Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Whittier, CA
Students enrolled: 502
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
This is the most amazing school! I am very proud to send my child to Andrews and very excited that it is expanding to become a K-8 Learning Academy. The staff is excellent and will go out of their way to help any child or family. Congratulations Andrews on being named a National Blue Ribbon School. So well deserved!!!

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
As parent & former alum student as well this school is a hidden gem in our community. Andrews strive to motivate, encourage and teach our students to be future thinkers, learners and leaders. Teachers and staff are welcoming to parents. School events are inclusive to everyone around the community.


Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
This school is overall a great school my kids have been going to this school for the 20 years and it gets better year after year. Teachers are great Principals do care about the students and the well being of the school. And the school also involves like my favorite the dad and daughter dance and or the mom and son trip to the Castle Park. they should have a dance for son and mom as well I think it would be fun

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 4

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
I just moved our son to this school and I am impressed. Teachers are involved and committed as are the parents that truly understand the meaning of having a quality education. It takes a village to raise a child and this school has proven that not only should the school and teachers be involved, but they also point out that parents should volunteer and be aware of their child's education.

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2013
- a parent
I moved to Andrews Elementary from another school in the WCSD and could not have made a better choice. The teachers, staff and student body is superb! The community and school work together to ensure that Andrews is always doing its best for the children. We could not be happier having our 3 children call themselves Andrews Wildcats!! Great school! Great Staff! Great community! Great choice!!


Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
Andrews is a great school! The teachers, principal, students, and families are a true community. The teachers and principal are committed to high standards and excellence. There are lots of ways parents can be involved and the parents are so friendly here. If you need anything, the school is there! We love Andrews!

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loves the school. The school administration is helpful. The community environment is friendly and parents are awesome. I truly appreciate the teachers taking a genuine concern for all children. The API scores for last year was 858 and that was a significant jump from the previous year. The school is truly one of a kind.

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
We love Andrews School! Our children have been here since kindergarten and we cannot say enough great things about Andrews! The school's greatest strengths are the dedicated teachers that have huge hearts! They are the driving force that brings out the best in its students! Last year's API score of 858 is a reflection of the hard work and rigor involved at Andrews. Yes the classroom size went up and there are things that need improvement but what school isn't a work in progress? Active and dedicated parents are an important part of the school. Your child is part of a learning family that gets academic support and enrichment everyday! We highly recommend a visit to our school so that you can experience the Wildcat Learning Environment!


Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 4

Posted June 17, 2011
- a parent
Great school with lots of activities and parent involvement. Even with all these budget cuts, it is good to know there are schools like andrews that come up with ideas so that our children still get a great education.

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2011
- a community member
This school is not what it used to be. More kids in the classes and a lack of leadership make for a mix of less than desireable performance. The teachers and staff are not there for the kids as you'd expect and want. The school uniform policy will again be implemented and really there are better choices where your kids could thrive. The leadership that cared and brought the CA Disntinguished school award is now gone.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School
1010 South Caraway Drive, Whittier, CA  90601
(562) 789-3140
Last modified Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wallen L. Andrews Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top