Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public charter
Woodland Hills, CA
Students enrolled: 698
 

4 stars
Based on 178 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


194 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 3

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
This school has the most ridiculous morning drop off rules in the area. You would think you are sending your kids to school in Compton or the Gaza Strip. Very inconvenient, way over the top restrictive for no reason, and just ridiculous. And while the school is good, it is far from great. I cannot believe that it still has a 10 rating, as it is no longer a 10 worthy school. My daughter is bored out of her mind at school and doesn't want to go to school because anything resembling fun has gone away and all that is left is academic drilling. News flash: if you make it fun, they will actually want to learn.
1 person found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
We moved our child here for 5th grade, and could not have been happier. The 5th grade team of teachers is excellent, and the academic rigor mixed with creative teaching styles is refreshing. The principal is warm, office staff is pleasant and helpful, and the teachers are passionate about teaching. This is a lovely gem of a school -- a diamond for LAUSD.
1 person found this helpful


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a community member
Parents beware. This school has a very bad reputation in Woodland Hills. Rude staff and teachers.You want something better for your kids.
8 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. I thought my son was going to have so much trouble. He's a typical active boy that can't sit still. Turns out, he was lucky to have Ms. Grill who was patient and persistent. This year's group of boys would have driven anyone mad, but they pulled through and my son will always have fond memories of room 2. Thank you acknowledging the individual needs of these boys and superseding all expectations.
1 person found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school. I notice that my previous comment vanished after i responded to someone. I am not going to repeat the whole thing again. It comes down to that this is a school with an unpleasant and rigid character. My child lost a year to a 'nutcase' teacher.(just using the refined vocabulary of a woodland hill elementary teacher,see 2 comments below ) Good luck with your funding , ratings and monitoring this site for people with a different opinion. But hey,you can always call a parent a nutcase when you do not like their opinion right ?
7 people found this helpful


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a teacher
Regarding "Couldn't pull my kid out fast enough" ... is the typical parent who 'moves around alot' and blames the school and the teachers for their students' inability to cope." I've worked there for many, many years and see a parent (or parents) like that coming from a mile away. These teachers at this school couldn't be more caring. They stay after school, meet on their own time, spend lunches discussing what to do for a specific kid, getting upset when a good kid has a nut case parent (who pulls their kid out of school because it's all the school's fault)...I've seen it for almost 2 decades. Special note to you, parent-who-moves-around-alot....you could take some grammar/punctuation lessons yourself. Maybe you ought to stay in one place for awhile. Settle down. Just a thought.
5 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Forget the expense of private school! If you are in the district and are able to have your child/children attend WHECES...pinch yourself and count yourself as one of the lucky ones. Hands down one of the most impress elementary schools in the entire state of California! We absolutely have no complaints. Your child will learn so much more then you can ever have imagined. PS : I'm surprised someone would actually say that the art program is "overrated" .. I don't know to many children around the age of 6yo who can look at a great work of art and be able to distinguish it from a Van Gogh or Picasso and I have personally witnessed that here. For kids to work with all mediums ...from acrylics to pastels...I think that is impressive!!! And the work showcased by the students at the art show at open house.....stunning and unbelievable!!! Amazing parent involvement and the teachers are excellent!!!
3 people found this helpful

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
Two things: 1. There is a hostile environment by some of the parents. And I have seen some people hanging around near the school and they are never sent away. In addition to some hostile personalities about, there is also hostile and careless driving. 2. Why does the city target parents picking up their kids with parking violations? The excuse is street sweeping but how long does it take to dismiss the kids? You might be disappointed by the situation at this school.
4 people found this helpful


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 4

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Daughter just ratting kindergarten and I am already impressed with the school. Had a lengthy conversation with the principl before she even informed me she was in fact the principal. So interested in my concerns I was impressed

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 3

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Woodland Hills ES is great for academics - huge focus on testing. The Good Stuff: They offer an after-school care program and the usual variety of after-school enrichment classes. It's a large school (approx. 800), but maintains a smaller community feel. The Parent/Teacher group pays a significant portion of the cost for Teacher Aides and the Art Program. Parent involvement is strong and key to the art and P.E. programs. The Bad Stuff: The enrichment classes are more expensive than at other schools (roughly $100-150 / session). They do NOT participate in the Spelling Bee. They do NOT have essay contests, science fairs, or after-school library time. The art program is highly over-rated. The administration is very rules-oriented (think: 'no cowboys/Indians').
3 people found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies
22201 San Miguel Street, Woodland Hills, CA  91364
(818) 347-9220
Last modified Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 194 reviews. Top