Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Woodland, CA
Students enrolled: 1,358
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Woodland Senior High School 1

Posted April 10, 2013
- a student
i went to this school and it sucks thats why i would never go to to class...the teachers were nice buh dah school in general was awful!!!

Woodland Senior High School 4

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
WHS has been getting some unfair bad press lately. Although it is not perfect, there are many great things happening there including fantastic FFA, FHA, Speech and Debate teams and a world class music program that saw students playing at Carnegie Hall last year. There are many opportunities for kids to take AP classes and numerous kids have gone on from WHS to go on to top colleges in the country. Finally, the big secret of the town of Woodland should get out: WHS has higher test scores than Pioneer High!! Look it up!


Woodland Senior High School 1

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
The school is more concerened on raising money for academics and sports not for academics.The staff is unprofessional and rude and un friendly.Dont recommend this school

Woodland Senior High School 4

Posted June 10, 2009
- a student
The teachers make it a great place, most of thew students do not take advantage of the prestigious faculty within the educational facility...the students bring it down...but the opportunity for success is definitely prominent...

Woodland Senior High School 3

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
We have some awesome, positive teachers who treat the students with respect, encouragement and dignity, and here the students learn to love to learn and excel; and we have on the other side a few teachers who seemingly hate and distrust all students who should be working with research and not with people.


Woodland Senior High School 3

Posted February 09, 2007
- a parent
As with any public school there are great teachers and great students at Woodland High (they are there an I can name names). The good things don't need to be fixed, so here are some thoughts on improvement: 1) Disruptive students that do not want to learn should be removed from this school. These students make it difficult for the teachers and other students. 2) Special-ed should be for kids with learning problems not a dumping area for delinquents (they should be at a seprate school) 3) Empower the teachers to control their classrooms. 4) In class montitoring by administration. The kids know what is going on, does admin? Kids that are out of control set the bar low for the entire school.

Woodland Senior High School 2

Posted May 16, 2006
- a parent
I'd like to point out that it is not a very safe school at current.

Woodland Senior High School 2

Posted August 05, 2005
- a student
The quality of instruction varies widely in that some teachers do not seem to believe their students can succeed, while other teachers are encouraging success. The push to put students in career paths when they first start at the school and the use of vocational testing as a primary tool to determine what a teenager (Freshman) should choose as a career seems a bit unrealistic. More emphasis should be placed on graduation and university entrance requirements combined with what a student likes and dislikes subject-wise to help them better prepare for a career their choce. There is a wide range of academic programmes to cater for the remedial through to those wishing to take honors and AP classes in almost all learning areas. The art program programme is top class, and the music program is improving, the school produces many top sports stars and has an wide range of extrcurricular activities.


Woodland Senior High School 4

Posted June 01, 2004
- a student
I'm not a parent but a student at woodland high. I realy think that our school has inproved a lot this year our new principal is very nice. Dr. Rivales is always talking to us and woring about us thank you Dr. Rivales

Woodland Senior High School 4

Posted May 04, 2004
- a teacher
I am a staff person at WHS. I am relaying a few opinions of students. -Security Guards still are found chatting with students who are 'ditching'. My 2 cents to add would be that we have a few students who really don't belong here (they need a more restrictive environment) and the Security Guards are doing what they can to keep those students under control. -ETC has not been available since sometime last fall, unfortunately. My opinion as a staff person is that we have a ways to go, but there's been a huge improvement over recent years.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Senior High School
21 North West Street, Woodland, CA  95695
(530) 662-4678
Last modified Woodland Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodland Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top