Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lydia Jackson Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Lydia Jackson has a new principal this school year. The staff and myself completed training for AVID (Advancement via Individual Determination) right before this school year. We are working towards being certified as a AVID Academy in a couple of years. The staff is committed and has faith that each student that attends our school have the necessary foundation and faith in themselves to continue to middle school and be college ready when they graduated from High School. We have increased our score on the past California State Standards Test well over 300 points. We scored 800 and 795 for the past two reporting years. The staff is very dedicated to serving our students and community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 16, 2013

My daughter just started kindergarten here its only been her 3rd day and I already want her out (if only it was easy to transfer). My daughters teacher, I've got nothing but positive comments about. As for the principal that woman is what makes me want my daughter out,she is forever yelling the teachers even look scared of her can you imagine our children? As it is for most of these kindergartens school is new to them,they come in scared,some even crying. They want to see a nice face and be talked nice to so they can feel comfortable and a little better about staying,they dont need to see or hear this mean lady that obviously doesn't know how to speak to children yelling at everyone,people like her shouldn't be working with children..this school is not family friendly at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

My daughter was there for 3 years & did OK until she entered 3rd grade. She started failing even though I had tutors for her. I even held back from working to help her. She started acting out negatively. The teacher suggested I sign her up in counseling suggesting that is was a problem maybe at home. We attended the counseling til summer was over. I moved & now she attends Niel Armstrong Elementary. What a difference in her attitude & learning! At Lydia I heard about her failing in the last semester of school! At Armstrong I knew only 3 weeks into the school year. She brought over some bad habits from Lydia & wasn't used to her teacher at Armstrong checking her! At Lydia I made a weekly progress report to be more involved & help with My daughter, I never received the reports back. Not pointing fingers because I don't really know the problem there. I will just say that Lydia classes are over filled with students. Her teacher was not able to be as involved and my daughter barley made it through. I'm able to work p/t now too. My daughter is doing so much more better & her attitude has changed drastically. Mrs Keo 1st and Mrs Gonzalez 2nd grd were great teachers & my baby did well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

This is in regard to the parent of the two girls from the so called private school in Mexico, unless you are willing to bring up your daughters up in a plastic bubble maybe it's time to move back to that perfect private school in Mexico. My child attends Jackson I am more concerned with the fantastic education my child receives than what a person on yard duty looks like looks like. As long as the tattoos are not obscene or offensive.Children will be expose to tattoos whether it be a custodian, yard duty,parent volunteer and yes even a teacher. Keep up the good work Jackson Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My daughters have only been in this school for 3 months. They come from a bilingual private school in Mexico; it is within th 50 best schools in all the country and I have always believed that the education in the US is excellent and that my daughters can continue having the best education here, but it has been a shock for both my daughters an myself to be at Lydia Jackson. I believe that every person involved in school is a role model and having people with tatoos and peircings on their face being in charge of yard duty is not appropriate for kids at that age. I have asked for help to make the adapting process for my daughters easier but I still see no change. My girls have been picked and have lostinterest in school. I honestly do not see interest from the school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

I totally and completely agree the parents were terrible and needed some corner time, but parents aside we love my daughters kinder teacher Ms Assaad, my daughter loves to learn and is brighter everyday, we just need to work the parent thing out, because they behaved like horrible children I was really amazed, How can we change it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

My daughter is in Kinder and her teacher Ms Keo is great! She has learned so much and is challenged to learn more than expected which is great. I love the principal and think she is exactly what the school needs. We attended the winter program today and its sad that the parents listen worse than the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My daughter is in kindergarten: I like her teacher very much. I went one day and saw that the teacher started off the day with some quiet relaxing stretch exercises. This seem to calm the students down and get them ready for the day. I have put my name down to volunteer for all the classroom needs. I will start in October. I will come back and write a review on that experience. My daughter has seem to grow emensly academically since she started this school. I like that it is a small campus easier to keep track of what is going on and not to over whelming for the little ones
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

I was surprised to see that my daughters teacher was very involved and helped me stay involved. I dont know what to expect from the future teachers, however I do believe that parent involvement is crucial to the success of each student. Parent involvement is very crucial in homework if your child is going to do well. I konw that working parents have a hard time, but teachers are not baby sitters and they have a full class to have teach everyday and can not give personal attention to those students who are below average in learning capabilities. my suggestion is that phone numbers be exchanced and emails if possible to stay in contact with teachers and the progress of your child. I like this school. It struggles with money for feild trips and extra curricular activities, but over-all it is a descent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

This school has several teachers that can help u or ur child be in gate, yet,the school is very small and the principal is pretty strict. The school may not have much $ at times so dont expect many trips or programs .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I have a son who attends here and to be quite honest, I am not too happy with what this school has to offer. Being that the school is so small, I would have expected teachers, students and parents to have a tight fit bond; however that is not the case. Correct me if I'm wrong, but when I was in elementary school, there were holiday programs, fitness games (Olympics), student elections, fieldtrips and many more activities that involved both students and their parents. It just seems that the school does not make the time for extra-curricular activities; all of which provide learning and help shape a young student s school experience. To be honest, the teaching quality is, OK. I would like to see a better attempt from those in charge to incorporate a better cohesion between all parties involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

I am very unhappy with the leadership at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

My son is in kinder at this school and so far so good. Yes in years past there was a lack of parent participation but things have changed, the principal seems to be more involved with the kids, parents and teachers. The only gripe I have is that all the important monthly meetings parents need to attend have been scheduled to happen right after school, so where does that leave the working parents. I'm sure there are a few of working parents (like my self) that are not able to take the time off in the middle of the day to attend a meeting. If you want to me informed you need to attend 2 to 3 monthly meetings from the different committees in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

My daughters attended this school and I wasn't particularly happy with the principal. The level of parent involvement is extremely low as was the parent/teacher communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

795

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

795

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females44%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females64%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate72%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Females36%
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females42%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females65%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females73%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females50%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females58%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students47%
Females34%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
White 4%
Black 1%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
English language learners 37%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Salcido
Fax number
  • (562) 789-3165

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8015 South Painter Avenue
Whittier, CA 90602
Website: Click here
Phone: (562) 789-3160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT