Advertisement
Advertisement

Bethany Christian Academy

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Westminster

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

Our oldest son started kindergarten this year and LOVES this school. He has always learned new skills quickly and at this school he is challenged to learn more and continue to keep on learning instead of staying with the pack. The parents are encouraged to help out with the classes and are given opportunities to drive for field trips, help with lunch duties, and be in the classrooms whenever needed. Our second son is currently enrolled at the preschool and adores his teachers. The preschool teachers are kind and gentle and loving and the students are given many opportunities to play and learn through creative play. We can't wait until our youngest son is old enough to attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

I attended Bethany Christian Academy for seven years, 2nd grade through 8th grade. I feel I got a great education there! I came from a public school that had a classroom attendance of 40 with 1 teacher. It took some of my second grade year to get caught up, to eventually be grades ahead of the national average. My three girls now attend Bethany. One has special needs and has received great attention, and because of it is at or ahead of where she should be for her grade. My middle child is also ahead of her grade level. They both love their friends and are loved by the teachers. The third is in the preschool (Bethany Christian Preschool) and already knows how to spell her name and is beginning to read. She is ready for kindergarten according to state standards and just turned 4. Enough said, we love Bethany!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

For 10 years my children have been at Bethany. One year I had to put them in a public school due to financial troubles, but I quickly had them back at BCA the next year. I could write pages about why I prefer BCA over the public school, but the biggest is the individual attention the students receive. The smaller class sizes aren't the only reason - The teachers just honestly are more caring and attentive. They pray for & love our kids and really get to know them. At one point when my oldest son was struggling, I would get daily emails from the teachers regarding his progress. My 5th grader has computer class daily and helps me with commands when I'm typing a document! Also, their tuition seems to be lower than other local Christian schools. As a struggling single mom, I can tell you it is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My son attended Bethany age 2 (at the pre-school) and K through 8th grade at the academy. Bethany prepared him for a successful high school and now college career. He not only had access to high academic learning, but has made life long Christian friendships. Bethany helped my son develop a good character, strong mind and good morals. The extra curricular activities in addition to learning makes Bethany a well rounded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

The preschool is under a new director and she has made big changes. The school is moving more toward academics and developmental learning. My daughter is in the 3 year olds class and is writing her name and learning to read many words. I love this school and I am impressed with the creative activities my daughter gets to do regularly. I feel like this school does a good job partnering with parents to make sure each child is successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

This school exceeds your expectations. The teachers are wonderful and caring. Most have credentials or masters degrees. The curriculum is excellent. They have so many extra curricular activities like drill team, sports, music and plays. All students have computer classes and pe. It's a place i highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

It's a wonderful school and a good value for your money. The staff is caring and the teaching methods are excellent. Four of my grandchildren have been students at Bethany and I am so glad they were! The extra activities are also great: art classes, cheerleading, sports, etc.


Posted May 7, 2008

The school implemented a Spanish elective this year and I heared that they school will be inplementing a Drama elective next year. The school is continously offering more and more to its students. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

i was a former student at this school. it was the best 8 years of my life, i feel. and i made many life long friends here because of the small class sizes. i got a lot of one on one tome with the teacher and it really feels as if they are your second family. the staff for after school is also very helpful and nice. over all i feel that graduating from here was a good idea because the subjects and curriculums i learned here really help me now in high school. a
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2007

Both my children attended Bethany Christian Academy Kindergarten through 8th grade. It has been the best investment my husband and I have ever made. In additon to an excellent education, the foundations of their spiritual, biblical values and beliefs were engraved in their lives. Every teacher led them to a deeper commitment to God and encouraged them in their walk with Him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

I think the school is great! My kindergartener is learning things my niece and nephew are learning in 3rd grade in public school. I am also very happy with the spiritual teaching she is receiving, it's more than just learning verses. I highly recommend BCA to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

This is a wonderful school that offers a great education plus spiritual guidance, as well. Three kids in our family have gone to this school and we have been very satisfied with the quality of curriculum. The staff is pleasant and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

Great school! kind and loving staff, teachers and principal. Very supportive kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

The programs for this school is wonderful. They have great sports porgrams and are open to help from parents at all times. There is a wonderful commeraderie between parent and teacher with this school. I highly recomment it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

I have three boys of which two attend public school and my youngest this school. We sent the youngest there because after we paid for the daycare before/after school it was only a very minimal difference and he was given full-day kindergarten with aides with 21:1 student/teacher ratio versus a few hours with upwards of 30 students at the public school. He has just blossomed and exceeded my academic expectations learning cursive and reading at a 3rd grade level without pressure. Another wonderful thing for a working mother is that the homework is age appropriate compared to the public school where I felt like the parents were doing all the teaching at home every night. Our son is also being nutured in his relationship with God. Yes, it is more costly than a public education but I really think it is so worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

The school has a great music program including musicals, handbells and recorders(second grade), keyboards(6th-8th grade). The school has also just completed a new building for the Jr. High which includes a computer lab containing 22 new computers. Sports & extracurricular activities include: drill team, puppetry, speech meet, spelling bee, volleyball, softball, soccer, basketball, and football. The school uses several curriculums: ACSI, Bob Jones and ABeka. curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

My daughter attended this school for 3 years. If you have a child who learns quickly, he/she will do very well here. Academic standards are high, as well as behavior standards. More recently, they have started a program to help children who struggle. As with any school, there is good and bad; therefore, you must consider the needs of your child and weigh them with what the school offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 56%
Hispanic 16%
Asian 15%
Black 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13431 Edwards Street
Westminster, CA 92683
Phone: (714) 891-9783

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Finley Elementary School
Westminster, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT