Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 176 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


192 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a community member
Parents beware. This school has a very bad reputation in Woodland Hills. Rude staff and teachers.You want something better for your kids.
3 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. I thought my son was going to have so much trouble. He's a typical active boy that can't sit still. Turns out, he was lucky to have Ms. Grill who was patient and persistent. This year's group of boys would have driven anyone mad, but they pulled through and my son will always have fond memories of room 2. Thank you acknowledging the individual needs of these boys and superseding all expectations.
1 person found this helpful


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school. I notice that my previous comment vanished after i responded to someone. I am not going to repeat the whole thing again. It comes down to that this is a school with an unpleasant and rigid character. My child lost a year to a 'nutcase' teacher.(just using the refined vocabulary of a woodland hill elementary teacher,see 2 comments below ) Good luck with your funding , ratings and monitoring this site for people with a different opinion. But hey,you can always call a parent a nutcase when you do not like their opinion right ?
3 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a teacher
Regarding "Couldn't pull my kid out fast enough" ... is the typical parent who 'moves around alot' and blames the school and the teachers for their students' inability to cope." I've worked there for many, many years and see a parent (or parents) like that coming from a mile away. These teachers at this school couldn't be more caring. They stay after school, meet on their own time, spend lunches discussing what to do for a specific kid, getting upset when a good kid has a nut case parent (who pulls their kid out of school because it's all the school's fault)...I've seen it for almost 2 decades. Special note to you, parent-who-moves-around-alot....you could take some grammar/punctuation lessons yourself. Maybe you ought to stay in one place for awhile. Settle down. Just a thought.
2 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Forget the expense of private school! If you are in the district and are able to have your child/children attend WHECES...pinch yourself and count yourself as one of the lucky ones. Hands down one of the most impress elementary schools in the entire state of California! We absolutely have no complaints. Your child will learn so much more then you can ever have imagined. PS : I'm surprised someone would actually say that the art program is "overrated" .. I don't know to many children around the age of 6yo who can look at a great work of art and be able to distinguish it from a Van Gogh or Picasso and I have personally witnessed that here. For kids to work with all mediums ...from acrylics to pastels...I think that is impressive!!! And the work showcased by the students at the art show at open house.....stunning and unbelievable!!! Amazing parent involvement and the teachers are excellent!!!
2 people found this helpful


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
Two things: 1. There is a hostile environment by some of the parents. And I have seen some people hanging around near the school and they are never sent away. In addition to some hostile personalities about, there is also hostile and careless driving. 2. Why does the city target parents picking up their kids with parking violations? The excuse is street sweeping but how long does it take to dismiss the kids? You might be disappointed by the situation at this school.
2 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 4

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Daughter just ratting kindergarten and I am already impressed with the school. Had a lengthy conversation with the principl before she even informed me she was in fact the principal. So interested in my concerns I was impressed

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 3

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Woodland Hills ES is great for academics - huge focus on testing. The Good Stuff: They offer an after-school care program and the usual variety of after-school enrichment classes. It's a large school (approx. 800), but maintains a smaller community feel. The Parent/Teacher group pays a significant portion of the cost for Teacher Aides and the Art Program. Parent involvement is strong and key to the art and P.E. programs. The Bad Stuff: The enrichment classes are more expensive than at other schools (roughly $100-150 / session). They do NOT participate in the Spelling Bee. They do NOT have essay contests, science fairs, or after-school library time. The art program is highly over-rated. The administration is very rules-oriented (think: 'no cowboys/Indians').


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
A kind, loving environment - my children always felt safe and at home here due to the amazing teachers and parent involvement! Every teacher has gone the extra mile to get to know my children when they have been in their classes. One thing is for sure: these teachers love what they do and we feel truly blessed to have been a part of this school!

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
This school ROCKS! We spent only 5th grade there after a long career at Serrania that turned sour, thanks to a horrible principal & her gestapo style take over when she came along during 3rd & 4th grade. Ms. Brusca is a wonderful principal and not to mention this school is a 10 with an API of 955. Need I say more! I usually give a slight bump down when I look at the API of any school so, in essence, this school still ROCKS, representing a 9. WOO HOO!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies
22201 San Miguel Street, Woodland Hills, CA  91364
(818) 347-9220
Last modified Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 192 reviews. Top