Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wilmington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2010

Since my children have started at Holy Family, I have noticed that the Teachers and Staff are dedicated to them 110%. I really like the togetherness of the school family. It brings a sense of security knowing that my children are getting a good quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

Holy Family's teachers and staff make the school a great place! From day I first visited the school, I felt a sense of belonging that I quickly knew this was the place for my children. I have no regrets, eveyone is freindly and respectful of each other from the students to teachers and staff. Eveyone knows your name, I have never been in a school where the principal takes the time to stop you and say 'Hello Mrs. xxx' everytime she sees you on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

Holy Family School in Wilmington provides true value in Catholic education. All students leave Holy Family prepared for high school with a strong foundation in academics and character development. With the challenges students face today the small, nurturing and safe environment provide the students and their families peace of mind.


Posted November 2, 2009

HFS is not only a place to get an excellent eduacation, it's also a place to build strong and lasting friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Beyond its excellent educational curriculum, Holy Family with its small student body provides a tight sense of community while preparing its students to become loving well-rounded individuals.


Posted October 22, 2009

Holy Family is one of the greatest gems the city of Wilmington has. The school not only gave me a good academic start, but has fostered a sense of pride and community not common in the public school system. The children at Holy Family not only show academic success, but excel in all aspects of life, from critical thinking skills and application, to kindness, compassion, and of course, being devoted followers of Christ s philosophy. So much can be said of the staff and the extracurricular activities. In many ways, the school starts to feel like an extension of the family unit, both while enrolled and long after graduation. Optional participation church choir and academic and athletic competitions helps foster a sense of responsibility, and achievement, and provides a safe environment for children to express themselves and to play. The after school program creates a low cost safe alternative to babysitting, and provides an opportunity to do homework. It was in helping others during the after school program that I first became interested in teaching and this school is half the reason I decided to pursue a career in education. If more schools were like Holy Family, there would be no educational crisis. The best thing this school had is its sense of community and dedication to its values. Holy Family will always hold a place near and dear to my heart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

i love holy family because of all of the fun stuff we get to do and also because you get to get close with everybody students teachers and staff
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

There is a real sense of community at Holy Family and will always have a place in my heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Besides the Carmelite Sisters that were so loving and caring when I attended, I made really good friends here. It is a very tight knit school. All of my friend's families knew each other and looked out for each other. I have nothing but good memories . . .


Posted October 21, 2009

The staff and children of Holy Family School are very friendly and caring. The Principal does everything she can to provide the children with school supplies and equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

This is a great school with ample support from parents and teachers. It is a very 'family oriented' and love the fact that my child is able to get a valued education and religion at the same time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

This school is small but very good. It teaches great respect, knowledge, love, and honor. My kids are the 3rd generation going to this grammer school. We wouldn't have it any other way. Everyone is like family, they look after eachother like family would. Teachers are available to speak to anytime and the kids receive individual attention. They teach about our lord jesus christ and teach the kids respect and unconditional love for all things. I highly recommend sending your children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 100%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1122 E Robidoux St
Wilmington, CA 90744
Phone: (310) 518-1440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT