Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public charter
Woodland Hills, CA
Students enrolled: 698
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 3

Posted August 28, 2015
- a community member
Here's the pros and cons of WHECS. It has a reputation for high performance. As a parent of 2 children in WHECS, I personally wanted my children to be pushed to a degree. However, if your children are younger, or mentally younger, their love of school & learning will be affected if they're pushed too hard. Expect to be pushed. Depending on your child's grade level, teacher, especially, if their SAS, they'll be expected to have a great deal of homework & stress (for U & them)! Students are expected to be young adults already. Children need more fun time & time to get out their built up energy. Don't expect your child to get those things here. More parents complain about that than any other area, with too much home work coming in at second place, then drop off/pick up. The Principal pushes our teachers very hard to perform & is constantly in the class observing & micro managing. That too can be extremely stressful which then affects the students. Some parents come to this school with high expectations & find that WHECS is not what they'd hoped for. It's not a bad school by any means. Most of the teachers really do care & work hard for your children. The staff in the front office ARE NOT friendly nor very helpful. As long as you know that & expect that, then you won't be surprised. WHECS does have a strong parent evolvement. For the most part, the PATT is a very positive force. However, you'll find it's always the same parents giving & giving & giving with "little to no" appreciation from those who do nothing. PATT's slogan is if "everyone gave a little, then no one would have to give a lot." Powerful words to live by, but the majority of the parents, unfortunately DO NOT participate.. The negative side of the PATT is many cliques, constantly asking for $, & their fundraiser's are endless. Wish the $ was going toward more important areas. WHECS has many rules & many new ones being added. PLEASE be advised, most are reasonable & for the students safety, then there's the ones that simply make no sense. For pick up/drop off: as long as you know the in's and out's - this is one of the easier school's to maneuver. Too many "ME type" parents expect the world to revolve around them & make the process harder. I personally feel there's too many lottery students let in - which means larger class sizes, less personal attention! Not good!

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has attended kindergarten through second grade so far at the school. We could not be happier with her and our experience. My daughter is very bright but also sensitive. The academics are very challenging (which is wonderful), and at the same time the school has taken care to ensure that she has a teacher that best suits her. All of her teachers have been wonderfully caring. The parents are very involved with the school. It is a wonderful community. I could not recommend the school highly enough.


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 3

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
This school has the most ridiculous morning drop off rules in the area. You would think you are sending your kids to school in Compton or the Gaza Strip. Very inconvenient, way over the top restrictive for no reason, and just ridiculous. And while the school is good, it is far from great. I cannot believe that it still has a 10 rating, as it is no longer a 10 worthy school. My daughter is bored out of her mind at school and doesn't want to go to school because anything resembling fun has gone away and all that is left is academic drilling. News flash: if you make it fun, they will actually want to learn.

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
We moved our child here for 5th grade, and could not have been happier. The 5th grade team of teachers is excellent, and the academic rigor mixed with creative teaching styles is refreshing. The principal is warm, office staff is pleasant and helpful, and the teachers are passionate about teaching. This is a lovely gem of a school -- a diamond for LAUSD.

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a community member
Parents beware. This school has a very bad reputation in Woodland Hills. Rude staff and teachers.You want something better for your kids.


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this school. I thought my son was going to have so much trouble. He's a typical active boy that can't sit still. Turns out, he was lucky to have Ms. Grill who was patient and persistent. This year's group of boys would have driven anyone mad, but they pulled through and my son will always have fond memories of room 2. Thank you acknowledging the individual needs of these boys and superseding all expectations.

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Terrible school. I notice that my previous comment vanished after i responded to someone. I am not going to repeat the whole thing again. It comes down to that this is a school with an unpleasant and rigid character. My child lost a year to a 'nutcase' teacher.(just using the refined vocabulary of a woodland hill elementary teacher,see 2 comments below ) Good luck with your funding , ratings and monitoring this site for people with a different opinion. But hey,you can always call a parent a nutcase when you do not like their opinion right ?

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a teacher
Regarding "Couldn't pull my kid out fast enough" ... is the typical parent who 'moves around alot' and blames the school and the teachers for their students' inability to cope." I've worked there for many, many years and see a parent (or parents) like that coming from a mile away. These teachers at this school couldn't be more caring. They stay after school, meet on their own time, spend lunches discussing what to do for a specific kid, getting upset when a good kid has a nut case parent (who pulls their kid out of school because it's all the school's fault)...I've seen it for almost 2 decades. Special note to you, parent-who-moves-around-alot....you could take some grammar/punctuation lessons yourself. Maybe you ought to stay in one place for awhile. Settle down. Just a thought.


Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
Forget the expense of private school! If you are in the district and are able to have your child/children attend WHECES...pinch yourself and count yourself as one of the lucky ones. Hands down one of the most impress elementary schools in the entire state of California! We absolutely have no complaints. Your child will learn so much more then you can ever have imagined. PS : I'm surprised someone would actually say that the art program is "overrated" .. I don't know to many children around the age of 6yo who can look at a great work of art and be able to distinguish it from a Van Gogh or Picasso and I have personally witnessed that here. For kids to work with all mediums ...from acrylics to pastels...I think that is impressive!!! And the work showcased by the students at the art show at open house.....stunning and unbelievable!!! Amazing parent involvement and the teachers are excellent!!!

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies 1

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
Two things: 1. There is a hostile environment by some of the parents. And I have seen some people hanging around near the school and they are never sent away. In addition to some hostile personalities about, there is also hostile and careless driving. 2. Why does the city target parents picking up their kids with parking violations? The excuse is street sweeping but how long does it take to dismiss the kids? You might be disappointed by the situation at this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies
22201 San Miguel Street, Woodland Hills, CA  91364
(818) 347-9220
Last modified Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodland Hills Elementary Charter For Enriched Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 202 reviews. Top