Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-6
Private
West Hollywood, CA
Students enrolled: 419
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Center For Early Education 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a community member
My school, the Center for Early Education, is the most warm hearted, diverse, cultural, amazing, magical, place I have ever been to. Each student engages with their classmates as if siblings that have known eachother since day 1. The faculty and staff are beyond extraordinary and are recognized for their wonderful efforts to make the school a more warm and welcoming place. Anyone would be beyond lucky to have a chance to be apart of the Center's community, and I can definitely say I am beyond thankful to be one of them. :)

The Center For Early Education 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
My son went here from K-6 and had the time of his life! He was on a partial scholarship, but did not feel different or left out of anything. He was popular, loved by his teachers, and was selected for advanced enrichment so when he entered a prestigious middle school he was placed in 8th grade classes -- all of this after the school discovered a learning disability in 1st grade. I think parents who boohoo the social inequalities of the families who go to this school are missing the point -- this is a school for the children, not a country club for the parents. Don't be impressing your insecurities onto your children.


The Center For Early Education 1

Posted January 03, 2013
- a parent
The school's academics are below average, the playground feels like juvie, but at least my kids learned at an early age how cold and condescending other children can be. CEE is all about money, and not about nurturing in any way. And here's the irony If you have money, you don't need the school's connections, and if you don't have money, they won't do anything for you anyway. Feel free to ignore many, perhaps most, of the positive reviews here, even those posted anonymously. Reveta actually encourages parents to write positive reviews on these websites, and we are quick to comply and report back to her to earn brownie points. I'm embarrassed to say one of the 5 star reviews praising the "diversity" is actually by me. How's this for diversity -- the school asks for 100% participation in the Annual Fund Drive, but then goes ahead and publicizes the amount each family gives! Very embarrassing! (for someone who had two kids there on partial scholarships).

The Center For Early Education 2

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
There's a reason we used to jokingly call it *Center for Early Materialism*. Be warned. If your child is *different* in any way, she will suffer here. If she doesn't care about money or being stylish, she will suffer here. And just like me, you won't say a word, because you want her to get into Harvard-Westlake. She did get in (the Hudnut connection), and that's why I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. But the price you pay is huge -- an unhappy childhood. Trust your instincts about this place. I didn't.

The Center For Early Education 5

Posted June 24, 2010
- a parent
As far as private schools in Los Angeles go, it's definitely one of the most ethnically and economically diverse. The teachers, staff, and head of school are oustanding! The school community provides a very nuturing environment for young children and really fosters self-esteem and independence. For the most part, parents in this school may be some of the biggest movers and shakers or wealthiest people in LA (or often not), but they are generally pretty normal, grounded people as well who happen to share the school's vision. Our children have blossomed here and we feel very fortunate to be a part of this community.


The Center For Early Education 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
This school consistantly turns out young people who are creative, smart and very socially adept.

The Center For Early Education 5

Posted December 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

The Center For Early Education 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


The Center For Early Education 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This school made my daughter so happy for so many years. Difficult to get into, it completely pays off. The cliques form in 4th grade, as do the puberty talks. You will meet billionaire parents, and you will meet the average financial support parent.

The Center For Early Education 1

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
This school does not live up to its reputation. Unless your child is naturally gifted in academics, s/he will suffer here. CEE separates the children in groups based on how they feel they measure up. CEE says the kids don't know the difference between the groups, but of course they do! This has a tremendous impact on their self esteem and devalues their efforts. CEE does not value the differing talents and abilities that children have. And the fundraising is relentless!
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Center For Early Education
563 North Alfred Street, West Hollywood, CA  90048
(323) 651-0707
Last modified The Center For Early Education is a Private school that serves grades K-6
The Center For Early Education Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top