Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Colima Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 23, 2014

I have encountered a mix of experiences here, but nothing stood out as much as the demeanor of a teacher a few weeks back. It shocked me to have witnessed a teacher approach a parent yelling, literally yelling, when the individual was simply standing with the rest of us parents waiting for our children to be released. It was so disrespectful and unprofessional, and to treat someone that way in front of children?! Simply mind blowing. If this occurs outside in front of everyone, I can only imagine what she displays in her classroom to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2014

I absolutely love La Colima. So much that I'm shocked at what some of the others have stated. I feel that there will always be the "dramatic" parent to post something negative no matter where you go. The teachers, the activities, and the involvement are beyond up to par and my children are the happiest they've ever been with their friends and teachers. Way to go La Colima Owls!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2014

very disappointed with this school my son has high functioning autism and none of the teachers or staff are qualified to care for him going to change his school they never had a behavioral plan for him in his IEP i have been told by the state board that i can open up a case for failing to properly help my child so over all the drama the teachers and staff create, its as if there job is to gossip with each other and forget that they are there to help our children so sad i would not recommend this school to anybody and i live on the same street as this school i would not even give them 1 star
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2014

After reading the lasted post by a parent dated June 18, 2014, I feel sad. I feel sad that this parent and child have had such a bad experience. This is my second year at La Colima as a parent and I have to say I have had such a great experience and such great communication with my children's teachers. I commend the Principal for her hard work and I have seen her first hand put the children first. Yes, although the scoring has dropped tremendously, I know that the Principal, teachers/staff are working hard to help turn that around. Standards have been changed in the last two years so that has had an impact as well. Sometimes due to budget cuts, teaches have been replaced and other elements which are out of their control. I am willing to be patient and work WITH my children's teachers to ensure my children get the best education. It takes a team to make everything work, whether at home, school or work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

It seems as though the level of quality has down spiraled since the last reviews. I have yet to experience a high level of satisfaction from La Colima. My child has attended 3 school years here and none of the teachers have come close to providing the level of education that a child deserves. We have had everything from a student substitute becoming a permanent teacher for the remainder of the school year and not having a clue of how to manage a classroom, a 5th grade teacher newly teaching 1st grade and having constant outbursts at the 6 & 7 year olds, a teacher who picked on my child the entire school year in numerous ways making the schools year dreadful for both parent and child, and a principal who does nothing when parental concerns are expressed. My advice to parents is, if your child is expressing a teacher being untrue about a given situation; get to the bottom of it. Based on personal experience, I witnessed the teacher lying numerous times and contradicting her word. I cannot express how disillusioned I am of this school and the staff that we as parents, trust with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

This school is great! it has a good study envinronment with teachers, principal and staff being friendly and they're focus on the best they can do for the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I attended La Colima 45 years ago, and it makes me smile to see the same positive attitudes that affected me years ago are still in place there. I recall caring teachers, kind yet firm staff, and overall a very positive experience. I sincerely hope that in decades to come, today's students will feel the same nostalgia I still do for the little school that left me with a love of learning and a certainty that the people there helped me find my way to college and beyond. --Paula Robinson, Cincinnati, OH


Posted July 2, 2009

I think it is a awsome school. The staff has helped my son with ADD and he has thrived so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

I have been an involved parent at La Colima since 2004. I can honestly say this school far surpassed my expectations and it better served my 2 children educationally then previous private schools ever did. The principal and teachers are very involved with the success of each student, and every year they constantly strive to make things better. The PTA is very active making this an excellent school for any child and parent to be involved in. This is my daughters last year here, and I will miss all friendly faces of staff and parents alike. There is no perfect school, but as an involved parent, I know that this school is a step above the rest! Dyan Robles
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Inconsistent CA standards; school readily accomadate students--for a brief period--then the whole process starts again--exhausting for a parent with a child with special needs--I couldn't ever just trust week-week that his IEP would be followed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

the staff of la colima is awesome. my child loves to go to school everyday with is friends and loves his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

I like the school and the environment it presents for my 2 children that attend the school. All of their teachers have been very involved and we have gotten to know them and interact with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2005

I have nothing but 'Great' things to say about our family's experience with La Colima. I've had 3 kids attend and all of them have had teachers that want nothing but the best for the children and do whatever it takes to make sure they succeed. This is definatley a parent involved school that is lead by a great PTA. Wish all the best to the school staff since this is our last year at LA colima.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

845

Change from
2012 to 2013

-25

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

845

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-25

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females84%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females77%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability73%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner84%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females58%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females74%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate70%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females74%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate74%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females64%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females71%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Females57%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students54%
Females65%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 92%
White 6%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
English language learners 31%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Elisa Clarke
Fax number
  • (562) 944-0062

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11225 Miller Road
Whittier, CA 90604
Website: Click here
Phone: (562) 789-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Walker Academy
Whittier, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT