Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies

Charter | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

150 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2014

Love this school. I thought my son was going to have so much trouble. He's a typical active boy that can't sit still. Turns out, he was lucky to have Ms. Grill who was patient and persistent. This year's group of boys would have driven anyone mad, but they pulled through and my son will always have fond memories of room 2. Thank you acknowledging the individual needs of these boys and superseding all expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

The last response of this 'teacher' is very typical . Instead of addressing the problems , he/she rather immediately blames parents or the children. It fits the general atmosphere on this school. We live in the 21st century. People travel. Face it, you have some bad teachers and some bad staff. Deal with it. I rest my case. Unless you keep commenting on my comments of course.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2014

Terrible school. I notice that my previous comment vanished after i responded to someone. I am not going to repeat the whole thing again. It comes down to that this is a school with an unpleasant and rigid character. My child lost a year to a 'nutcase' teacher.(just using the refined vocabulary of a woodland hill elementary teacher,see 2 comments below ) Good luck with your funding , ratings and monitoring this site for people with a different opinion. But hey,you can always call a parent a nutcase when you do not like their opinion right ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2014

Regarding "Couldn't pull my kid out fast enough" ... is the typical parent who 'moves around alot' and blames the school and the teachers for their students' inability to cope." I've worked there for many, many years and see a parent (or parents) like that coming from a mile away. These teachers at this school couldn't be more caring. They stay after school, meet on their own time, spend lunches discussing what to do for a specific kid, getting upset when a good kid has a nut case parent (who pulls their kid out of school because it's all the school's fault)...I've seen it for almost 2 decades. Special note to you, parent-who-moves-around-alot....you could take some grammar/punctuation lessons yourself. Maybe you ought to stay in one place for awhile. Settle down. Just a thought.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2014

Forget the expense of private school! If you are in the district and are able to have your child/children attend WHECES...pinch yourself and count yourself as one of the lucky ones. Hands down one of the most impress elementary schools in the entire state of California! We absolutely have no complaints. Your child will learn so much more then you can ever have imagined. PS : I'm surprised someone would actually say that the art program is "overrated" .. I don't know to many children around the age of 6yo who can look at a great work of art and be able to distinguish it from a Van Gogh or Picasso and I have personally witnessed that here. For kids to work with all mediums ...from acrylics to pastels...I think that is impressive!!! And the work showcased by the students at the art show at open house.....stunning and unbelievable!!! Amazing parent involvement and the teachers are excellent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

Two things: 1. There is a hostile environment by some of the parents. And I have seen some people hanging around near the school and they are never sent away. In addition to some hostile personalities about, there is also hostile and careless driving. 2. Why does the city target parents picking up their kids with parking violations? The excuse is street sweeping but how long does it take to dismiss the kids? You might be disappointed by the situation at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Daughter just ratting kindergarten and I am already impressed with the school. Had a lengthy conversation with the principl before she even informed me she was in fact the principal. So interested in my concerns I was impressed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Woodland Hills ES is great for academics - huge focus on testing. The Good Stuff: They offer an after-school care program and the usual variety of after-school enrichment classes. It's a large school (approx. 800), but maintains a smaller community feel. The Parent/Teacher group pays a significant portion of the cost for Teacher Aides and the Art Program. Parent involvement is strong and key to the art and P.E. programs. The Bad Stuff: The enrichment classes are more expensive than at other schools (roughly $100-150 / session). They do NOT participate in the Spelling Bee. They do NOT have essay contests, science fairs, or after-school library time. The art program is highly over-rated. The administration is very rules-oriented (think: 'no cowboys/Indians').
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

A kind, loving environment - my children always felt safe and at home here due to the amazing teachers and parent involvement! Every teacher has gone the extra mile to get to know my children when they have been in their classes. One thing is for sure: these teachers love what they do and we feel truly blessed to have been a part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

This school ROCKS! We spent only 5th grade there after a long career at Serrania that turned sour, thanks to a horrible principal & her gestapo style take over when she came along during 3rd & 4th grade. Ms. Brusca is a wonderful principal and not to mention this school is a 10 with an API of 955. Need I say more! I usually give a slight bump down when I look at the API of any school so, in essence, this school still ROCKS, representing a 9. WOO HOO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

This is a great school despite all the negative comments. The principal doesn't lay off teachers; the school district does. The complaints about test scores are silly. Anyone who has taken a college level statistics class can tell you that you can't continue to improve scores in all subcategories forever. The ceiling isn't infinite! NCLB is totally flawed. The formula used to produce the API scores isn't perfect and is based on improvement. When you start at the top, there is less room to grow. If you really care about your children and the future of public education, you should write a letter to congress or President Obama reminding him he said he'd get rid of NCLB during his 2008 campaign. He knows it's flawed too! It's sad that a flawed assessment creates a school's reputation. If your child leaves school everyday happy, with a desire to be a life long learner, that's the right school for your child. I was an aide and a teacher at the school from 2001-2010 and the dedication of the staff and parents is what makes the school a wonderful place despite the district's incompetence.


Posted November 28, 2012

My Daughter started kindergarten this year and I am so unbelievably impressed with this school. The families are great, the children are great and the staff are pretty amazing too! I was so nervous about sending my child to a public school and so far I have not one, single complaint. I feel so lucky that we have such a high standard of public education for our Elementary children and do not doubt that my daughter will not excel at this school over and above.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

I know my experience at WHE has little to do with current quality, but I went to WHE from 3rd grade (1971) to 6th (1974) (it was K-6 in those days). The teachers were all magnificent, caring people, the school was very well run, and the quality of education put me well ahead of kids I was classed with at Parkman Junior High School. Very fond memories of my time there and I am happy to see it is still a very highly rated school.


Posted January 4, 2012

To the last poster: Do not let a few people with sour grapes, prevent you from allowing your children to experience a school that is one of the top elementary schools in the STATE! You can not please everyone and that is what you are seeing in these postings. As a long term employee (over 10 years); rest assured, most parents and students are happy and proud to be members of the WHES family. We have a staff that is second to none and our parents community is wonderful. Administration and support staff (office, custodial and cafeteria) are behind the teachers 110%! Our curriculum is academically rigorous while serving each individual child's need specifically. We have a fabulous PE coach and our PATT (Parents and Teachers Together) group are quite supportive; they have provided our school with most of our aide time (if it were up to the district; we would have very, very little aide time), they also provide our students with an afterschool enrichment program filled with classes that span the interests of our school population (drawing, chess, creative writing, hip hop,cooking...) Please find out for yourself whether this is the school for you and don't let a few naysayers sway you.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 16, 2011

12. GENUINELY welcome all parents with open door policy excellent academics. 13. As parents we go over and beyond to educate our child and serve our child school. 14. I was an adjunct associate professor for fifteen years at UCLA. 15. We all as parents are professional educators with a strong academic base to analyze a school performance. 16. WHES does not cut the mustard not for all their student population. 17. We are outstanding community advocates and love serving our community and child school. 18. My husband and I have numerous awards from the community and my child s previous schools. 19. Our family comes from a high academic upscale neighborhood within a LAUSD district. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Slowly the long-lasting work of Principal Feig is fading away. The 2006 kindergarten class graduates this coming year, and as this group of 5th graders plan to culminate, so will the end the aggressive student selection that Principal Feig initiated for many years that helped to propel WHES test grades so high. In 2007, she chose a more random selection process and then was succeeded by Principal Bluestein who modified students on permits and student selection in his 3 years at our school. Couple the student selection process with shortened school days two years in a row, and the naturally test scores will go down. If you look carefully 4th grade over all went up and that is the class that entered WHES in 2006. More importantly is the disillusion of the teachers chronically being threatened with layoffs and reductions in benefits and pay. We had angry, sad and depressed teachers last year. Not to mention that one or more teachers suffered with personal illness, especially in second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

The last poster is correct. The elite selection of kindergardeners did much to makes us a top school and we are not tops anymore... not so elite... not so special... but still good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

We love the new principal and teachers; we don't love a drop in test scores. What is going on? Lets fund more T.A.s and less office personnel. We can't keep going down hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I love WHES and love our new principal! I think everyone at the school couldn't be happier with her. She's friendly, warm, but also cares about the kids and the school. As far as the comment on cleanliness? I've never seen a problem. I've been a room mom for the three years I've been there, so not sure what that parent is talking about. Must have been a one-time thing. And yes, I did hear that Ricardo, the custodian has lost an assistant and is doing the work of many. But even still, I haven't noticed any problems. My son loves the school and is getting a better elementary education than I ever could have hoped for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

We are really wondering how much of the work at the school is being done on so little budget. I love working there, but full transparency in all the budgets is due really.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

967

Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

967

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Females98%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state100%

Math

All Students92%
Females89%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females84%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females96%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Females97%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate98%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females100%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Females94%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females92%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students95%
Females96%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Asian 10%
Hispanic 9%
Black 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/AN/A
English language learners 1%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 553 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
75%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
72%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
78%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
91%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
84%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
88%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
94%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
74%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
80%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
80%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21940%
Students31593%
Employees1931%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22201 San Miguel Street
Woodland Hills, CA 91364
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 347-9220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rockland Academy
Woodland Hills, CA



Child's World School
Los Angeles, CA




Calabash Charter Academy
Woodland Hills, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT