bubbles on the yard and chewed bubble gum on the yard for five minutes to tell the kids to relax and try their best. I came here on a permit. Parents can go to other schools now and not just the one next to their house because all schools seem to have a charter permit application now and you can apply everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

I am on my 3rd child at Welby Way and I must say this is a fantastic school. Our first born child attended another elementary school and it is like day and night. The teachers care, all students are challenged, those that need help get it, those that need advanced work get it, the administrative staff is professional and friendly, the grounds are kept looking great, my children feel safe and we have fantastic parental support. I don't think it truly gets much better and to think we are getting all of this at a public school! It will be a sad day when my last child leaves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Welby Way has been excellent for my kids! They really do try to meet each kid where they are and challenge them so they find their potential. I love that it isn't all about academics, rather, they focus on being a good citizen, being active and healthy, and being part of a (global) community. Parents are invited to participate, and there is plenty of opportunities for stay-at-home parents and working parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

I m sad to say it but I believe Welby has lost its way. The principal is blurring the line between the neighborhood school and the gifted magnet. The school is no longer a place that inspires children to reach higher but rather pushes and pressures them and they feel it all the way down to K and first. The principal s focus is on raising the test scores. In my opinion, when you are at 961 39 points from a perfect score, pushing for more isn t really about providing a good education for children but adult agendas and prestige. I got the feeling my children weren t so much people but potential test scores. First grade there completely squashed my children s natural excitement and curiosity with learning. They did learn, however, that they did not like to read, or do math, or go to school. The pressure had them stressed and burning out at 6. They are at a different school for second grade and once again I have two little boys brimming over with excitement. They love school and can t wait to share all the new things they have learned when they get home. Reading, math, and school is challenging and interesting. Leaving Welby Way was the best move we ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Most magnet parents love this school but I think they confuse assigning lots of work with actually teaching on a higher thinking level. However, we actually live here and are stuck with this school. This is not a place that creates a love or joy in learning. It is all about test scores and pressure. Welby Way thinks pushing children really hard and assigning tons of homework (which the parents have to show them how to do) equals educating a child. If this principal had been here when we were buying our house, we would have moved to another school. My children's excitement and curiosity about learning has been completely stifled. I would put them in another school but the district doesn't let you transfer. I had hoped for and expected so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2013

Great school, good teachers & Principal. Especially for advanced kids. Moved my child here for second grade after 2 years in another good school, but Welby Way fit much more if your child is ahead in reading & math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

Too much hype for this school. Teachers are very rude and partial and do not encourage all the kids evenly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

It's difficult to assess Welby Way fairly. It is, in fact, two schools on one campus: a resident school and a gifted/high ability magnet school. You wouldn't know that from the test scores because the two school's scores are blended. And a casual walk around the campus would show resident and magnet classrooms side by side. The reviews here are largely from Magnet parents. Across the board, Welby Magnet parents are happier with the school than are the Resident school parents. That said, if you're child is naturally high achieving, then you will probably like the school a great deal. If your child struggles at all or has an unusual learning style, your experience at Welby is likely to be uneven. My experience was that the teachers and administrators don't have a very effective game plan for bringing the best out of students who don't come labeled "gifted." The principal has also opened the resident school to SAS (gifted and talented) students from other areas further tipping to focus of the school toward kids who would likely bloom wherever planted. I was a very involved parent, and my child was happy there. But if I had to do it all again, I would chose a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I have had 2 kids go through Welby Way and it has been a mostly good experience. We magneted in for 2nd grade with both kids, and they did really well. The teachers are hit and miss - most are amazing, 1 or 2 leave a lot to be desired. We got one of these teachers for 3rd grade magnet last year. After listening to her speak at parent night, I asked to have my child transferred to another class to no avail. I asked twice during the year, also to no avail. The Magnet coordinator and Principal wouldn't move my child, insisting there wasn't room in any other class (I noticed several new kids starting in other magnet classes throughout the year. No room, huh?). They assured me that this teacher's test scores were very high, so she must be good. Her test scores are high because she has a bunch of high-acheivers whose parents value education, send their kids for tutoring, and help them constantly. On a happier note, I can't say enough good things about the good teachers and great experiences Welby Way offers such as field trips, science fairs, and special days they have for all grades. Overall a very good school. It's just hard when the staff won't do anything to help your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Awesome school.. amazing parent involvement.. my son is in the magnet program and loving it. The teachers are so dedicated and make learning fun. Very happy to be part of the Welby community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Amazing school! We applied to just about every good private, magnet, and charter school we could for Kinder, but then we moved to West Hills and ended up at Welby by default. I hadn't toured the school and knew very little about it other than its test scores, so I was nervous. My son is now 1st grade Magnet, and I can say that this is one of the very best schools, public or private, in Los Angeles. The Principal and staff seem to love what they do, and they run a very tight ship. Teachers are dedicated, creative, and overall outstanding. Parent involvement is excellent. Diversity is excellent. It is definitely a rigorous academic environment, which worried me at first because I'm a very touchy-feely person, but I see Welby's high standards paying off in my kid, who LOVES his teachers and is learning like crazy. Welby is truly the best of both private school and public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

Great school and great teachers! Our son is in the Magnet program and we couldn't be happier with the choice that we made to enroll him in this school. Looking forward to 4th grade! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

My son just culminated from the 5th grade magnet program after 4 years of attending the school. The teachers, staff, and parent involvement at Welby Way is outstanding. To attend this school is to be part of a community, and it was the best choice we could have made for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

961

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

961

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females95%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females92%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females83%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females91%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate98%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females97%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state100%

Math

All Students94%
Females97%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females95%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females95%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students93%
Females95%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)91%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Asian 33%
Hispanic 12%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 1076 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
74%
 

Students

This school

 
80%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
94%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
89%
 

Employees

This school

 
98%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
86%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
94%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 

Employees

This school

 
89%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
83%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
69%
 

Employees

This school

 
96%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
88%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
88%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents58384%
Students46298%
Employees3146%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23456 Welby Way
West Hills, CA 91307
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 348-1975

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Orange School
Los Angeles, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT