Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
106 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 166 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
The parents that head all these groups chose their own children to do things. They are very close minded. I am very discouraged by this. The new principal is weak and has no influence whatsoever. He wants to be liked. I even saw him hugging a staff member in the office. There is very little involvement for school wide events. It's embarrassing how the quality of this school has gone down since our last principal wiped her hands of this nonsense.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 3

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
It's great to be involved in your child's academics. I am very involved with my children's teachers. Which is the way to go. Do not get involved in the PTO aka FOS (friends of Serrania). It is headed by a middle age Caucasian woman who hands her stubby fingers in everything possible at the school. If you want to be involved do so but do not join any groups because they are filled with lots of trashy women with too much time on their hands. They are rude, low class, condescending and I am looking forward to the day when the charter committee looks into the crookedness of this school. Good day.


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted October 31, 2015
- a parent
We have a child in TK and are very pleased with both his teacher and the school. It's nice to have the TK and K children in a separate, secure yard with a great deal of natural shade. I've been up there to watch the kids play at recess and it seems like everyone gets along fairly well. We were a little nervous when we heard Serrania was getting a new principal, but Mr. Alvarado seems to have hit the ground running.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Serrania is an amazing school. It's a small school in a lovely community with a terrific principal and strong community/parent involvement. My daughter is going into her second year there and so far the staff has exceeded our expectations. Everyone goes above and beyond to make this school both academically challenging and a loving, nurturing environment. We feel very lucky to have found a gem if a school.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Imagine a parent is involved in the school and their child appears to achieve at a higher. This scenario may appear to be favoritism by the administration but studies confirm that students do better in school when their parents volunteer. The child is more confident and may be more likely to apply him or herself accordingly. That being said, there are NO guarantees and certainly NO favoritism as may be suggested in the earlier review. In fact, the parents of many of the students in Serrania's SAS program are not so active while some of the most active families are not (SAS). Placement in these programs is based on test scores and other such objective criteria. Perhaps he/she should be a better role model by taking personal responsibility for his/her child's education and less "sour grapes".


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
SCES is the best kept secret in the SFV! From the Principal to the faculty, this school is the best!!!

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
It depends on what you are looking for... If your child is not a good student, has some issues, then Serrania may not be such a bad choice because it seems like you can buy your way into the SAS program by schmoozing with the teachers and the principal. It's really disgusting. API dropped 20 points since the new leadership (both principal and the board).

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
My son got chosen into the lottery. I see a lot of mixed reviews. Can I get some feedback as I have got into a couple schools and not sure which one to top. Thanks so much.


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Serrania is back and ready to rock! When we first started three years ago, it was at a low and all because of the principal. But, with perseverance and support from amazing parents, we were able to replace her with our current principal, Mrs. Wedda. She is sweet yet stern when needed and is an absolute go-getter. She is open to suggestions and help from parents and will make sure she gets the job done; no matter how big or how small. Even the teachers like and respect her. Speaking of the teachers, we have some amazing ones that truly make a difference in our kids' lives. Hands down, we have the best teachers you can ever hope for for your kids. This past year not only did we get an amazing principal, but we also became a charter and our API score is now over 900!!! Our FOS is also another great aspect of Serrania. With the help of our parent volunteers, our kids are not lacking anything. We were able to open our science lab, art lab, computer lab and music all with the help of FOS and our Charter money. It's great to see Serrania back on top where it belongs.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
The District is one thing, the ratings here should be based on the school. Serrania is a great school and has come a long way in the last year! The new principal is fantastic - very student conscious, very parent conscious. We have a music program, art classes, PE, computer lab, dancing - lots of enrichment activities! We are about to get a new MAC computer lab and a Science Center! The sky is the limit with Serrania and I am so proud of impact we are making on the community. This is the place to be!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
5014 Serrania Avenue, Woodland Hills, CA  91364
(818) 340-6700
Last modified Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 166 reviews. Top