Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
110 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 187 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
No. It doesn't even try. Probably because many of the adults who are most present at the school and running things have no idea what honesty, integrity, and fairness actually mean. They are simply not a priority to them. This is an image driven school. It has become more so lately with the rise of the most image driven people who have been drawn to it in recent years. As long as they can keep their own images intact, nothing else really seems worth the effort to them.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
They treat every child fairly and according to their ability. They care for each and every child and ensure their safety and well being. Teachers spent countless hours preping their curriculum to best suit the children. They stay after school if needed and majority have an open Door policy.


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
We absolutely LOVE Serrania Charter! It is the best kept little secret in the valley! The teachers are all great and very caring. I find the majority to have the perfect balance of nurture and discipline when needed. Kids are able to express themselves without feeling ridiculed or judged and In fact the teachers are very intune with the kids' talents, well being, and overall affect. There are tons of great programs available and funded by the schools parent board, FOS. programs such as PE, Art, science, computer and so forth. They even fund to have Philips graduates to come and help with children who need a lending ear or to help those that are going through hard times at home. That's how much this parent organization cares for the kids. They fund field trips, supplies, and much more. Our new principal is wonderful and very enthusiastic and will do anything in his power to better the school. He has already helped redo our auditorium after so many years! This school also has a campus beautification team, peer mediators, outside classroom, a garden where students plant and then eat the vegetables, student council, and so much more! All their events are fun to go to especially their annual fun fair! The women who put the event together works all year round ensuring every child has fun! They even manage to get the LAPD and local businesses to not only show up, but to sponsor the school! Kudos to Fos and hands down Serrania is the place to be!

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
This school seems like it would develop these qualities because it boasts some activities that should encourage compassion, caring, and empathy. However, the way the staff behaves and allows their favored students and parents to behave seriously curtails any progress those programs would achieve. So for now this school has quite a long way to go. I'd say the children are far behind their peers in the local area as far as embodiment of these qualities. There are a few nice one's who nothing can change their hearts and so for those I hope things change. Soon!

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
My child loves to go to school everyday, he likes his teachers and is always so eager to go to school. He enjoys learning and excels above and beyond in math and reading. The staff are warm, friendly and you feel like they care. Great school!


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Thank you, Mr. Alvarado! We really see you truly care about our children, listen to what we have to say, and make changes to make Serrania a greater school. We are so glad to have you join the family.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
We love the TK teacher, and so do our child. It is certainly a good sign when the child enjoyed going to school and learn. We met a few other teachers since beginning of 2015-16 school year. They all have different personalities, but are all kind to the children. I know how hard it is to communicate with group of young children, and we certainly appreciate the passion they have for the job they do for years as most of the teachers here in Serrania have been teaching for a long period of time.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
I can only speak for TK as this is our first year at Serrania. The homework they have had were in a good amount where parents and the child can discuss and work together. This is a great family time after dinner at our house.


Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 4

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Our child started TK in 2015-16 school year. We were a little uncertain about what school should we pick at beginning. We gave Serrania a try after the long search since this is our home school. The TK teacher always puts children first. She's always energized in the morning. She has her unique way with children even on their moody mornings to get them into the classroom. Mr. Alvarado, the new principle is great too. He's always there on school events we attended on and off campus. He really cares about our children and is making changes to ensure the safety of our children. Just like anywhere in this world, there are some not so nice people. However, people I met at Serrania made the difference. They are always nice and kind. Our children do learn from us and their surroundings, whether one wants to admit it. There will not be a perfect world or environment for our children if we don't start changing the way we act and think. So, for the very few negative people, think about what you can do to make a difference before you speak and complain about others. We are truly a family here in Serrania.

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
It's great to be involved in your child's academics. I am very involved with my children's teachers. Which is the way to go. The more you put into your children's education the more you will get back. Stay away from gossip and judging. Just commit to your children's brain and social development.

Nearby schools

Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies
5014 Serrania Avenue, Woodland Hills, CA  91364
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 187 reviews. (818) 340-6700
Last modified Serrania Avenue Charter For Enriched Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top