Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Private
Westlake Village, CA
Students enrolled: 257
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Saint Jude The Apostle 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
Our son attended St. Jude for middle school. I couldn't possible say enough positive things about this school. The middle school teachers are simply the best I have ever experienced. The literature selected is always new, fresh, engaging and most importantly, relevant to the students. Instead of "bible thumping," as many religious schools do, the kids do journal writing and reflect on morals and values. Current events across the globe are discussed almost on a daily basis. These teachers are connected to their students in everyway. I wish we would have discovered St. Jude much earlier. It seems that every teacher our son has had since, we have measured next to the standards that were set at this school, and most pale in comparison.

Saint Jude The Apostle 1

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
Recently selected school for our child. Feel as though interest is more on social status and not on strong academic focus. If only school supported students as much as they focus on auction and fundraising. Learned recently of bullying and weak measures admin takes When dealing with serious issues on campus. Unsure of homework and testing policies in place. Tests always seem only on Fridays - teachers don't talk with families or students. Room for great improvement. Many good schools in area - would take due diligence before Enrolling in the school.


Saint Jude The Apostle 4

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
School is great for families. Academic focused school. Principal changes through the many years have been an adjustment. Teachers care about students. Some classes could be divided into two classes. Parent involvement required and giving donations is requested often. School does not have the best recess area for young and older students. Overall a good school and teaching staff.

Saint Jude The Apostle 5

Posted April 08, 2011
- a parent
Our second child is just about to graduate from SJS. Both of them spent their entire elementary and middle-school academic careers at St Jude's and they have enjoyed it tremendously. The basic skills they have learned from the quality staff has made them very successful students. Our oldest has just been accepted to an elite college on the east coast and our youngest is heading off to the high school she has selected, enrolled in all honors and CP classes. She also has eyes on the Ivy League and law school. St Jude's has truly prepared our children for the future. Beyond the academia, the school prepares the children for life in modern society. Using faith as a back drop, it teaches the children to be kind, loving and supportive members of the community. Even after leaving the school, our oldest has remained involved in the church and the community as an active problem solver and volunteer making a difference in others lives. That is the quality of children that St Jude's produces. We highly recommend the school to anyone looking for a quality education based on making your child a good catholic in today's world.

Saint Jude The Apostle 5

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
We decided to send our three children to St. Jude's for a number of reasons. Daily faith formation and moral structure, student academics and accountabiiity and a strong bond of families are some of the main reasons. Our oldest is a freshman at a private college prep high school with very challenging academics and I am proud to say that St. Jude has prepared her very well. The teachers at St. Jude are very dedicated and highly qualified. There is a special bond between all the students, teacher and faculty.


Saint Jude The Apostle
no rating

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
While no academic structure is perfect, St. Jude the Apostle School's academics are equal to, if not better than other same-size Catholic schools in the area. However, what differentiates our school from the rest is the feeling of camaraderie among the families, the spirit of teamwork and naturally the great teachers we have. Students who have graduated from SJS have excelled elsewhere and that's a fact. Of course, we are always striving to do better and it takes a whole community to do that. We're doing it!

Saint Jude The Apostle
no rating

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
Currently 3 of my children attend SJS. My eldest daughter graduated from St. Jude's two years ago. She misses the daily interaction she had with both faculty and students. She describes her experience at St. Jude's as the 'best time of her life.' I currently have 2 middle schoolers that are being prepared to enter high school. In addition, I have a Kindergartener that is enjoying the relationships she is making. She also is being well prepared to enter 1st grade by her 2 loving teachers. Recently I joined the staff at SJS. I am enjoying getting to know the students and staff. I look forward to my family's future experiences at the school.

Saint Jude The Apostle
no rating

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
We have three children who attend St. Jude Parish School. From the first day our oldest entered St. Jude there was a feeling of community, where I knew my first born would be able to grow not only academically but spiritually. That is really what it is all about isn t it? Our parish school offers a wonderful education, complimented with daily living out our Gospel message. St. Jude school is a collaborative effort among parents, students, faculty, staff, administration, and of course priests. This is the foundation we choose for our children because we believe it is the jumping stone for their whole lives.


Saint Jude The Apostle 5

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
The reason we came to St. Jude's was for faith formation, and we have not been disappointed. The pastor and the principal make God's love accessible and real to the children of our school and parish. What has surprised us, is the amount of individual attention provided by our children's teachers. Every teacher (and assistant teacher) we have demonstrates sincere personal interest in our children's academic, social and physical well-being. It is remarkable that teachers in a classroom setting could know their individual students so well. Our three children tell us often how much they love their school and we are lucky to part of this community.

Saint Jude The Apostle
no rating

Posted March 29, 2008
- a parent
I currently have 3 children at St. Judes, as well as 2 older children who graduated from the school. At St. Jude's, my children have found a loving environment that has encouraged them to develop both intellectually and spiritually. We have several staff members who are current or former parents/grandparents of students at the school. There is truly a family environment at the school, with younger siblings feeling a part of the school long before they start Kindergarten. My older children have successfully gone onto an extemely academic Catholic college prep high school in the area. Last year, a large number of our 8th graders were accepted with honors to this high school and have done very well in their honors classes this year. While no school is perfect, the administration, the staff and the PTG are contantly working together to make St. Jude's the best it can be.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Jude The Apostle
32036 Lindero Canyon Road, Westlake Village, CA  91361
(818) 889-9483
Last modified Saint Jude The Apostle is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Saint Jude The Apostle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top