Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 104 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


156 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Serrania is an amazing school. It's a small school in a lovely community with a terrific principal and strong community/parent involvement. My daughter is going into her second year there and so far the staff has exceeded our expectations. Everyone goes above and beyond to make this school both academically challenging and a loving, nurturing environment. We feel very lucky to have found a gem if a school.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Imagine a parent is involved in the school and their child appears to achieve at a higher. This scenario may appear to be favoritism by the administration but studies confirm that students do better in school when their parents volunteer. The child is more confident and may be more likely to apply him or herself accordingly. That being said, there are NO guarantees and certainly NO favoritism as may be suggested in the earlier review. In fact, the parents of many of the students in Serrania's SAS program are not so active while some of the most active families are not (SAS). Placement in these programs is based on test scores and other such objective criteria. Perhaps he/she should be a better role model by taking personal responsibility for his/her child's education and less "sour grapes".


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
SCES is the best kept secret in the SFV! From the Principal to the faculty, this school is the best!!!

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted June 06, 2014
- a community member
It depends on what you are looking for... If your child is not a good student, has some issues, then Serrania may not be such a bad choice because it seems like you can buy your way into the SAS program by schmoozing with the teachers and the principal. It's really disgusting. API dropped 20 points since the new leadership (both principal and the board).

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
My son got chosen into the lottery. I see a lot of mixed reviews. Can I get some feedback as I have got into a couple schools and not sure which one to top. Thanks so much.


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Serrania is back and ready to rock! When we first started three years ago, it was at a low and all because of the principal. But, with perseverance and support from amazing parents, we were able to replace her with our current principal, Mrs. Wedda. She is sweet yet stern when needed and is an absolute go-getter. She is open to suggestions and help from parents and will make sure she gets the job done; no matter how big or how small. Even the teachers like and respect her. Speaking of the teachers, we have some amazing ones that truly make a difference in our kids' lives. Hands down, we have the best teachers you can ever hope for for your kids. This past year not only did we get an amazing principal, but we also became a charter and our API score is now over 900!!! Our FOS is also another great aspect of Serrania. With the help of our parent volunteers, our kids are not lacking anything. We were able to open our science lab, art lab, computer lab and music all with the help of FOS and our Charter money. It's great to see Serrania back on top where it belongs.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
The District is one thing, the ratings here should be based on the school. Serrania is a great school and has come a long way in the last year! The new principal is fantastic - very student conscious, very parent conscious. We have a music program, art classes, PE, computer lab, dancing - lots of enrichment activities! We are about to get a new MAC computer lab and a Science Center! The sky is the limit with Serrania and I am so proud of impact we are making on the community. This is the place to be!

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
Serrania is a great school and a wonderful learning community. The staff are top-notch and experienced. The parent organizations, Friends of Serrania and Serrania PTA, work well together and they fill the calendar with events that the kids love. The change to charter and a new principal seem to have given the school a chance to make a clean break from the troubled terms of its two previous sub-par principals. A lot of parents gave up on this school a few years back and left because they objected to overall LAUSD policy, and as you can see by some reviews here, there is lingering bitterness. (Notice how the negative reviews here don't mention the quality of instruction and are generally focused on personal parental politics rather than overall educational experience?) But when the dust settled from the mass departure, those who remained at Serrania watched test scores soar (over 900 on our API) and saw the overall atmosphere on campus transformed. It really is a kinder, more positive place to be these days. The teachers are the best, and the kids here know it. We're not going anywhere else. Go, Serrania!


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
I have to say this is such a great school and the teachers and staff are amazing!!

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
Its great to have a new principal however LAUSD is still very broken. as a current parent that has experienced the school for 7 years its sad to blame former parents that did more for the school than anyone I have seen. They left due to the LAUSD disregard for children and teachers. You can only fight so long before better options over take the drama this school has offered. While its getting better don't forget why we all have the amazing programs that were put in place by our peers before us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
5014 Serrania Avenue, Woodland Hills, CA  91364
(818) 340-6700
Last modified Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 156 reviews. Top