Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
779 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Friends Christian School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
We have been at this school for 4 years now, experiencing both the Preschool and Elementary 'sides' with our two children. We have been very pleased with our experiences so far. I will admit that I was concerned at first, because we are not church members here and I feared being a bit of an outsider. However, I was proven wrong. Yes, there are people here that are church members, so they've known each other for a long time and maybe they hang out together. But there are also many non Friends Church members here. I choose to be involved by helping out in the classroom and volunteering to do stuff for the school when I can, and I've met and befriended lots of people that way. My children have never felt excluded or like outcasts. Yes, they've both had little social battles here and there, but that's a part of learning how to interact with and figuring out what you like/dislike in people. As far as the curriculum, I admit that I had concerns in the past. I had heard that things weren't going too well at the middle school campus, and that concerned me for the future. But the administration has acknowledged this and is making changes to better the academic levels throughout the school. My older child ranks high in math/reading/sciences, so her teacher gives her extra research or experiments to do when she finishes her class work to help give that extra push and keep her working at a higher level, and I very much appreciate that. I think it's difficult in a private school environment to cater to different levels within a single class. However, from my experience, I have seen the teachers work with the both the struggling students and also with the students who need to be more challenged, while maintaining the standard level of teaching in the classroom.

Friends Christian School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
I have appreciated all of our teachers. They have been warm and caring and made our family feel genuinely cared about.


Friends Christian School 5

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
This school is the most nurturing environment, meeting both my child's academic and spiritual needs. They are current, especially as of late, with raising the bar with STEM curriculum with the incredible science program "Robotics" as well as offering many other integrations of this utilizing their computer lab and media center and iPads. Not only do they excel in the math, science and language arts, they have a high level and competitive athletic and fine arts program. The music they offer students encourages a love for music at an early age with students being able to perform in full fledged musical productions beginning in Kindergarden. Overall, this school produces well-rounded, God-fearing individuals who will be successful individuals. On a side note: In reference to those who are complaining about issues they have had with the school, please understand that they are the minority and the overwhelming majority feels exactly the opposite about this school.

Friends Christian School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a teacher
Friends Christian School is a wonderful place to teach. We are given encouragment and resources to better help students excel in all areas of development. We truly care about the kids and want them to become who God has intended them to be.

Friends Christian School 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
In the past we were extremely happy with sending our kids to FCS. However, the decline is apparent. Not only scholastically, but also with recent changes within the administration. Favoritism is a common thread at this school leaving some of the kids feeling left out, picked on, labeled and inadequate. It doesn't seem to reflect what true Christian values are all about. We are looking at other schools and may or may not make a change. I never thought we would ever be looking at other options, that is how much FCS has declined over the years.


Friends Christian School 1

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
I wish I could say wonderful things about this school. It used to be one of the top schools in the area. The repetitive statements from the administration, "this is the first time I've heard about this issue", is untruthful and disappointing. Parents have been coming forward for years regarding the academic issues and this is the response we get. It would be beneficial if they admitted to the shortcomings and addressed the issues at hand. My prayers are that they will be strong enough to do what is necessary to once again be a strong Christian school for our community.

Friends Christian School 1

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school and I have two issues. First unless you attend the church, your child will be somewhat of an outcast. Favoritism is shown to members of their own church. Secondly, my child graduated from this school academically behind. My child was in all the honors classes that were offered here and graduated at the top of the class. We were beyond shocked to find out that we now needed to hire a tutor to bring my child up to par. The pomp and circumstance that this school presents with their programs and activities is deceiving. The academic issues have been brought up to the administration and have not been addressed based on nepotism and funding issues. Maybe they should consider hiring the best teacher instead of a church member or family member. they might want to look at the current curriculum and where they fall short. I know they have added a robotics program which is a wonderful addition. However, it might have been better use of funding to address the curriculum issues that affect all the students rather than add another extracurricular activity.

Friends Christian School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
After transferring our two children to Friends School (Lakeview campus) after three years at another private school, I have to say that Friends truly is a special place. Where else do you get extremely passionate teachers that are more than qualified in the areas they teach, and a concerted effort on the 'whole' child and encouraging them individually. The community of parents is supportive and such a great environment to have our kids at. We are extremely pleased.


Friends Christian School 1

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
I had children attend this school and they were prepared "morally" to enter the real world. Academically speaking, they were a little behind what the children were being taught in other local schools. This would be a great school in all areas if they could bring their academic programs up to par. They also need to employ strong teachers instead of hiring from their "family."

Friends Christian School 5

Posted March 16, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children currently enrolled in the FCS system, (one at the Lakeview campus and one at the Rose Drive campus) and couldn't be more pleased with the challenging curriculum, positive and safe environment, encouraging and supportive faculty & staff and involved administration. I feel truly blessed that the Lord led our family to this amazing school. I am impressed with the "Meet the Masters" program, which teaches students about all kinds of art, such as Impressionism, along with detailed biographies about the artists...in fact, I often learn quite a bit about artists such as Matisse, Renoir, Kahlo, Monet, Picasso, Degas, and countless more through my children, which makes me a very proud parent! Not only do I appreciate the wonderfully eclectic and stimulating courses offered at FCS; but more importantly, the Christian curriculum goes beyond Bible classes and chapel, it is displayed through the teachers, who genuinely love to teach and strive to help the students succeed and to learn more about what it means to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Also, students are taught to respect one another, help and encourage each other; open communication is key! Love FCS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Friends Christian School
4231 Rose Drive, Yorba Linda, CA  92886
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (714) 777-3074
Last modified Friends Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top