Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


El Camino Real Senior High School 1

Posted June 13, 2016
- a community member
This was a lousy school in the 1970's so I cannot imagine there would be any improvement with busing and all. When I attended it was full of white trash from Canoga Park. So now you get a whole mess of others from all over. What a sad predicament. Home school your children and and save them from this fate.

El Camino Real Senior High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 12, 2016
- a teacher
Thanks to Mr Dhillon, for his encouraging words and common sense approach. He's very sound.


El Camino Real Senior High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a teacher
Organizations within the school ensure that there's a place for everyone and that every member our diverse student body is respected.

El Camino Real Senior High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a teacher
The school emplys reward and discipline systems which help to develop honesty, integrity and fairness.

El Camino Real Senior High School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a teacher
I'm a teacher. I have been at El Camino for 17 years. The students I teach every day keep me going with their enthusiasm, drive and commitment to their own education. Nowhere is perfect, of course, but here, I really think we do our best to make sure all students are taken care of academically and socially. It's a huge student body, and very diverse, and therefore somewhat difficult to manage, but I chose to educate my own children here, so I don't think you can say fairer than that.


El Camino Real Senior High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Glad his counselor Mr. Grahm recommended more AP classes for him and for being a nice person.

El Camino Real Senior High School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
I'm a mother of a 10th grader who is biracial half black and white. Love the school and staff. People care. My son will be going to college after high school glad this school promotes higher education. Babbett Goss

El Camino Real Senior High School 4

Posted August 20, 2015
- a student
I am a current student at El Camino, 9th grader. It's not that crowded there, actually. I mean, there are plenty of people, but it doesn't really effect whether or not you get to class on time. It's only the 2nd week of school, and I've had seven tests. I've had to pull off plenty of all-nighters. And the Spanish curriculum pressures the teacher too much to go at a faster pace that most of the students can't keep up with the curriculum. Average amount of homework, but way too many tests. So far, this school has shown me that high school is pretty intense compared to middle school. Surprisingly, making friends here isn't that hard and (unlike what people say) the PE program isn't that tough, just 2 laps around a small basketball court. Oh, and the new music teacher is great, he actually listens to what the students have to say.


El Camino Real Senior High School 2

Posted April 11, 2015
- a parent
My son got accepted for the school year 2015-2016. I would love to read some current reviews from students and parents. Thank you. From the reviews I have read I'm giving the school 2 two stars.

El Camino Real Senior High School 1

Posted March 20, 2015
- a student
DO NOT GO HERE. As a current student, I can say it is way too over crowded and each year more and more students are accepted in. The administrators let in so many kids and only care about absences because the school is so poor. You can only take either extremely hard classes that you can barely pass and have no life with or super easy classes where you're stuck in a room with 50 obnoxious kids and a teacher who just stares at his or her computer. You are lucky if you find a genuinely nice and intelligent teacher but you can tell even they are fed up with the other staff members and students. Because we are packed together all the time, there are always fights. Whether its physical or online, thats all people talk about. The students are fake and will only say/do things that could make them "popular". You can only help El Camino academically if you can handle the crazy, rude teachers who honestly don't know how to teach. The athletic teams could be good but most of the coaches put too much pressure and have too much practice for it to be enjoyable. Also the members of the teams that do well at their games and competitions, are very cocky and look down on anyone not on their team.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Camino Real Senior High School
5440 Valley Circle Boulevard, Woodland Hills, CA  91367-5949
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. (818) 595-7500
Last modified El Camino Real Senior High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top