Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lee Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 720 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

Lee Middle School is not the only school that is having trouble teaching and disciplining students. Some kids today think they are entitled. The "You Owe Me" attitude, lack of respect and poor manners is prominent. It appears to me that we need to get back to basics and support teaching reading, writing and arithmetic, and learning phonics. These four things are so important to the success of a child. We all need to refocus. Parent involvement is key to more respect for others. I have seen many young people walk down the street and have no problem spitting on the sidewalk or cussing, not caring who may see or hear them. Morals, Ethics, and Values need to be reinforced at home. So to blame the school is not entirely appropriate. Parents need to take more responsibility; "Is my child keeping up as best as their ability allows? Of course there are two sides to every story, but the lack of money the government provides has limited the success of our children, and we have no one to blame but ourselves; We voted for these people. No teacher should have to use their own money to buy supplies. Teachers most important task is how they can best teach the students of today.


Posted August 10, 2013

It makes me sad to see some of these reviews. I have worked at a few different schools over the years, and the staff at Lee is by far the hardest working, most dedicated I've encountered. This school is struggling under the weight of NCLB, huge amounts of English learners, and poor funding. As a teacher there, I spend thousands of my own money every year just to keep my students supplied with paper, binders, pencils, etc. This school needs the following in order to make real improvement: a centralized discipline plan, more parent involvement, more funding for teacher collaboration, updated texts, a stable administration. Do I take some of the blame? Yes, of course. But everyone who is involved with this school wants the same thing - excellence. Parents, if you want Lee to change, get involved. Visit the school. Get to know the teachers and admin. Talk to your kids. Read their assignments, books, etc. Work with the staff rather than accuse them of incompetence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 23, 2012

I was a student there and it's horrible!!! The teachers treated us like elementary students punishing the class because of one person, not making the students eat fruits and vegetables, most of my friends couldn't eat because they had no money! The p.e. exercises were bad because the teachers don't watch you. Teachers don't know how to stay calm and Louie doesn't know how to keep his hands to himself. I recommend to go to anyother school then this one.


Posted November 18, 2010

Everyone rating 1 star are parents and are not in Lee. Ive see many things some parents are saying here... Someone said Lee pushes 7th graders to 8th grade if they fail... My friend got 3 F and he was in 7th for another year... another thing is that the school has improved in the CST by +25 points every year since 2006. One more thing is that in Lee they have 3 rooms of special education. and lastly LEE IS THE BEST SCHOOL.... AND PARENTS WHO DONT LIKE THIS SCHOOL IS BECAUSE THEY DONT ATTEND TO THE SCHOOL :)


Posted March 7, 2010

I am shocked to see that Lee receives as high a reating as it does. The school teachs at a sub-standard level. The lack creativity in their methos. For students that have learning challenges they place them in resource classes that is sapposed to improve their performance. They get extra funding for this however, the school fails to improve the students abilities and in my opinion just warhouses them doing dummied down work repetitively. They school is not help to measurable goals. Usually the teachers and administration blames the child for failing instead of taking responsibility to realy connect with this child and get them excited about learning. The adiministration is at fault for not taking the initiative to imporve and create more effective methods of learning. Lee is not about the students but about the politics, money and protecting the current regeim. Lee contributes to high drop out rates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

this school is a freaking joke. Getting an A in this school is perhaps the equivalent of getting a C somewhere else. Makes your kid think that their doing great when in reality, once they hit the real world, they'll get a good pounding with actual competitive students.


Posted February 23, 2008

It is a very cool school. I enjoy going every single day. Our school is ran by a easy to talk to smart and very helpful principle who attends all school functions Mr. Garth Lewis. And our vice principal Ms. Gouphner. This school is disiplend very fairly and to keep fights from happening for extra saftey we have two ver kind security gaurds, who are loved by the students. There is Martha who is very easy to find, since she is always in one of her croshayed items. And there is Louie who is always being a friend to our students in a tough way. We love our dances since we have the best of fun. I will love this school for all eternity a loving student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

The academics and fair treatment of students is so poor at this school I was forced to place my son in a private school. They haven't a clue as to how to teach a child with a different learning style that means the teachers may have to get creative. If you don't fit into their mold you are not going to do well. Especially when you are being taught by some of the teaching staff that obviously favor the students that are of the same ethnicity by using terms of endearment in their native language....this is, in my opinion, is damaging and hurtful to the other students in the class who are made to feel less important. Wake up Woodland school administrators....aren't you ashamed of the ratings your schools are receiving?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

This is a school that deeply cares about the children and their safety at school. Unfortunately, that is not weighted against academic excellence in my opinion. There is a lot of busy work and loss of time, in my opinion. There seems to be a sense of hopelessness in the staff that trickels down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Love the teachers but the disciplinary system is slightly contorted to face the side of the administration
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2005

Great school! We have had three of our kids at this shcool. Awesome teachers, great staff, and good students. Highly recommend it to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

I am very disappointed in the public schools here in Woodland and after having my 3rd son in Lee Jr. High...we are now going to be homeschooling our youngest son and our 3rd grade daughter! I found out last year that if you have a 7th grader who fails every class, that child will still be pushed onto 8th grade!! Even at the request of a parent for that child to repeat 7th grade! I don't understand pushing our children on when they haven't been able to succeed! Lee completely let our child down! Completely! No child left behind?? Ha! They've got that right....we'll homeschool our children and do a much better job that any public school in this state!


Posted August 11, 2003

We are very unhappy with Lee's performance! Our children went from being children excited about learning to children that despised school! Myself, along with 2 other families are now going to be pulling our kids out of the Woodland Public schools to now homeschool them. This has been a real disappointment :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2003

Lee Junior High School has put great effort into improving their academic performance over the past several years. Their efforts have paid off in greater parent involvement, improved academics, and overall student morale. Thank you for your efforts and congradulations on a job well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

752

Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

752

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
62%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
17%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
22%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
67%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students81%
Femalesn/a
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino78%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females65%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant education53%
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate51%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state51%

Math

All Students36%
Females35%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant education40%
Gifted and talented66%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students25%
Females31%
Males19%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented45%
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)23%
Parent education - college graduate32%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate31%
Parent education - declined to state23%

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females53%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate57%
Parent education - declined to state38%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students5%
Females5%
Males6%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino3%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)11%
Economically disadvantaged3%
Non-economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability9%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only9%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)13%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students67%
Females75%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented67%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students38%
Females43%
Males34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability42%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented65%
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Science

All Students54%
Females55%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 51%
White 32% 27%
Asian 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 West Street
Woodland, CA 95695
Phone: (530) 662-0251

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT