Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
413 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
85 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Francis Of Assisi
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to the parental advisory board for increasing enrollment and keeping the administration honest.

St. Francis Of Assisi
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
There are a few really great teachers at this school, however, some grades have teachers who lack the passion and compassion to be teaching kids. Parents are familiar with these teachers and dread it when their students go into these grades.


St. Francis Of Assisi
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
Rather than working with achievement programs or advanced topics, the school assigns hours upon hours of busy homework. Each subject teacher assigns homework independent and without coordination of the other teachers compounding the problem. Other public schools in the district assign far less homework with more focused content and more appropriate for learning the subject. Homework grades are based on quantity.

St. Francis Of Assisi
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
The school is trying to convert from a Parish school to a private school. They will say or do anything to protect their reputation and increase their enrollement. This sets a very bad example with respect to trust and respect.

St. Francis Of Assisi
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
When push comes to shove, the school values its own reputation over the welfare of it's students. Exposure to such a culture is not beneficial to the kids, nor does it set a good example.


St. Francis Of Assisi
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
This school, while a faith-based school, doesn't practice what they preach. There are systemic problems with teachers that have long been unaddressed by the leadership. Parents dread certain teachers from certain grades. The school rewards compliance over academic achievement.

St. Francis Of Assisi 1

Posted December 19, 2015
- a parent
This school cares more about the complacency of the teachers rather than the welfare and academic achievement of the students. This lack of leadership comes from the top. We spent years donating our time and service to improving the school with no effect whatsoever.

St. Francis Of Assisi 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
My daughter transferred from a well-respected public elementary school to St. Francis in 5th grade. We left public schools for various reasons, including classroom size and mean behavior among the kids. St. Francis is not only a warm and nurturing environment for our daughter, but it is actually academically ahead of where she left off in public school. The English curriculum is outstanding and the teachers and administration have been the best I have ever seen. No more "teaching to the test" for public school Star Testing. They actually test in the fall to determine what the kids need to work on the most throughout the year. They also offer an in-school athletic department that is awesome, as well as a weekly music class and band. Kids who need extra help get assistance from specialized teachers and the other kids do not pick on them because they need extra help. I cannot say enough good things about this school and what the entire school community has done for our daughter.


St. Francis Of Assisi 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
St. Francis is an amazing faith filled community. The teachers, administration & parents are so welcoming. We've been at SFA for 4 years. My children love going to school and spending the day with their teachers & friends. The teachers CARE about your children. They make learning FUN! The confidence & assurance I feel sending my children to such an incredible school community is priceless. We have built life long friendships that will stay with us.

St. Francis Of Assisi 5

Posted April 14, 2013
- a community member
It's odd, but I actually enjoy going to school everyday. The teachers are incredibly caring and understanding. The students are very caring of each other for the most part. We have formed unbreakable bonds with each other and I highly recommend this school being an 8th grader here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis Of Assisi
5330 Eastside Circle, Yorba Linda, CA  92887
(714) 695-3700
Last modified St. Francis Of Assisi is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Francis Of Assisi Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. Top