Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 103 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 5

Posted April 29, 2016
- a community member
This is the most wonderful school I could have ever imagined and echo other posters' sentiments that getting into Chime is indeed like winning the lottery. Every child- typically-developing, those with special needs, and those who are gifted- all receive individualized attention all day, every day to achieve their greatest potential, all within the most loving environment of passionate teachers and staff with the greatest education and skills themselves.

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Great school, we left our local school 5 minutes away (which probably ranked higher) to come here. Smaller class size, community feel. Teacher actually care and they are not tenured like other LAUSD schools. Huge plus, they have 80 paraprofessionals/helpers on the campus. Some getting units/credits from CSUN. No other school has this. And a brand new middle school building that actually is for 4th - 8th grade. So happy we got in. Lottery process and i think over 800 applicants for 88 spots for Kinder speaks for itself.


Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Cherniet, Ms. Leonard, Ms. Stewart, Ms. Smith Ms. Telaghani (reading lab), Dr. Studer. All go above and beyond.

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
They have bully awareness week. They talk about it in class all the time as i volunteer there. Many kids with disabilities there so the other kids are very empathetic to all types.

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
I am surprised to see some people comment that their children are not adequately challenged. My daughter has always been excited about school, and I feel that CHIME has only magnified her eagerness to learn and challenge herself. She has been described as "high achieving" and will be taking the GATE test this year. All students are seen for their individual strengths and challenges, and I am glad that their projects are flexible enough to ensure that she is adequately challenged while also reducing pressure and ensuring that there are no critical gaps in her understanding. I guess that if you are looking for a competitive atmosphere you should look elsewhere, but if you are looking for someplace to get your child excited about learning, and where they will learn to challenge themselves at any level, I think this is the right place!


Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school all around. My daughter has been there from K-4 so far and loves it. The teachers provide a great atmosphere for learning. They're supportive, nurturing, responsive, and effective for their students of all ability levels. My daughter in the bell curve, above average but not gifted. I'm happy that she's instructed alongside students of all abilities. Chime promotes and discusses their no-bullying policy, which issues awards for respect in their academic awards ceremonies for every grade. Their all-inclusive charter translates into a lower API score, so don't be overly concerned with that. Parental involvement is assumed, with homework sign off required each week so that you know what's being taught and how your kid(s) are coping with it. I know of other public schools that don't require homework sign off, which puts parents out of sync with possible struggles until grades are issued.

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 1

Posted June 07, 2014
- a teacher
Do not believe what this website or school admin is saying. The middle school portion of this school sucks. There is NO gifted or high preforming programs. If anything we are learning below our grade levels to stay up with some of our special students that can't comprehend stuff at the grade level. CHIME really needs to step up it's game because if they noticed for being an inclusion school they need to work harder to make sure the regular kids are still having a nice quiet classroom environment to work in and the correct curriculum for the grade put in. The CHIME office staff also doesn't help students with anything. There is tons of bullying that happens with these students on and off campus. The victims of all this bullying go to the principal thinking they will help and put it to an end. But because of this small school campus the principal tends to make friends with some parents, therefore never punishing the bullies because of their friendships. I've seen all this happen and there's been lots of complaints. This school doesn't live up to what they say and it is not good.

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 1

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
The Bullying at this school is out of control and NOTHING is done about it.


Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
What an amazing place! We came to Chime from a private school due to financial issues and to our surprise it was even better! My son had Mrs. Jamison and Mrs. Green for second grade. They are wonderful teachers and we are extremely grateful that they were a part of our child's life. Chime is a community of acceptance and understanding. The school incorporates learing through art, music, gardening, and imagination! We really did win the lottery!

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community 5

Posted May 27, 2012
- a community member
I love Chime so much! I go there,actually, in 5th grade. In Chime there are a lot of activities to do, like special math games and fun field trips. In every grade there is always a fun project to do, even for the special needs kids.Those kids aren't separated from us, so it's nice to get to know them. The field trips are really fun,too! In kindergarten, you go to the LA zoo,in 4th grade,the California missions.You even go to,wait for it...DISNEYLAND in 5th grade for a culmination trip!!!This school is amazing,and is now a K-8 school!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community
19722 Collier Street, Woodland Hills, CA  91364-3618
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 103 reviews. (818) 346-5100
Last modified Chime Institute's Schwarzenegger Community is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top