Advertisement
Advertisement

Calvary Chapel of Yorba Linda School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Yorba Linda

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $587,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

Our experience just wasn't good. The reading list will make your kids hate reading. The books are depressing and dry. They could at least throw in a White Fang or Call of the Wild. The math program is missing Algebra 2, so kids that are good at math will end up a grade below their peers when they get to high school. My kids initially loved the bible but after several years of the bible program at CCYLA they hate it like its a grammar textbook. If the Jr high teachers like your kids they will have a good experience, but if your kid has an idiosyncrasy or some characteristic that rubs the teacher the wrong way then forget about it. Our child was bullied, to the point of having psychological problems, and the administration made promises but ultimately did nothing but blame him. The teachers and administration here don't understand what bullying is, why it happens, or what to do about it. This may not be a problem for your child if they are strong, confident, & assertive, but if they have any social development delays this isn't the right place for them. So if your kid is good at math, loves reading, or isn't confident and mature socially, make a different choice. We should have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I love this school! I have a daughter in preschool here and she has been attending for about a year and a half. The facilities are not the fanciest but the teachers and curriculum and the love shown to the children are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I can't say enough great things about this school. My children gave grown leaps and bounds in their academic and spiritual life. The teachers are caring and inspiring. They put their whole hearts into the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Both of our daughters have been attending Calvary Chapel of Yorba Linda for four years and every year has been a year of personal, social, and spiritual growth for them. The teachers hired at the school are highly qualified and committed to both the academic and spiritual success of their students. Besides the academic strength and superior teacher qualifications, our girls are blessed to receive the daily teachings of the Word of God and the opportunity to grow in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

Calvery Chapel of Yorba Linda is an incredible school with an emphasis on Christian education. The school is small which gives my children an oppurtunity to be known as an individual rather than lost in the crowd. My children have grown so much in the Lord since attending this school. Their grades have improved tremendously. It is truly a blessing to send my children to such a solid school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Calvary has been wonderful for my three children. They have thrived academically, spiritually, and socially. The staff at this school cares about each individual child and their families. The academic curriculum is great, but it is made awesome by the teachers who share their talents and love of learning with the children. In addition to their main teaching, they also have music, physical education, and computers. I have also been impressed by the number of parents who willingly volunteer their time and energy to the school. Whether it is helping in a classroom, supervising children at lunch time, or making copies in the office...there are many families who share their time. There is a team effort in place in the hearts of the parents. That is reflected in the staff and children ....we are all in this together. I thank God each day for bringing us here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

The preschool is fantastic. The kids learn their letters and the sounds they make as well as their numbers and a variety of other basics from an early age. They use songs and art to help the kids remember many of the things they learn. They also have a tremendous focus on teaching the kids about the Bible and God's love. The teachers have been very caring, and a variety of extra activities have been offered, such as dance classes and fundraising activities. The parents seem to be very involved -- the turnout was quite high at the first preschool back to school night. My daughter loves going here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

My son has enjoyed Christian fellowship at this school for the last 3 1/2 years. I have found that the teachers are committed to providing a solid education along with a definite devotion to the Lord, which is reflected, back to the students. Each class has under 15 students and individual attention is given to each child. My son seems to know most of the staff and they know him by name. It s defiantly a family atmosphere. The concern for the children at Calvary is foremost. I remember a time I was having a problem with a situation with my son and it was addressed and handled immediately. My son has grown so much since he started attending the school and his understanding and knowledge of God has been an inspiration to me. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 23%
Asian 19%
Black 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5401 Fairmont Boulevard
Yorba Linda, CA 92886
Phone: (714) 777-7131

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


California Preschool
Yorba Linda, CA




Calvary Christian School
Yorba Linda, CA


Friends Christian School
Yorba Linda, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT