Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,940 students|Whittier Union High
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


La Serna High School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Great School! My Husband and two daughters attended La serna High School. Wonderful staff, specially the teachers and counselors.

La Serna High School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a student
Walnut High School is much better! Go Walnut! Go to Walnut High School, a Grammy Award-Winning school in Arts and Sciences!


La Serna High School 1

Posted March 15, 2015
- a parent
La Serna enrollment notification process is making children feel unwanted. They are not efficient or prepared for new students unless the students are their own or on some kind of benefits (illegal entries into the U.S. see your own guidelines it allows this discrimination.) Legal property taxpayers kids and grandkids are denied or put on a waiting list discouraged given little hope of attending they are told they won't know until a day before school starts. My husband and children went to La Serna and now my grandson is going thru this discrimination nightmare. He is an excellent above average honor student that has worked hard, with the hope of going to La Serna now crushed. We pay more than our share of property taxes 5 properties and a business but that doesn't qualify even tho they are in the district. We need a voucher system since we paying for things others receive we do not.

La Serna High School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at la serna high school. Soon to be sophomore. And I honestly love la serna. They're so many amazing teachers and staff, I met a lot of great people. My teachers are very helpful and resourceful. I love la serna's clubs and activities. If I could go back to my freshman year and start all over, I totally would.

La Serna High School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
I feel very fortunate that my children attend(ed) La Serna. One child graduated last year and I still have one attending. There are many excellent teachers there and even a few that I and my children feel are absolutely outstanding. There is a great emphasis for all the students to reach or exceed their potential. La Serna has a very high graduation rate which speaks to the commitment that the teachers, staff and administration have to the students. They do an excellent job at trying to prepare each child for their next step after high school and most seniors go on to higher education with the knowledge and self-confidence that they can succeed. They offer many honors and AP courses for students that need that academic challenge. They also have an exceptional athletics program. Their are many opportunities for the students to be involved if they choose. There is an outreach for parent involvement through PTSA, Friends of La Serna and booster clubs for sports, band and occasionally other classes or activities. The counselors are accessible and very helpful with any concerns or problems. This is a great high school and I'm very glad that this is my children's alma mater!


La Serna High School 5

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of two children that attend La Serna, and I am quite pleased with the staff and the students my children have made friends with. I've had little interaction with the administration but I have nothing but good things to say about the teachers. One of my children struggles more than the other. When I brought this to my childs teacher's attention they were quick to address it and gave me plenty of suggestions on how to handle things at home as well. They offered ways to keep in touch with them to make sure my students are not falling behind. As a matter of fact three out of 6 teachers gave me their personal phone numbers so that I can reach them if I had questions. Sometimes parents of high school students need to be aware of everything that is going on in the classroom.

La Serna High School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
I belive that La Serna has a up scale of high standards!!! excellence to the Principle and whole staff!!!!!

La Serna High School
no rating

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
This is my sons first year @ LS. It has been a great year and he has made many new friends. All of my sons teachers are extremely helpful and have my sons best interest at heart. I have found many good families send their children to LS in which I enjoy my son making good friends with them. I feel my son is safe,and happy as it should be.


La Serna High School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
I am sorry to say that I cannot say very many positive things about this school. The office staff is friendly & helpful as are some of the teachers. Sorry not to be able to include administration or a few of the teachers who act superior and arrogantly to students & parents. They boast needlessly. A close examinatio is needed by parents.

La Serna High School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
LSHS is a school for a great education. This year is my Jr year at this school. I have been here every year so far, and will be attending next year. The school is very safe compared to others that I know of. It sets the bar when it comes to standards and learning. The teachers and staff are willing to help students and teach so that students will understand. They really do get the students to think of college and what comes after high school. That is one of the best things about my high school. Before I came to La Serna I never wanted, or even really thought about going to college and now i want to go because of the many people from La Serna opening my eyes to a new possibility. To everything La Serna has done for me I thank everyone at that school.

Nearby schools

La Serna High School
15301 East Youngwood Drive, Whittier, CA  90605-1345
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (562) 698-8121
Last modified La Serna High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top