Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
This school has amazing leadership and a wonderful staff. It has a child-centered philosophy with a very involved parent community. They offer a number of elective courses including Art, 3D Design, Band, Percussion, Choir, Careers in Technology, Drama, Leadership, Sports Agility. After-school activities are also available including Competitive Drum Line, Show Choir, Science Olympiad, Jr. Achievement, and after-school sports in volleyball, basketball, and soccer. Free tutoring is available before and after school which is awesome! The students at Rancho are exposed to the latest technology while receiving an education that is grounded in traditional and proven methods of instruction. The staff places a high priority in developing responsible citizens through Character Education and REACH (Responsibility|Effort| Attitude|Character|Honor). Through this program, they emphasize the importance of each of these themes and recognize students for their achievement and good citizenship. The students success is important to all. They set high standards and the students achieve them. This school was selected as a 2013 California Distinguished school with an API of 865.

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
My son is doing very well at Rancho and he loves the staff there. We are really impressed with the school overall.


Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted August 17, 2010
- a parent
I couldn't have asked for a better experience! My son was challenged in his work, the teachers updated the website with grades often so I always knew what my son's current grade was (and so did he), and the principal sent out messages by phone on a regular basis to notify, remind, and keep you informed of everything going on. The REACH card allowed students to do things like bump up a quiz grade, excuse a homework assignment, be first in line for food, etc. which was an excellent way to reward those who had achieved a good GPA -- a wonderful incentive for students to do their best. The principal really knows how to successfully run a school filled with more teenagers than most of us would ever want to be around, and her staff follows in her footsteps to make sure the kids are learning.

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
i love this school especially the staff that work there and it is such a good place to learn and i am happy that i go here

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a student
i love rancho! the REACH assembles are awesome!!!!!!!


Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
Very impressed with the school overall, but especially the principal.

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted August 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
It was a great experience for both my child and for me as a parent. Thank you staff for two great years.


Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 5

Posted July 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School 1

Posted April 12, 2009
- a parent
This School has no manners, they are rude and show their kids disrespect. They have teachers that are very disorganized and forgetful. They need to have better quality leadership!!!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School
16430 Woodbrier Drive, Whittier, CA  90604
(562) 902-4261
Last modified Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rancho-Starbuck Intermediate School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top