Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Westminster, CA
Students enrolled: 2,680
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westminster High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
I believe all of the teachers here are incompetent and lack drive to see the students succeed. It redefines coming in for 8 hours and leaving. I've tried contacting the teachers with no return response. 8 hours prior notice is required before monitoring a class. Why? It's stupid. We should be able to do surprise visits to see the lack of teaching and call them out on it.

Westminster High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
If the teachers taught the lesson properly the students would get more homework and would be more enthusiastic about it.


Westminster High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
The school overall had 60% in low test scores. I think that speaks for itself.

Westminster High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
No no no no. The teachers there don't care and neither does the administration. They lack in all areas.

Westminster High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
This school doesn't pay attention to the students long enough to care or show empathy. The office secretary at the front desk is the rudest person I've ever come in contact with.


Westminster High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
The school staff needs to have these traits in order to teach them. This school lacks in all areas.

Westminster High School 1

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
This school administration lacks follow through and respect. The attendance office never keeps track of notes provided to them. The absences always remain as truant due to the schools neglect to detail. I get non stop recorded calls every day. I've requested for the calls to stop 6 times and I still get them. The principal never returns calls after several requests and visits. The vice principal tried to give detentions to students getting picked up by parents after school. He sent formal slips home with the students. The district office knew nothing about this, nor did the principal. This school should be closely monitored by Sacramento for their unprofessional behavior and the ongoing low test scores. 60% of the students shouldn't have low test scores. This falls on the teachers for not properly educating our children. If anyone has an option, do not send your child here. Your child will not get into college from a high school like this.

Westminster High School 1

Posted April 17, 2015
- a community member
low test scores for 60% of the students...athletics have way too many walk-on coaches...administation has a high turnover rate...most classified were hired because they could speak Spanish or Vietnamese...school looks like a prison with gray bars around it


Westminster High School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
WHS has been warm friendly kind and understanding, the receptionist is doing Multitasking and has so many things going all at once, she does her job with compassion and class, the attendance secretary is very receptive and she has a keen sense of whats going on with the students she does not judge and is helpful, attendance has gone out of the way on a very busy day to make the issue i am dealing with in regards to a teenager i have been heard and understood, helped and validated by the vice principle of discipline. The school is patient with all the students, even in supervision...a much need sternness is given but i observed what I would call a great deal of love behind the disciplinary motives that came to the students who were there as i was waiting, it was very nice to see people being concerned and respectful to each other to the parents and to the students even as trouble is brewing with a student they are well trained to be an understanding sounding board.i trust WHS to care, they are very fair God be for you WHS!

Westminster High School 4

Posted December 08, 2013
- a community member
A lot of reviews might criticize this school, but if read carefully, those reviews are rating this school based on that are no longer valid to Westminster High School's current condition, such as experiences a whole decade ago. This school has many resources for its students, the problem isn't with the school, but with the students who don't try or use the resources. If WHS was to have admissions requirements and entrance exams like top schools such as Oxford Academy, then this school would be one of the best, but this method is not deemed as fair here and so the school's credibility is left in the hands of its students and demographic and I can tell most of the current teachers and staff try to help all of these students. Your high school experience is greatly differentiated by the level of classes you take too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westminster High School
14325 Goldenwest Street, Westminster, CA  92683
(714) 893-1381
Last modified Westminster High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westminster High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. Top