Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Jude The Apostle

Private | K-8 | 257 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Westlake Village

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $629,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Recently selected school for our child. Feel as though interest is more on social status and not on strong academic focus. If only school supported students as much as they focus on auction and fundraising. Learned recently of bullying and weak measures admin takes When dealing with serious issues on campus. Unsure of homework and testing policies in place. Tests always seem only on Fridays - teachers don't talk with families or students. Room for great improvement. Many good schools in area - would take due diligence before Enrolling in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

School is great for families. Academic focused school. Principal changes through the many years have been an adjustment. Teachers care about students. Some classes could be divided into two classes. Parent involvement required and giving donations is requested often. School does not have the best recess area for young and older students. Overall a good school and teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

Our second child is just about to graduate from SJS. Both of them spent their entire elementary and middle-school academic careers at St Jude's and they have enjoyed it tremendously. The basic skills they have learned from the quality staff has made them very successful students. Our oldest has just been accepted to an elite college on the east coast and our youngest is heading off to the high school she has selected, enrolled in all honors and CP classes. She also has eyes on the Ivy League and law school. St Jude's has truly prepared our children for the future. Beyond the academia, the school prepares the children for life in modern society. Using faith as a back drop, it teaches the children to be kind, loving and supportive members of the community. Even after leaving the school, our oldest has remained involved in the church and the community as an active problem solver and volunteer making a difference in others lives. That is the quality of children that St Jude's produces. We highly recommend the school to anyone looking for a quality education based on making your child a good catholic in today's world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

We decided to send our three children to St. Jude's for a number of reasons. Daily faith formation and moral structure, student academics and accountabiiity and a strong bond of families are some of the main reasons. Our oldest is a freshman at a private college prep high school with very challenging academics and I am proud to say that St. Jude has prepared her very well. The teachers at St. Jude are very dedicated and highly qualified. There is a special bond between all the students, teacher and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

While no academic structure is perfect, St. Jude the Apostle School's academics are equal to, if not better than other same-size Catholic schools in the area. However, what differentiates our school from the rest is the feeling of camaraderie among the families, the spirit of teamwork and naturally the great teachers we have. Students who have graduated from SJS have excelled elsewhere and that's a fact. Of course, we are always striving to do better and it takes a whole community to do that. We're doing it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Currently 3 of my children attend SJS. My eldest daughter graduated from St. Jude's two years ago. She misses the daily interaction she had with both faculty and students. She describes her experience at St. Jude's as the 'best time of her life.' I currently have 2 middle schoolers that are being prepared to enter high school. In addition, I have a Kindergartener that is enjoying the relationships she is making. She also is being well prepared to enter 1st grade by her 2 loving teachers. Recently I joined the staff at SJS. I am enjoying getting to know the students and staff. I look forward to my family's future experiences at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

We have three children who attend St. Jude Parish School. From the first day our oldest entered St. Jude there was a feeling of community, where I knew my first born would be able to grow not only academically but spiritually. That is really what it is all about isn t it? Our parish school offers a wonderful education, complimented with daily living out our Gospel message. St. Jude school is a collaborative effort among parents, students, faculty, staff, administration, and of course priests. This is the foundation we choose for our children because we believe it is the jumping stone for their whole lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

The reason we came to St. Jude's was for faith formation, and we have not been disappointed. The pastor and the principal make God's love accessible and real to the children of our school and parish. What has surprised us, is the amount of individual attention provided by our children's teachers. Every teacher (and assistant teacher) we have demonstrates sincere personal interest in our children's academic, social and physical well-being. It is remarkable that teachers in a classroom setting could know their individual students so well. Our three children tell us often how much they love their school and we are lucky to part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

I currently have 3 children at St. Judes, as well as 2 older children who graduated from the school. At St. Jude's, my children have found a loving environment that has encouraged them to develop both intellectually and spiritually. We have several staff members who are current or former parents/grandparents of students at the school. There is truly a family environment at the school, with younger siblings feeling a part of the school long before they start Kindergarten. My older children have successfully gone onto an extemely academic Catholic college prep high school in the area. Last year, a large number of our 8th graders were accepted with honors to this high school and have done very well in their honors classes this year. While no school is perfect, the administration, the staff and the PTG are contantly working together to make St. Jude's the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I am a former teacher, the current librarian, and have two granchildren who attend SJS. The environment is loving and nurturing, and the students receive an excellent, well-rounded education. In fact, all of our current 8th graders were accepted into the Catholic high school of their choice. During my longs teaching career, I have worked for many principals. Our current principal truly has the best interest of each child at hearat. I enjoy working for him and at SJS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2008

My two children attend SJS because the school's educational and spiritual environment mirrors our family's values. The administration, faculty, staff and school families form a unique family that supports and encourages each other. I am extremely pleased with the quality of the education offered at SJS, and feel that the administration is responsive and caring. Obviously, every school is not going to be the perfect fit for every student (or Parent). My family is proud to be a part of the SJS community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

St. Jude School is a very small school with a lot of big problems. The principal is very weak, does not inforce discipline. The staff is very frustrated with the principal's response to continuing issues at the school and the parents are tired of their concerns being completely ignored. If you are looking for a small school for your child, look somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

Besides from being an amazing school academically and spiritually, the thing that makes St. Jude the Apostle School stand out above the rest is it's true 'family' atmosphere. The faculty, staff, parents and students are such a community and that is something you can't buy. We are blessed to have our children attend SJS and we as their parents are blessed to be part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I am a former parent and now the school secretary. I have seen the school grow from the beginning to the present. The school has grown and become a wonderful school with great teacher and a wonderful support of parents. The children get a well rounded education with sports, music, computers, art, etc.


Posted March 14, 2007

The school is great academically. We had our three children attend the school and they all have excelled academically. The school provides the right challenge for students. Extracurricular activities are good with multiple clubs and athlectic programs available for children in grades 5 and above. The principal is readily available to handle any disciplinary issues, etc. Parent involvement on the other hand leaves a lot to be desired. There are parent 'clicks' in every grade and is generally difficult to become part of this group. Teachers support this structure by allowing the same room parents to move from grade to grade as children get older. This is the only negative issue we encountered at the school. If this was corrected it will make it a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 26%
Hispanic 4% 52%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fr. James Stehly
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32036 Lindero Canyon Road
Westlake Village, CA 91361
Phone: (818) 889-9483

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

White Oak Elementary School
Westlake Village, CA


Kindercare Learning Center
Westlake Village, CA


Veritas Hall School
Westlake Village, CA


River Oaks Academy
Westlake Village, CA


Alexandria Academy, The
Westlake Village, CA


Malibu Cove Private
Westlake Village, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT