Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
101 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 121 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 03, 2016
- a parent
We love this school, especially with the new principal, who has made this school Wonderful Woodlake again. One of the many great things the new principal has done is to help the Positive Behavior Support Committee revamp the existing positive reinforcement programs and add new ones. Between the Blue Ticket program (a catch me being good thing), the Peace Path (a structured way to resolve arguments), the Golden Lunchbox program, classroom specific reinforcement programs, the anti-bullying assemblies, the Behavior Fair, and awarding of Spirit Sticks, and a tiered behavior referral procedure, student behavior has improved and is great. And the abundance of activities that have kids work collaboratively, as opposed to competitively, and the Woodlake Gives Back monthly activities have made the kids more compassionate, fair, and helpful to each other.

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School 5

Posted July 03, 2016
- a parent
Great teachers, great principal, great educational program, and great extras. Love everything from the free after school garden club, to the art and music program paid for by PTSA, to the integration of technology and arts into everything, to the welcoming of parents and grand parents into everything about the school. Strong parent participation, and the collaboration of parents and staff by design has made this school better each year that we have been here, especially since the new principal came in. His reversal of every bad policy the last principal forced on the school is bound to erase the temporary drop in academic scores too. Great school.


Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School 1

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
Horrible! son has to go to therapy now because of his kindergarten teacher, who traumatized our son.

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
We moved to the area specifically to be part of this family-oriented community. Woodlake is truly a hidden gem of a school. It's relatively small (a good thing), the parents are well educated and highly involved. The principal, Mario Thompson, is an excellent leader. They have many different programs for the kids, art, music, gardening, computer lab, etc. Our kids are making life long friends with other kids who have the same energy, smarts and ambition as them. Our experience with the school has been stellar...and we also have private school experience to compare against. An unexpected bonus is that we have seen our property value continue to increase! It's only going to keep going up given the great schools in the area and the development of The Village Center (high end restaurants and shopping) on Topanga. Amazing for families and I wouldn't live anywhere else!

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school is an excellent community school. I live only a minute away from the school and couldn't be happier that we have such a gem of a school in our neighborhood. We couldn't be happier with the principal, educators and staff. The parents are very involved here and every kid matters! Both my children are thriving and we couldn't be happier!


Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
So far I have had kids go through kinder, first, second, and now third. And so far so great! I used to work at different schools, and these are some of the best teachers I have seen.

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
I like that in the lower grades there is "mandatory" homework as well as "optional" homework. I also like how they allow us to go at the level of the child when it comes to reading and even writing. And I like how we get a week to turn in the homework in K-2, but they build the habit of doing your work every night in the upper grades.

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, parent volunteers, and the staff, and the principal do a good job modeling these behaviors. The PTSA and the student government run donation programs to collect and donate everything from dog toys and blankets to shoes for third world countries to Halloween candy for kids in shelters to books/cloths/toys for the needy.


Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School 2

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
I've read some of the most recent comments. I can agree with some comments however, reading that the school would like to hire a principal like the previous one from three years ago. That would be worst thing we could do for our school. This school has lost it's way and forgot that the focus should be on our children. Lot's of drama between parents and teachers have been the main focus. We need to put our childrens needs first. I hope that we get a strong principal who can turn our school around.

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
We love Woodlake, we love the teachers and the PTA. This is our second year in Woodlake. My son loves going to school every morning. He shares many great stories about what happens at school. He loves his teacher. Our daughter is going to join Woodlake for kindergarten this year. We are excited, she is excited. Woodlake has strong PTA and they are very dedicated and well organized. We are a firm believer that a good school starts with good PTA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School
23231 Hatteras Street, Woodland Hills, CA  91367-3119
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 121 reviews. (818) 347-7097
Last modified Woodlake Elementary Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top