Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whittier High School 3

Posted April 23, 2014
- a student
I think my time at WHS was ok. I definitely was unhappy a lot of the time, but the student community makes up for the failures of the school itself. Teachers overall are not that great, though a *few* AP/honors ones were great. There was a whole lot of wasted time ("English day", "Math day"...) and the administrators tended to be either rude or annoying unless you developed some kind of friendship with them (which wasn't difficult, but ALL students should feel comfortable and welcome in their school). The Guidance Office staff are excessively rude and talk a whole lot for being as busy as they say they are. The void between "honors" and AP courses and regular/CP ("college prep") courses was enormous. And either in spite of or as a result of that, the AP/honors classes were ridiculously overloaded, not just with students in general, but with students who would have fit in some intermediary between AP and CP. ASB was a farce. Didn't quite like going to school there, but I got through and wouldn't exactly suggest people send their kids elsewhere in town for school

Whittier High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Whittier H S is great!! my son has good agreats due to all trhe help he has gotten a long the way from his teachers.


Whittier High School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
I second this sentiment - I am a parent that loves this school and would recomend this school to any parent. I do admit I used to have my concerns with this school but I've noticed how much it has improved in the past few years. I do believe the principal, a WHS alumn and who has spent almost her entire career at this school, has really made the institution great. It is THE high school I would most want to send my child to in the area. As with any place, it is what you make of it, but the school wants my input and participation. That is encourageing - nothing to hide and a willingness to work on problems parents see!

Whittier High School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Whittier High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a teacher
Whittier High School is a caring, nurturing and hard working community of learners. A school community whose members, strive to improve each day, month and year!


Whittier High School 1

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Whittier High School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent that loves this school and would recomend this school to any parent. I do admit I used to have my concerns with this school but I've noticed how much it has improved in the past few years.

Whittier High School 5

Posted September 23, 2008
- a student
I think it's a great school. There's not many activities and some people are mean but you can make the best of it.


Whittier High School 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
I think this school is great. Everyone learns a lot of new things here. My child goes here and he's a junior and he's so into the activites they have here. Of course, it is very crowded but indeed it is lots of fun for them to make a lot of friends.

Whittier High School 5

Posted December 05, 2007
- a student
this is a great school for kids to get a higher education and to interact with students more.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier High School
12417 E. Philadelphia Street, Whittier, CA  90601
(562) 698-8121
Last modified Whittier High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top