Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Hills Private School - Oxnard St. Campus

Private | PK-5 | 350 students

Our school is best known for its individualized and creative instruction.
 
 

 
 

Living in Woodland Hills

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $355,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

We have had a spectacular experience at this school. Our daughter went to three years of preschool here. The teachers were fun, nurturing and engaged. We looked at other public and private schools for elementary and ultimately decided to stay at WHPS. The elementary is amazing. The classes are small and each child truly gets an individualized education. The kids are in like-learner groups for reading and math, regardless of grade. This allows each child to work at their own level and be appropriately challenged. Even the homework is individualized. In addition to the standard curriculum, the students have Spanish, P.E., Computer, Barnyard, Music and Art classes beginning in Kindergarten. This school is a hidden gem--we honestly cannot believe how lucky we are to have found it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

We have been at WHPS for many years. My older son started at the school when he was 3 and is now in 4th grade. My youngest started at age 2 and is now in kindergarten. My experience with both the preschool and the elementary have been excellent! My older son has ADHD and other issues and everyone has been very helpful and understanding. I appreciate that the teachers have always been willing to work with me rather than write him off. Because of that, he is now thriving. The class size and the individual approach are what makes this school great. I can't forget to mention the wonderful teachers and staff. They are all top notch! There is also a very active parents group that brings a lot of fun activities for the children. Everyone in the community really cares about the community and that is why we have been here for so long. Keep in mind that people have different expectations. Sometimes, it's just not the right fit. This is not the fault of the school or the teachers. It's just not what the parent hoped it would be... I wish people would keep that in mind before giving low ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

We are pulling our youngest out after a month or so, my wife was ready to pull the youngest out the first day. As soon as the AuPair we arranged for gets here the youngest will be home and doing private dance, art and other things for socialization skills. Now we are looking for a new spot for our older child who just started Kindergarten. Too many issues, the teacher actually seems pretty good but the management has things going on that we don't feel are appropriate teaching techniques. We don't think our child will do well here and we are cutting our loses and moving on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Not quite sure what problem the parent below had with this school, as I have had a completely different experience - I've had a great time with my daughter at this school and absolutely love it. The teachers are amazing, all the staff are so friendly and helpful - and my daughter adores this school and is thriving amazingly. I've been very picky about schools and I am so happy with Woodland Hills Private. We've been there for two years and have never had a bad experience and I'd highly recommend it to other parents who are looking for a great start on your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Crazy that someone would say that this is a quality school. This is such a joke. Horrible staff, horrible teachers, just a poor school all the way around. Public school offers a much better education then this school could ever offer! Go somewhere else where your child has a better chance of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2010

We are very happy here. I have one child in preschool and one in the elementary school (and he did preschool at WHPS as well). The preschool is the best! As far as the elem school goes, we tried one year at a public school and couldn't wait to get back to WHPS. It is so much better! Smaller classes, amazing teachers, more and better resources, and wonderful involved parents. The academics are handled so wonderfully - kids are in small groups based on their abilities for subjects like math and reading. My son is challenged and inspired daily. It is so worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

my son has just started at this school and both our expereince with the teacher and staff has just been wonderful. there has been alot of communication on how my son is transitioning in his new class and they even make the extra effort to work with me on figuring out how to make the transition much better for my little guy. i think starting off on the right foot with this school says alot on how the rest of it will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

At woodland hills private-the preschool part, there are only select teachers that are worth having your child taught and taken care of by.... A select few of the newer teachers do not know how to handle discipline problems with the students and are are very rude to the parents when trying to discuss any problems. I would only have your child go to a class with a teacher that has been at the school 3+ years. And I would disagree with a previous post.. The teachers stand around A LOT... AND MISS A LOT OF WHAT GOES ON AT THE PLAYGROUND.. A LOT OF HITTING, PUSHING AND SPITTING. Be wary of what teacher you choose at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

Oxnard campus is the best school campus in the valley. Huge lot, lots of old shady tree, animal farm, wonderful library building. School is gated, with a single entry access. Before and after hours care is really a care, with teachers engaging children into play (not just standing around). While my child was in that school I totally sure that she is in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Very disappointed with this school. Yes, they have a lot to offer but barely any of it was executed in the class my child was in. No communication what so ever between teacher and parents, the teacher was never around when I went to pick up my child. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

This is a pretty great school, all the kids seem very happy there. Our child has been there one year, enjoys going to school and has learned so much. The grounds at the Oxnard campus are beautiful, the barnyard is a plus. The school has a great parents association and the fundraising / parent participation offers activites that make the school special. The administration at Oxnard is friendly and responsive to parents but tends to sugar-coat issues to the parent while the issue is handled behind the scenes. The turnover and classroom changes of the teaching staff seems a bit more than we would like. Overall, we are accepting of the little issues we have encountered because our child is thriving in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Love the school! It's great both socially and academically. This school feels like a second family for its students. The kids have hand on experience with computers, art, barn animals. The kids are happy, excited, busy at any time of the day. My son is having a blast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

This school has actual farm animals that the kids visit every day. It is like being in the country. Teachers are phenominal, The director is warm and caring toward the children and the parents and the kids are running around happy. We have such a positive opinion of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

Have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of academics and emotional support for my child. Real caring comes through the principal and teachers. The farm animals are great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

This is an excellent preschool. The elementary is just being built and classes are currently held in portable buildings. The program is small and working to get ahead. They are flexible and offer a nice atmosphere in which to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Excellent private School. The faculty is very helpful and care about the kids. The kids have a great time but also great academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

great. we're very happy with the staff. our son loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 11%
Black 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • LAPD and CSP Certificate of Appreciation (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Sossi Shanlian
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • WASC
Fax number
  • (818) 340-4903

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Continuation
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Gymnastics
  • Karate
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Karate
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Chaminade
Viewpoint
Sierra Canyon
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22555 Oxnard Street
Woodland Hills, CA 91367
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 348-6563

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Academy Just for Kids
Woodland Hills, CA



Hamlin Charter Academy
West Hills, CA


Child's World School
Los Angeles, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT